SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-11-2017, 08:25 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,400
Windows 10 Creators Update MPEG2 Decoder

If you update to the Creators build you can download free from the windows store the ..

"MPEG2 Video Extension"

It is free.


You can update early if not available in your area here.
https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/soft...load/windows10
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.

Last edited by nyplayer; 04-11-2017 at 09:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-12-2017, 07:07 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,008
So if it is a free download then wtf don't they include it as part of the core OS upgrade?
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-12-2017, 07:43 AM
dstanley's Avatar
dstanley dstanley is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: LaHave, Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 291
I would assume that since royalites have to be paid on every MPEG2 decoder that MS can get away with only paying for downloads for people that really want it - or even know about it!

Otherwise they would have to pay for every OS upgrade out there ...

Just my guess ...
__________________
SERVER: Intel Core i7-3770 CPU @ 3.40GHz - UnRaid Server 6.8.0/DVB LibreELEC with Docker stuckless-sagetv-server-java9 MOTHERBOARD: ASRock-Z77 Extreme4 / 32GB RAM CACHE DRIVE: SSD 1TB ARRAY: 24TB/7 DRIVES PARITY: 8TB
EXTERNAL DEVICES: 4x HD-PVR's Firewire Channel Changing
TUNERS:NO LONGER RECORDING LIVETV
CLIENTS: 2xHD300 2xHD200 SONY ANDROIDTV MINI-CLIENT
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-12-2017, 08:00 AM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,400
Quote:
Originally Posted by dstanley View Post
I would assume that since royalites have to be paid on every MPEG2 decoder that MS can get away with only paying for downloads for people that really want it - or even know about it!

Otherwise they would have to pay for every OS upgrade out there ...

Just my guess ...
That sounds reasonable......

I posted it because anyone that has a Prime can by downloading the decoder and the HDHomerun View APP from the app store can watch DRM on Windows 10 PC's... for free.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-12-2017, 09:34 AM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,142
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
I posted it because anyone that has a Prime can by downloading the decoder and the HDHomerun View APP from the app store can watch DRM on Windows 10 PC's... for free.
Copy freely, copy once and copy never?
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i7-7700T CPU, 32GB Memory, unRAID 6.8.3, SageTV & OpenDCT Dockers
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, 2 x Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 Dual TV Tuner Boards
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders, Multiple Fire TV Stick 4K w/MiniClient
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-12-2017, 10:48 AM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,400
Quote:
Originally Posted by KeithAbbott View Post
Copy freely, copy once and copy never?
Anything that is protected and can only be viewed with a cable box or WMC. Without additional hardware like a HDPVR...etc
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.

Last edited by nyplayer; 04-12-2017 at 10:51 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-17-2017, 11:20 AM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,142
I tried this out this past weekend using a Microsoft Wireless Display Adapter connected to my main TV. I gotta say it was pretty cool watching premium (copy-once) content from my HDHomeRun Prime without needing a cable box. In fact, I should be able to ditch my $10/month cable box now...
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i7-7700T CPU, 32GB Memory, unRAID 6.8.3, SageTV & OpenDCT Dockers
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, 2 x Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 Dual TV Tuner Boards
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders, Multiple Fire TV Stick 4K w/MiniClient
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-17-2017, 06:56 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,400
Quote:
Originally Posted by KeithAbbott View Post
I tried this out this past weekend using a Microsoft Wireless Display Adapter connected to my main TV. I gotta say it was pretty cool watching premium (copy-once) content from my HDHomeRun Prime without needing a cable box. In fact, I should be able to ditch my $10/month cable box now...
Yeah I ditched 2 boxes with PC Sticks.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-19-2017, 09:33 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,008
Quote:
Originally Posted by KeithAbbott View Post
I tried this out this past weekend using a Microsoft Wireless Display Adapter connected to my main TV. I gotta say it was pretty cool watching premium (copy-once) content from my HDHomeRun Prime without needing a cable box. In fact, I should be able to ditch my $10/month cable box now...
Sounds cool - the adapters are about $50, correct? How do you control the UI? Do you use an RF remote control?
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-19-2017, 10:00 AM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,142
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
Sounds cool - the adapters are about $50, correct? How do you control the UI? Do you use an RF remote control?
What I did this past weekend was more of a proof of concept; the TV that I was using is probably about 10 feet away from my desktop computer, so the screen sharing was done from my desktop, using the wireless keyboard and mouse that is connected to my desktop. Going forward, I would probably use a laptop computer with it's own keyboard/mouse to share the screen.

If you didn't want to bother with the screen sharing, using the ASUS PC stick that nyplayer referred to might work out well. You would need to figure out what kind of controller you want to use (keyboard, mouse, etc.).
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i7-7700T CPU, 32GB Memory, unRAID 6.8.3, SageTV & OpenDCT Dockers
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, 2 x Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 Dual TV Tuner Boards
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders, Multiple Fire TV Stick 4K w/MiniClient
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-20-2017, 05:16 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,449
After installing this;

https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/stor...n/9n95q1zzpmh4

on a Windows 10 SageTV V9 client, what selection do you make in the Sage UI in the list of video decoders for mpeg2? There was only one listed, but didn't work, so I listed them all, and can't seem to get any of them to work either.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-21-2017, 05:48 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,449
Am I missing something in the mpeg2 decoder from the above post - do I just need to download the LAV filters and be done with it? I have numerous client licenses, is there just something I can grab from the V9 server (that was upgraded from V7)?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-21-2017, 05:52 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,449
Wait - is there a way I can install my original SageTV V7 client, and then install V9 client effectively getting an mpeg2 decoder active?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-21-2017, 08:07 PM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Strathmore, AB
Posts: 2,196
Quote:
Originally Posted by KryptoNyte View Post
Wait - is there a way I can install my original SageTV V7 client, and then install V9 client effectively getting an mpeg2 decoder active?
Yes. If you install 7 and then install v9 in the same folder it will retain the sagetv decoder

k
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-22-2017, 06:15 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,449
Thanks, JJ. I'll install V7 and then V9 over top to same dir and see how it goes.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 08-23-2017, 11:12 AM
thomaszoo thomaszoo is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 487
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
That sounds reasonable......

I posted it because anyone that has a Prime can by downloading the decoder and the HDHomerun View APP from the app store can watch DRM on Windows 10 PC's... for free.
Any idea if this can be used with the Ceton InfiniTV?
__________________
i5-6400, MSI B150M Micro ATX MB, 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 - WD Green 2TB SATA Drives, Lite-On SATA 4X Blu-ray Reader, Corsair 400W 80+ Power Supply, Silverstone Sugo SG02-BF MicroATX Case, Windows 10 (64), HDHR Dual X2, Quatro and Prime, 5 x HD300 + 2 x HD100
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 08-23-2017, 06:15 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,449
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomaszoo View Post
Any idea if this can be used with the Ceton InfiniTV?
That can't be used with the Ceton. That company never took their development to that level.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MPEG2 Decoder frustrations Oats SageTV Software 15 04-30-2010 01:42 PM
MPEG2 Decoder Question badger02 Hardware Support 1 01-08-2010 08:12 PM
ATI MPEG2 decoder sgtchoice SageTV Software 1 05-14-2009 08:48 AM
Whats the best mpeg2 software video decoder for mpeg2 1080i? mkanet SageTV Software 7 12-19-2008 05:14 PM
mpeg2 decoder error mangriotis SageTV Software 9 03-30-2003 04:01 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.