SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-05-2009, 07:55 PM
hometheaterfan hometheaterfan is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 17
Record same show on multiple tuners?

I am about to set up a HD-PVR tuner to record HD channels from my cable box. I have two HD Sage extender boxes (HD-100 and HD-200) in the house, but our bedroom TV uses a MediaMVP box. Since the MediaMVP box will have trouble playing back MPEG-4 TV recordings from the HD-PVR, I would like to set up my favorites to record the same show simultaneouslyon two different tuners. The HD version through the HD-PVR and the SD analog version through my WinTV HVR-1600 card.

I cannot figure out how to do this without setting up a manual recording. As a test, I tried to set up two favorites for the same show, one to only record on the ABC-HD channel and one to record only on ABC's analog SD channel. According to the recording scheduler, it is only going to record the highest priority favorite (which in this case is the ABC-HD Channel). I checked the detailed scheduler and see that I have a analog tuner free at that time that could be used to record the analog channel as well, but SageTV seems to only want to record one at a time.

How can I make SageTV honor my request to record the same show (same Show ID and all) simultaneously on two different tuners?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-05-2009, 08:41 PM
SprDtyF350 SprDtyF350 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Southern Maryland
Posts: 436
I used to do it. Setup a favorite for each tuner but tell it to only record from a specific channel.

For example my ABC channel is 7 here for analog, and 7-1 for digital. Just have favorites that record only from each channel instead of from any channel.

There is also a favorite channels plugin that I used to use to create a channel list for the MVP that did not have HD channels in it. And then you can go the recordings page on the MVP, and set the filter to not show HD shows. Worked ok like that except for when the EPG listing didn't have a HD show marked as being HD.

My MVP's play stuff recorded in HD just fine though so I just quit worrying about it. I don't have an HD-PVR so I don't know how they would work with that.

I see you have tried most of this but even though Sage says it will only record one of the favorites I found that it did both anyway.

Last edited by SprDtyF350; 11-05-2009 at 08:43 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-06-2009, 11:35 AM
freedml freedml is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 549
MVPs will play back any content. BUT, the server will have to transcode it for the MVP so each MVP puts a processing burden on the server.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-07-2009, 08:59 AM
hometheaterfan hometheaterfan is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 17
Yeah, I have a dual core system that stuggles to transcode MP4 video to the media MVP. I tried setting up two favorites, one for each channel, but it didn't work. I just heard back from support and they said setting up two favorites to record the same show on different channels will not work. They recommended setting up manual recordings.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-07-2009, 09:38 AM
freedml freedml is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 549
I'll guess you setup two 'show' Favorites. Try one 'show' favorite and one other type, 'actor', 'keyword,' etc.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Show overlaps and multiple tuners wallaceff SageTV Software 8 07-02-2009 02:24 AM
How do I record the same show on two different tuners on my sage server? bigbill SageTV Software 2 01-11-2009 10:04 AM
Multiple tuners, multiple extenders watching live streams tommymc General Discussion 4 07-03-2008 02:58 PM
Recording same show on multiple tuners CyRex SageTV Software 1 02-15-2005 09:28 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.