SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Media Extender

Notices

SageTV Media Extender Discussion related to any SageTV Media Extender used directly by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to a SageTV supported media extender should be posted here. Use the SageTV HD Theater - Media Player forum for issues related to using an HD Theater while not connected to a SageTV server.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-28-2020, 01:38 PM
fidget's Avatar
fidget fidget is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Posts: 1,182
Using a HD300 from a Remote Location

I think this is the correct forum for this question.

I would like to be able to have my mother connect to my SageTV server over the internet. We share an ISP, so most of the causes of performance issues shouldn’t exist, and my upload speed is fast enough that I shouldn’t have to re-encode the videos. Will this work? Is there any way that I can restrict the channel list so that she doesn’t have to deal with the complete channel list? I would normally install an OTA antenna, but she has some buildings causing reception issues.

Thanks in advance.
__________________
Server: i5-2405S (4 core @ 2.5 GHz), 8GB RAM, NORCO RPC-4220 4U case
Tuners: 2 SiliconDust HDHomeRun , 2 Hauppauge HD-PVR Connected to 1 Pace700X and 1 TiVo Series 4
DVD Storage: 24 TB
TV Storage: 11 TB (4x1.5TB for recording, 5TB for archive)
Clients: 3
SageTV Extenders:5
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-28-2020, 02:12 PM
JustFred JustFred is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sunnyvale, Ca
Posts: 530
Quote:
Originally Posted by fidget View Post
I would like to be able to have my mother connect to my SageTV server over the internet. We share an ISP, so most of the causes of performance issues shouldn’t exist, and my upload speed is fast enough that I shouldn’t have to re-encode the videos. Will this work?
Yes, it'll "work". But it might not work as well as you'd like. Do a test-run before making any promises. Even though both of you are on the same ISP, there are plenty of reasons why the connection may result in poor usability. In my case, one of my Sage servers is on a CATV node that's *terribly* oversubscribed... with wildly unpredictable up & download speeds that vary by a factor of 10x.

Quote:
Is there any way that I can restrict the channel list so that she doesn’t have to deal with the complete channel list? .
I'm unaware of any way for the "standard" Sage UI to restrict the channel list in the Guide for one client without affecting all clients. Maybe one of the plugins provides that possibility, but I'm not familiar with them.
__________________
System #1: Win7-64, I7-920, 8 GB mem, 4TB HD. Java-64 1.8.0_141. Sage-64 v9.2.1 ATSC: 2x HDHR-US (1st gen white) tuners. HD-200.
System #2: Win7-64, I7-920, 8 GB mem, 4TB HD. Java 1.8.0_131. Sage v9.1.6.747. ClearQAM: 2x HDHR3-US tuners. HD-200.
System #3: Win7-64, I7-920, 12 GB mem, 4TB HD. Java-64 1.8.0_141. Sage-64 v9.2.1 ATSC: 2x HVR2250; Spectrum Cable via HDPVR & USB-UIRT. 3x HD-200.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-29-2020, 11:20 AM
sic0048 sic0048 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,314
She wouldn't necessarily need to use a HD-300 either. If she already uses a smart TV (and that is a big assumption) then you could use the SageTV android app on an Amazon firestick or similar device. I totally understand if a HD-300 is needed for "simplicity" however.

The best way to set this up in either case is to create a VPN tunnel that would connect her house and yours. Again, I realize this is a more advanced setup and both routers would need to support VPN connections. But it would allow the most secure connection for both locations. Otherwise you are going to have to open ports on your network for the remote location to be able to connect to your SageTV system.
__________________
i5 quad core server with about 10tb of space currently
SageTV v9 (64bit)
Ceton InfiniTV ETH 6 cable card tuner (Spectrum cable)
OpenDCT
HD-300 HD Extenders (hooked to my whole-house A/V system for synched playback on multiple TVs - great during a Superbowl party)
Amazon Firestick 4k and Nvidia Shield using the MiniClient
Using CQC to control it all
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-04-2021, 11:39 PM
Striker:WG Striker:WG is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 312
If you have a couple of old PC's lying around (or pickup some for cheap, anything made in the last 10 years will likely be overkill) you can install pfsense. Its a free router OS based on freebsd. Fully configured through a webui, so you don't need to know any of the backend stuff unless you want to tinker. They have a great support forum and there's a fair bit of content online if you do some googling.

Full support for VPN connections out of the box. You could setup site-to-site VPN as suggested by sic0048 and then the HD-300 would just be another device on your network, it would just be traversing the internet to get to you.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD300 from a remote location NetworkGuy SageTV Media Extender 22 06-13-2017 08:13 PM
FS: location Belgium HD300, HD200, HD100, licences Bibi SageTV Marketplace 8 04-10-2013 10:43 PM
New HD300 and fanart location? Brent94Z Sage My Movies 5 10-11-2010 12:31 PM
Client: Does It Work From Remote Location? PeteCress SageTV Software 22 08-01-2010 09:24 AM
Using client from remote location saxroots SageTV Recorder Software 3 05-14-2004 05:00 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.