SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-19-2012, 07:02 AM
Skirge01's Avatar
Skirge01 Skirge01 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,598
DirecTV begins enabling HDCP!

The beginning of the end?

http://arstechnica.com/tech-policy/n...-watch-hbo.ars
__________________
Server: XP, SuperMicro X9SAE-V, i7 3770T, Thermalright Archon SB-E, 32GB Corsair DDR3, 2 x IBM M1015, Corsair HX1000W PSU, CoolerMaster CM Storm Stryker case
Storage: 2 x Addonics 5-in-3 3.5" bays, 1 x Addonics 4-in-1 2.5" bay, 24TB
Client: Windows 7 64-bit, Foxconn G9657MA-8EKRS2H, Core2Duo E6600, Zalman CNPS7500, 2GB Corsair, 320GB, HIS ATI 4650, Antec Fusion
Tuners: 2 x HD-PVR (HTTP tuning), 2 x HDHR, USB-UIRT
Software: SageTV 7
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-19-2012, 09:25 AM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,311
Aww crap.

They already had it on HBO zone, but none of the others. I'm going to be pissed if I have to go to component.

EDIT: I can confirm that this has happened with my receivers. Crap. Just crap.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.

Last edited by panteragstk; 04-19-2012 at 10:03 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-19-2012, 10:16 AM
Skirge01's Avatar
Skirge01 Skirge01 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,598
I hate to be the possible bearer of more bad news, but there seems to be a bit of a debate in the Ars comments about the component aspect in the article. One of the editors even replied in the comments that component is limited to 540p now.

Anyone able to confirm that one?
__________________
Server: XP, SuperMicro X9SAE-V, i7 3770T, Thermalright Archon SB-E, 32GB Corsair DDR3, 2 x IBM M1015, Corsair HX1000W PSU, CoolerMaster CM Storm Stryker case
Storage: 2 x Addonics 5-in-3 3.5" bays, 1 x Addonics 4-in-1 2.5" bay, 24TB
Client: Windows 7 64-bit, Foxconn G9657MA-8EKRS2H, Core2Duo E6600, Zalman CNPS7500, 2GB Corsair, 320GB, HIS ATI 4650, Antec Fusion
Tuners: 2 x HD-PVR (HTTP tuning), 2 x HDHR, USB-UIRT
Software: SageTV 7
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-19-2012, 11:31 AM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,311
I'll find out when I get home.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-19-2012, 12:52 PM
will will is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 775
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skirge01 View Post
component is limited to 540p
If that's true, you may want to invest in a HDCP HDMI to Component converter.
__________________
Will

OS: Windows 7
Hardware: Intel Core i7-920 with 12GB RAM & an Adaptec 5805 with a Chenbro 36-port SAS Expander
Case: Antec 1200 with 4 iStarUSA trayless hot-swap cages (20 drives max)
Drives: 8 Toshiba/Hitachi 2TB drives in a RAID 6 & 7 Toshiba 3TB drives in a RAID 6
Capture Cards: HDHomeRun Connect Quatro 4, Hauppauge 60 HD-PVR
Players: 5 HD300s, 2 HD200s, 1 Client, 1 MiniClient
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-19-2012, 01:46 PM
Skirge01's Avatar
Skirge01 Skirge01 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,598
Quote:
Originally Posted by will View Post
If that's true, you may want to invest in a HDCP HDMI to Component converter.
Sadly, I know. However, the only one I know of is the HDFury, which runs $400-500. Considering I have two HD-PVR's, that's a huge chunk of change. Are there others?
__________________
Server: XP, SuperMicro X9SAE-V, i7 3770T, Thermalright Archon SB-E, 32GB Corsair DDR3, 2 x IBM M1015, Corsair HX1000W PSU, CoolerMaster CM Storm Stryker case
Storage: 2 x Addonics 5-in-3 3.5" bays, 1 x Addonics 4-in-1 2.5" bay, 24TB
Client: Windows 7 64-bit, Foxconn G9657MA-8EKRS2H, Core2Duo E6600, Zalman CNPS7500, 2GB Corsair, 320GB, HIS ATI 4650, Antec Fusion
Tuners: 2 x HD-PVR (HTTP tuning), 2 x HDHR, USB-UIRT
Software: SageTV 7
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-19-2012, 02:03 PM
graywolf's Avatar
graywolf graywolf is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 1,112
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skirge01 View Post
Sadly, I know. However, the only one I know of is the HDFury, which runs $400-500. Considering I have two HD-PVR's, that's a huge chunk of change. Are there others?
Haven't used this but saw in another post (comments on the article?)

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...00_i00_details

For about $94...if it would work, would be a lot cheaper than HDFury
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-19-2012, 03:00 PM
sleonard's Avatar
sleonard sleonard is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,506
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skirge01 View Post
I hate to be the possible bearer of more bad news, but there seems to be a bit of a debate in the Ars comments about the component aspect in the article. One of the editors even replied in the comments that component is limited to 540p now.

Anyone able to confirm that one?
I've recorded 1080i from my cable boxes via the USB HD-PVR for years. Unless his comments were restricted only to D* boxes he's full of it.

S
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-19-2012, 03:19 PM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,311
Quote:
Originally Posted by sleonard View Post
I've recorded 1080i from my cable boxes via the USB HD-PVR for years. Unless his comments were restricted only to D* boxes he's full of it.

S
This is only for DTV. All of my premiums are not working over hdmi now. I'll be able to confirm whether or not component is downconverted or not in about an hour.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-19-2012, 03:20 PM
Skirge01's Avatar
Skirge01 Skirge01 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,598
Quote:
Originally Posted by sleonard View Post
I've recorded 1080i from my cable boxes via the USB HD-PVR for years. Unless his comments were restricted only to D* boxes he's full of it.

S
Hehe... sorry for the confusion there. Yeah, this whole thread (and the one on Ars) is solely about DirecTV's STB's.

Also, I just got home and checked both my receivers (H21 & H23). They last had a software update on 2/15 & 2/16, but are both still playing 720p and 1080i over component. Obviously, that doesn't mean that a software update to fix... err... break them isn't in our future.

Quote:
Originally Posted by graywolf View Post
Haven't used this but saw in another post (comments on the article?)

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...00_i00_details

For about $94...if it would work, would be a lot cheaper than HDFury
I saw the same comment, apparently, but I didn't click the link until now. That seems somewhat encouraging, especially with the 5.1 support over SPDIF.
__________________
Server: XP, SuperMicro X9SAE-V, i7 3770T, Thermalright Archon SB-E, 32GB Corsair DDR3, 2 x IBM M1015, Corsair HX1000W PSU, CoolerMaster CM Storm Stryker case
Storage: 2 x Addonics 5-in-3 3.5" bays, 1 x Addonics 4-in-1 2.5" bay, 24TB
Client: Windows 7 64-bit, Foxconn G9657MA-8EKRS2H, Core2Duo E6600, Zalman CNPS7500, 2GB Corsair, 320GB, HIS ATI 4650, Antec Fusion
Tuners: 2 x HD-PVR (HTTP tuning), 2 x HDHR, USB-UIRT
Software: SageTV 7

Last edited by Skirge01; 04-19-2012 at 03:25 PM. Reason: 2nd comment
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-19-2012, 04:42 PM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,311
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skirge01 View Post
Hehe... sorry for the confusion there. Yeah, this whole thread (and the one on Ars) is solely about DirecTV's STB's.

Also, I just got home and checked both my receivers (H21 & H23). They last had a software update on 2/15 & 2/16, but are both still playing 720p and 1080i over component. Obviously, that doesn't mean that a software update to fix... err... break them isn't in our future.



I saw the same comment, apparently, but I didn't click the link until now. That seems somewhat encouraging, especially with the 5.1 support over SPDIF.
You beat me to it. HR24 working fine with component/spdif. Hopefully it is as reliable as HDMI was. Stupid DTV messing up my pretty cable management.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-19-2012, 05:01 PM
BobPhoenix BobPhoenix is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3,092
Quote:
Originally Posted by graywolf View Post
Haven't used this but saw in another post (comments on the article?)

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...00_i00_details

For about $94...if it would work, would be a lot cheaper than HDFury
Here is one that isn't a switch and a little cheaper. Quality may suffer I suppose. Haven't used one.

Also they haven't updated mine yet(HR22 DVR) I still get all of the Premiums on HDMI. He says quietly in hopes that they will forget me.

In case it isn't a fluke here are my connections on my DTV HR22-DVR if you want to try something similar:
HDMI to Colossus recording 5.1 audio and HTTP tuning
Component to Samsung TV (for easy STB changes because of software update)
SVideo+Stereo to HVR-2250 input 2
Network connection - for HTTP tuning - DHCP with mac address reservation on D-Link DGL-4100
phone line (connected when first got box and never removed)

Last edited by BobPhoenix; 04-19-2012 at 06:38 PM. Reason: added model and connection info
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-19-2012, 10:43 PM
wbarber69's Avatar
wbarber69 wbarber69 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Hammond, La.
Posts: 499
Send a message via ICQ to wbarber69 Send a message via AIM to wbarber69 Send a message via MSN to wbarber69 Send a message via Yahoo to wbarber69 Send a message via Skype™ to wbarber69
So I take it you guys are starting to have better luck with the collossus card. I wanted to get one, but I have 3 hdpvr now. I just couldnt risk it not playing nice with my hdpvrs
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-19-2012, 11:34 PM
IVB's Avatar
IVB IVB is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Oak-town, CA
Posts: 1,083
if D* goes haywire, I wonder if I could convince my wife to finally cut the cord. 90% of what I watch is OTA, 75% of what she watches is available via iTunes Season Pass. Wouldn't all be via Sage, but thats not my problem :-)

(clearly i've been married >10 years...)
__________________
------------------------------------
My Home Automation YouTube channel
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-20-2012, 08:31 AM
Skirge01's Avatar
Skirge01 Skirge01 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,598
Quote:
Originally Posted by wbarber69 View Post
So I take it you guys are starting to have better luck with the collossus card. I wanted to get one, but I have 3 hdpvr now. I just couldnt risk it not playing nice with my hdpvrs
Not sure where you got lost in this thread, but I think you missed something. Let's be perfectly clear about what's being discussed about DirecTV:

HDCP has been enabled for premium channels (if not all premiums yet, it will be all of them soon).

The Colossus can record unencrypted (i.e. non-HDCP) HDMI, so since the STB now expects to get an HDCP handshake from the receiving device, which the Colossus will not do, this renders the Colossus useless on the premium channels.

Ars Technica reported that the component outputs were also being limited to 540p. However, I confirmed that is NOT YET the case on both of my units. I can still get 720p and 1080i via both my STB's on HBO, Starz, and Showtime channels.
__________________
Server: XP, SuperMicro X9SAE-V, i7 3770T, Thermalright Archon SB-E, 32GB Corsair DDR3, 2 x IBM M1015, Corsair HX1000W PSU, CoolerMaster CM Storm Stryker case
Storage: 2 x Addonics 5-in-3 3.5" bays, 1 x Addonics 4-in-1 2.5" bay, 24TB
Client: Windows 7 64-bit, Foxconn G9657MA-8EKRS2H, Core2Duo E6600, Zalman CNPS7500, 2GB Corsair, 320GB, HIS ATI 4650, Antec Fusion
Tuners: 2 x HD-PVR (HTTP tuning), 2 x HDHR, USB-UIRT
Software: SageTV 7
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-20-2012, 09:02 AM
Evil_Attorney's Avatar
Evil_Attorney Evil_Attorney is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 595
So, how are products like this and the HDFury being sold in the US? Aren't they illegal or are they finding a gray area?

Quote:
Originally Posted by BobPhoenix View Post
Here is one that isn't a switch and a little cheaper. Quality may suffer I suppose. Haven't used one.

Also they haven't updated mine yet(HR22 DVR) I still get all of the Premiums on HDMI. He says quietly in hopes that they will forget me.

In case it isn't a fluke here are my connections on my DTV HR22-DVR if you want to try something similar:
HDMI to Colossus recording 5.1 audio and HTTP tuning
Component to Samsung TV (for easy STB changes because of software update)
SVideo+Stereo to HVR-2250 input 2
Network connection - for HTTP tuning - DHCP with mac address reservation on D-Link DGL-4100
phone line (connected when first got box and never removed)
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-20-2012, 09:22 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,269
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skirge01 View Post
with regards to other companies such as Comcast or Cox, can they do this with older, existing STB installs via a software update, or would they have to get new boxes out into the field?
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 04-20-2012, 09:35 AM
Skirge01's Avatar
Skirge01 Skirge01 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,598
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
with regards to other companies such as Comcast or Cox, can they do this with older, existing STB installs via a software update, or would they have to get new boxes out into the field?
I have no clue. My guess is that most companies probably planned for this capability some time ago with the equipment they already have in use and would just need a software update or possibly as little as a software configuration change.

@panteragstk: Since we know your HDCP is enabled, when was your last software update? Mine was on 2/16, so I'm curious if the capability has been there and it simply wasn't turned on. If yours is still at 2/16, then that would seem to confirm this.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Evil_Attorney View Post
So, how are products like this and the HDFury being sold in the US? Aren't they illegal or are they finding a gray area?
Good question. Check this out and be even more surprised.
__________________
Server: XP, SuperMicro X9SAE-V, i7 3770T, Thermalright Archon SB-E, 32GB Corsair DDR3, 2 x IBM M1015, Corsair HX1000W PSU, CoolerMaster CM Storm Stryker case
Storage: 2 x Addonics 5-in-3 3.5" bays, 1 x Addonics 4-in-1 2.5" bay, 24TB
Client: Windows 7 64-bit, Foxconn G9657MA-8EKRS2H, Core2Duo E6600, Zalman CNPS7500, 2GB Corsair, 320GB, HIS ATI 4650, Antec Fusion
Tuners: 2 x HD-PVR (HTTP tuning), 2 x HDHR, USB-UIRT
Software: SageTV 7

Last edited by Skirge01; 04-20-2012 at 09:42 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 04-20-2012, 09:54 AM
Evil_Attorney's Avatar
Evil_Attorney Evil_Attorney is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 595
I have DirecTV and HDPVRs but no premium channels, so this does not immediately affect me. But does anyone have any guesses as to when HDCP/downrezing will be turned on for all channels? I'm guessing within the next year.

Maybe it's time to start testing/reviewing some of these cheaper HDCP-stripping boxes that show up on Amazon?
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 04-20-2012, 10:15 AM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 993
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
with regards to other companies such as Comcast or Cox, can they do this with older, existing STB installs via a software update, or would they have to get new boxes out into the field?
They already have. Most, if not all, cable companies already have HDCP activated on their STBs. DirecTV was unique in that they had not activated HDCP on their boxes. Colossus owners have been able to take advantage of this since the Colossus was introduced, because of the HDMI input available on the Colossus.

As far as cable STBs are concerned, I'd be surprised to find any that would work via the Colossus' HDMI input. Your reference to Comcast or Cox is probably referring to the CCI flag being set to "copy freely", which allows SageTV to take advantage of cablecard-ready hardware like the HDHomeRun Prime. But keep in mind, the CCI flag can be set at the individual program level, and as such can be changed at the cable providers discretion. The only restrictions is that OTA broadcast stations must be sent over cable in the clear, but the remaining cable-only stations are entirely at the cable providers discretion, bearing in mind any contractual obligations they have for copy protection with the content providers themselves.

Anyone who is currently using, or contemplating using a cable card tuner with SageTV needs to realize that their capability of doing so could end at any time.
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i3-7100T CPU, 16GB Memory, unRAID 6.3.2, SageTV & OpenDCT Dockers
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, 2 x Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 Dual TV Tuner Boards
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SOC the slippery slope begins or here goes the HD-PVR. joematt General Discussion 17 06-22-2010 09:35 PM
Live TV Begins Playing After Stopping Video Taddeusz SageMC Custom Interface 15 01-07-2009 11:13 AM
create new folder for each TV show when recordign begins... ianscrap SageTV Software 6 09-12-2007 09:12 PM
WOOHOOO !! Sage 2.0 Beta Sign-up begins ! sudipto SageTV Software 2 12-05-2003 09:46 AM
And So It Begins... nicktripp Hardware Support 0 08-08-2003 07:25 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.