SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-06-2020, 11:39 AM
Toddly Toddly is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 100
Sage Client Issue after Win 10 Update

My client computer recently updated to Update 1909 and Sage client has been broken ever since.

I keep getting Error playback exception error -3,0X80040154 access files for playback. It has been frustrating to solve this as I read about the error messages yet cannot solve the issue. The client was very solid before this and I can read the files and play them through VLC. I can search and see the files on the computer but playback always errors.

Any insight and help really appreciated.

GT
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-06-2020, 03:59 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,522
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toddly View Post
My client computer recently updated to Update 1909 and Sage client has been broken ever since.

I keep getting Error playback exception error -3,0X80040154 access files for playback. It has been frustrating to solve this as I read about the error messages yet cannot solve the issue. The client was very solid before this and I can read the files and play them through VLC. I can search and see the files on the computer but playback always errors.

Any insight and help really appreciated.

GT
Have you install the LAV filter
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-06-2020, 04:41 PM
Toddly Toddly is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 100
Yes LAV filters are installed.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-06-2020, 04:43 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,522
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toddly View Post
Yes LAV filters are installed.
what about the change the codec in SageTV setting
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-10-2020, 04:40 PM
Toddly Toddly is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 100
I have had no luck with this issue.

Thanks for the support on this forum but I may to find another avenue.

Too bad I loved and used Sage for 15 yrs.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-10-2020, 05:11 PM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,185
Can you post the client log file from when that error happens? It may shed some light. That error message is something to do with an unregistered COM (i.e. codec or decoders).
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-19-2020, 01:13 PM
Toddly Toddly is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 100
Thanks for your help.

I came back to the problem today to give it another try.
Attached Files
File Type: txt sagetvclient_0.txt (672.8 KB, 9 views)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-19-2020, 03:31 PM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toddly View Post
Thanks for your help.

I came back to the problem today to give it another try.
Your log file has exactly the same issue that this guy's did: https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/sho...5&postcount=23

Make sure your server and client are on the same revision.

It looks like the change was made between 9.1.5 and 9.1.6, making the server and client incompatible.

SageTVConnection change on 7/11/17:
Code:
-   outStream.write(("WIZARD_SYNC2 " + Integer.toString(Wizard.VERSION & 0xFF) + " " + Boolean.toString(Wizard.COMPACT_DB) + "\r\n").getBytes(Sage.BYTE_CHARSET));
+   outStream.write(("WIZARD_SYNC2 " + Integer.toString(Wizard.VERSION & 0xFF) + "\r\n").getBytes(Sage.BYTE_CHARSET));
The client compatible version needs to be updated in the main codebase. I'll submit a pull request when the active one is done. This should be 9.1.6
Code:
  public static final byte CLIENT_COMPATIBLE_MAJOR_VERSION = 9;
  public static final byte CLIENT_COMPATIBLE_MINOR_VERSION = 0;
  public static final byte CLIENT_COMPATIBLE_MICRO_VERSION = 14;

Last edited by wnjj; 02-19-2020 at 03:38 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-20-2020, 10:33 AM
Toddly Toddly is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 100
Thanks for the response. I checked system info on Server,client on this PC and my laptop which hasn't been affected and they all state Version 9.0.13.536.

Could I take a copy of the Sage folder on the laptop nad exchange it for the current one on the affected PC? Might that work or should upgrade to newer versions?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-20-2020, 11:20 AM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toddly View Post
Thanks for the response. I checked system info on Server,client on this PC and my laptop which hasn't been affected and they all state Version 9.0.13.536.

Could I take a copy of the Sage folder on the laptop nad exchange it for the current one on the affected PC? Might that work or should upgrade to newer versions?
The client log you posted is 9.2.1. You can try copying just sage.jar from a working (9.0.13) one. I donít think thereís anything else that changed that matters for the client. That will back rev it to 9.0.13.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-20-2020, 12:02 PM
Toddly Toddly is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 100
You are right because on this new install I installed 9.2.1 but just copied the old Sage folder over to that install.

The file to copy is the executable jar file (5.39 MB) or JARs folder (345 MB)

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-20-2020, 12:48 PM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toddly View Post
You are right because on this new install I installed 9.2.1 but just copied the old Sage folder over to that install.

The file to copy is the executable jar file (5.39 MB) or JARs folder (345 MB)

Thanks
The sage.jar in the directory with SageTV.exe. The version number comes from inside there.

Fair warning: This is not the recommended way to match versions. Your best bet may be to update everything if this doesn't work.

Last edited by wnjj; 02-20-2020 at 05:53 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-20-2020, 03:28 PM
Toddly Toddly is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 100
Well your suggestions didn't work but I did find a copy of Client 9.0.13 and uninstalled the prior version and installed that version. Now all is well and there was not much configuring to do to get it back to the way it was. Learn something every time I visit here but when Sage is working well I don't like to mess with it much.

Thanks very much for your help.
Gary
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sage client: Is this an HDMI handshake issue? Kirby SageTV Software 3 02-28-2012 05:25 PM
HD-PVR & Sage Client audio sync issue drpixel SageTV Software 5 04-13-2009 06:56 PM
MVP Client & Sage 2.2.7 music issue? SidKnee Hardware Support 8 04-01-2005 03:16 PM
Sage License and thin client issue Sailn SageTV Software 5 02-18-2004 10:47 PM
Sage Client Studdering issue with DVD playback jbuszkie SageTV Software 12 01-23-2004 01:52 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.