SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 07-26-2012, 12:40 PM
jbuszkie's Avatar
jbuszkie jbuszkie is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Westminster, MA
Posts: 916
Quote:
Originally Posted by darcilicious View Post
Seems like the video is now private? Can't view it from here either: http://www.businessinsider.com/meet-...-google-2012-7
Bummer.. Maybe a glitch.. I still have a browser open and can view it.. but if I switch to IE and try to watch.. I get the private message...

hmm...
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 07-26-2012, 12:45 PM
phareous phareous is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by phelme View Post
Jeff had another "Stay tuned" non-comment on a possible solution outside of their fiber system on Google+.

So the speculation continues I guess.
Apparently... I guess we continue waiting for some answers
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 07-26-2012, 12:55 PM
darcilicious's Avatar
darcilicious darcilicious is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Venus
Posts: 1,306
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbuszkie View Post
Bummer.. Maybe a glitch.. I still have a browser open and can view it.. but if I switch to IE and try to watch.. I get the private message...

hmm...
More likely it was made private after you got to it in the first browser.
__________________
SageTV Server 7.1.x w/Gemstone and Plex Home Theater v1.0.10 w/PlexPass
HD-PVR w/v1.5.6 drivers / Hauppauge IR blaster / FiOS Extreme HD / Motorola QIP6200 / SPDIF+720p Fixed Output
on HP Media Center 8400F (Phenom 9500 QuadCore 2.2GHz, nVidia GeForce 8500 GT)
via Olevia 247TFHD/Onyko TX-SR606/Harmony 550/HP MediaSmart EX490 WHS w/12TB
Plex Media Server v0.9.9.5 on HP Touchsmart Envy 23 d16qd
Sonos Play:3, Connect / SimpleTV v2 / Roku 2 XS+Plex / iPhone 5 / iPad 2
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 07-26-2012, 01:01 PM
phareous phareous is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by darcilicious View Post
More likely it was made private after you got to it in the first browser.
It is probably a glitch...it still works for me

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature...&v=6uZVqPuq81c
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 07-26-2012, 01:01 PM
owilsky's Avatar
owilsky owilsky is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 447
As I am from Germany and often the american stuff seems weird to me, can please somebody explain in simple words what the hell this Google fiber is? Is this some sort of cable tv?

Unlikely to get it here in Germany, so I will have to wait for the non fiber version Jeff annouced here:
https://plus.google.com/u/0/10641831...ts/7NLbtpJUdvC

Quote:
Chuck Fredericks
This looks sweet. Makes me sad that there isn't a "non-fiber" version for the rest of us. 
Quote:
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Chuck, no comment on your comment right now. :-) Stay tuned.
__________________
Oliver Kötter
------------
Check this thread for importing German TV Data into SageTV

Using SageTV 7.1.9, Java 1.6.0_24 Win7 Home Premium on an
Asus M4N78-AM Mainboard, AMD Athlon II X2 215, 4 GB RAM, 500 GB HDD, 2xTechnoTrend S-2400 as Network Encoder (LM DVB Smart Recorder), ATI Radeon HD 3450 with analog TV-Out on good old CRT TV (100Hz)
My avatar shows the world's best composer!!!
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 07-26-2012, 01:13 PM
darcilicious's Avatar
darcilicious darcilicious is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Venus
Posts: 1,306
Quote:
Originally Posted by owilsky View Post
As I am from Germany and often the american stuff seems weird to me, can please somebody explain in simple words what the hell this Google fiber is? Is this some sort of cable tv?
Fiber can be used to transport Internet traffic and/or TV broadcasts. Most (all?) TV "cable" providers in the US use fiber at some point as part of their distribution but typically stopped short of using fiber to deliver all the way to the home/premises.

Verizon started delivering FTTH (fiber to the home) several years ago which allowed for faster Internet connections and higher quality tv delivery than cable was offering at the time.

So, "Google Fiber" isn't anything special except that it's not typical for non-municipal entity / non-telephone company / non-cable company to a) deploy fiber to homes and b) plan on distributing cable tv without having announced any agreements with the tv content providers. Oh, and design their own set-top box in-house.

(if i've royally messed the above up, i'm sure there will be plenty of corrections / additions posted shortly )

See also: http://fiber.google.com/about/ and click on video near the bottom.
__________________
SageTV Server 7.1.x w/Gemstone and Plex Home Theater v1.0.10 w/PlexPass
HD-PVR w/v1.5.6 drivers / Hauppauge IR blaster / FiOS Extreme HD / Motorola QIP6200 / SPDIF+720p Fixed Output
on HP Media Center 8400F (Phenom 9500 QuadCore 2.2GHz, nVidia GeForce 8500 GT)
via Olevia 247TFHD/Onyko TX-SR606/Harmony 550/HP MediaSmart EX490 WHS w/12TB
Plex Media Server v0.9.9.5 on HP Touchsmart Envy 23 d16qd
Sonos Play:3, Connect / SimpleTV v2 / Roku 2 XS+Plex / iPhone 5 / iPad 2
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 07-26-2012, 01:35 PM
Tiki's Avatar
Tiki Tiki is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southwest Florida, USA
Posts: 1,700
Quote:
Originally Posted by phelme View Post
Jeff had another "Stay tuned" non-comment on a possible solution outside of their fiber system on Google+.

So the speculation continues I guess.
Any chance you could re-post Jeff's comments here for those of us that aren't on Google+?
__________________
Server: Athlon II X4 630 CPU, Gigabyte MA770T-UD3P (AM3) Motherboard, VisionTek Radeon HD4670 PCIe w/ Component output to 50" CRT Rear-Projection HDTV (Mitsubishi), Win7-64Bit (Home Premium), 4GB RAM
Capture Devices (8 tuners): Colossus (x1), HD-PVR (x1), HDHR Prime (x2)
,USBUIRT (multi-zone)
Source:
Comcast Cable
Primary Client: Server Other Clients: (1) HD200, (1) HD300
Retired Equipment: MediaMVP, PVR150 (x2), PVR150MCE,
HDHR, HVR-2250
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 07-26-2012, 01:41 PM
phareous phareous is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tiki View Post
Any chance you could re-post Jeff's comments here for those of us that aren't on Google+?
It is in the quote on this post a few posts up:

http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/show...4&postcount=25
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 07-26-2012, 01:44 PM
IVB's Avatar
IVB IVB is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Oak-town, CA
Posts: 1,083
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tiki View Post
Any chance you could re-post Jeff's comments here for those of us that aren't on Google+?
Its a public thread: https://plus.google.com/106418316475...ts/7NLbtpJUdvC

you can comment there by joining, come on in, the waters great :-)
__________________
------------------------------------
My Home Automation YouTube channel
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 07-26-2012, 02:00 PM
jm9843 jm9843 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 283
Quote:
Originally Posted by phelme View Post
So I guess this settles the bet that the Sage crew wasn't and isn't working on Google TV.
Well, not strictly speaking. However, there is a "Fiber TV app" which will run on Android tablets and phones. Presuming that the app will be compatible with Google TV devices in the future, those devices could then act as "extenders" to the "Storage Box" backend.
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 07-26-2012, 02:02 PM
drewg drewg is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,038
TV Box as extender?

Man, how I wish I lived in KC. Failing that, what I want to know is if the "TV Box" uses the same protocol as SageTV, and could be a drop-in replacement for an HD300. I can dream about that

Drew
__________________
Server HW: Xeon CPU E3-1270, 16GB RAM, 9TB Raid-Z + L2Arc,
Server SW: Ubuntu 12.04 x86_64, ZFS on Linux, Java 1.6.0_21, SageTV 7.1.9.1
Tuner HW: Pinnacle 800i, Pinnacle 801e USB, HDHR
Client: HD300, HD100
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 07-26-2012, 02:06 PM
reggie14 reggie14 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,749
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
It sounded like they've got a DVR local to each house, so basically it works just like a normal DVR, but with a Google fiber connection rather than "Cable"
Ahhh, OK. I misinterpreted the first thing I read. I thought they were doing a network DVR, but I see that doesn't seem to be the case. That's good for Sage users hoping to see an eventual retail product.

Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
Because there's still a decent amount of content/content providers that don't want to support us doing that.
I completely agree, but I still think its a bridging technology.

And actually, now that I know that its not a network DVR, the system makes a lot more sense. But I think you're right too- licensing agreements probably would have prevent Google from going all on-demand.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 07-26-2012, 02:16 PM
jm9843 jm9843 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 283
Quote:
Originally Posted by drewg View Post
Failing that, what I want to know is if the "TV Box" uses the same protocol as SageTV, and could be a drop-in replacement for an HD300. I can dream about that
Interesting thought. That would be nice, however unlikely.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 07-26-2012, 02:17 PM
drewg drewg is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,038
Quote:
Originally Posted by reggie14 View Post
Ahhh, OK. I misinterpreted the first thing I read. I thought they were doing a network DVR, but I see that doesn't seem to be the case. That's good for Sage users hoping to see an eventual retail product.
Judging from the video, it sounds like SageTV with an embedded server, a focus-group tested GUI / skin, IPTV tuning, and an official Android client.


Drew
__________________
Server HW: Xeon CPU E3-1270, 16GB RAM, 9TB Raid-Z + L2Arc,
Server SW: Ubuntu 12.04 x86_64, ZFS on Linux, Java 1.6.0_21, SageTV 7.1.9.1
Tuner HW: Pinnacle 800i, Pinnacle 801e USB, HDHR
Client: HD300, HD100
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 07-26-2012, 02:47 PM
phelme's Avatar
phelme phelme is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,021
Quote:
Originally Posted by phareous View Post
It is in the quote on this post a few posts up:

http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/show...4&postcount=25
yeah, I should have just copied the comments here in the first place, but owilsky took care of that.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 07-26-2012, 02:51 PM
phelme's Avatar
phelme phelme is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,021
The Verge got to play with the hardware a bit, more here.

Edit: After reading the article I'll say it's more of a "look at", than "hands on." And The Verge article authors are obviously not SageTV aware people. They didn't mention the origin of the software at all. The initial channel lineup is intriguing and sucky at the same time.

Last edited by phelme; 07-26-2012 at 03:01 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 07-26-2012, 03:15 PM
GbrNole GbrNole is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Fort Myers, FL
Posts: 844
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
It sounded like they've got a DVR local to each house, so basically it works just like a normal DVR, but with a Google fiber connection rather than "Cable"



Because there's still a decent amount of content/content providers that don't want to support us doing that.
this is essentially my preferred setup if i had my way - a very highspeed internet connection, a simple.tv type DVR... that can also record ESPN ... and the ability to co-mingle DVR recordings with internet accessible media

if it wasn't for my penchant for sports i'd just rock a bunch of simple.tv's and stream to my pc's, tablets and ROKU's.

I can get watchESPN through my ISP but it's such a freakin song and a dance though plex does seem to deal with it quite well currently.
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 07-26-2012, 03:34 PM
Brent Brent is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KC, Missouri
Posts: 3,695
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmiranda View Post
Did you pre-register? Any way to see how many others in your "FiberHood" have pre-registered?
I'm in the mix. My neighborhood is one of the early google-hoods so that's good. But I live in a multi-tenant rental that is dedicated TWC so I'm not 100% sure how that will play out. Might have to bribe someone to make it happen but I'm not beneath such things.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 07-26-2012, 04:14 PM
PiX64's Avatar
PiX64 PiX64 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,991
I decided to watch the majority of the video, and I have to say Im pretty excited and I don't live even remotely close to Kansas :-)

they are doing some cool things, and it will be interesting to see how the rest of our service providers across the states react
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 07-26-2012, 07:07 PM
sleonard's Avatar
sleonard sleonard is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,506
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffrey Kardatzke
Chuck, no comment on your comment right now. :-) Stay tuned.
January 2013, looks like it might be a good year to go to CES.

S

I can see why they don't want to talk about the non-fiber version just yet. The "Big Announcement" was about a lot more than just the reincarnation of Sage and we all know that too much Sage goodness today would have overshadowed their headline about some fiber network thingy that they are all proud of.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Google Fiber GFHD100 Brent General Discussion 17 06-14-2012 01:06 PM
Long Run Ethernet or Fiber dgeezer The SageTV Community 11 11-17-2011 10:31 PM
Fiber to the Home hemicuda The SageTV Community 6 01-12-2010 12:08 PM
Google with PVR-350 allen SageTV Beta Test Software 2 10-15-2006 07:10 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.