SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-25-2020, 01:12 PM
lapvr lapvr is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: northern california
Posts: 10
Problems with USB tuners

I have bought and installed several ATSC USB tuners. All of them work fine when used by the Total Media program. However, I cannot get them to work with SageTV. I have made KWorld and Hauppauge tuners work properly with SageTV but the Hauppauge unit seems to have a fairly short lifetime before becoming degraded and the KWorld units last much longer but eventually die and they are no longer available to buy.

The two of the three problem ATSC tuners don't have a clear name on them but they are white and have "ATSC TV Stick" written on them. The third is the same shape but is black, has "MyGica A681" and has some small vent holes on one side. I have attached a picture of the tuners. When connected to SageTV, all three find the available channels but cannot generate a signal.

Anybody have any experiences like this and is there a way to fix it.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Tuners.jpg (63.8 KB, 16 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-25-2020, 10:47 PM
wayner wayner is online now
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,928
Not a direct answer to your question but I far prefer the HDHR to USB tuners. It isn't dependent on specific hardware so you can use the tuner from multiple SageTV servers running in your house and you can also directly watch LiveTV from the HDHR app - if you so desire. Plus they are easy to use in VMs or dockers as you don't have to worry about passthrough of devices to a VM. And generally the HDHRs have two or more tuners. If you don't want to spend too much money. You can buy older used ones very cheaply on eBay
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ubuntu playback problems and HD Homerun tuners boil42 SageTV Linux 10 01-13-2011 07:42 AM
Major problems with multiple tuners. SageGk Hardware Support 1 12-07-2008 01:26 PM
Problems with tuners visiontim Hardware Support 0 09-24-2007 01:33 PM
Problems using 2 x DVB-T Hauppauge HVR-1300 Tuners i0zjh02 SageTV Beta Test Software 1 10-18-2006 03:05 AM
2 Tuners = problems? cyphorx SageTV Software 3 12-24-2004 07:51 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.