SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-29-2010, 09:30 PM
meisner meisner is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 31
Conflict resolution question

(Running STV v7)

This week, for some reason, one of my favorites (Psych on USA) runs from 10:00 to 11:07. The fact it extends past 11:00 causes a conflict with another favorite (The Daily Show on Comedy Central). My only options in the conflict resolution tool were either to drop Psych or drop the Daily Show.

Why isn't there an option to record all of Psych (67 minutes worth) and then start recording The Dail Show 7 minutes late?

[BTW, my apologies if this was already discussed somewhere, but after searching I came up empty]
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-29-2010, 09:57 PM
Brent94Z Brent94Z is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 863
I think the answer might be because for most people, missing the first part of a show isn't acceptable. They'd prefer to miss that airing of the show and have it be recorded at a later date (many shows are aired again later in the week). Plus, if Sage could be configured to do this then would that show that missed the first 7 minutes be considered "watched" or not when you were done watching it? Seems to open up a lot of "what if" type scenerios if that were allowed.

What you can do though is setup a manual timed recording to record that channel from 11:08 to 12:00 (or maybe 11:07 would work... I don't mess with manual recordings )
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-29-2010, 10:11 PM
meisner meisner is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 31
Yeah, exactly. I didn't want to create a manual recording either (which is what I ended up doing). This tends to screw up the auto delete function. I now need to remember to remove the Manual flag or manually delete it after I watch it.

I don't see how this would create a lot of problems. If there's an overlap in 2 favorites, why couldn't Sage alter the start time (or end time) of the lower priority favorite. Nothing would be considered watched once the recording is complete...just like when a full time slot is recorded.

I do get your point about how most people would rather find another airing to not miss the overlap time. I was looking at it like this was a nightly show, so missing a few minutes would be fine.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-30-2010, 12:35 AM
Brent94Z Brent94Z is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 863
Quote:
Originally Posted by meisner View Post
I don't see how this would create a lot of problems. If there's an overlap in 2 favorites, why couldn't Sage alter the start time (or end time) of the lower priority favorite. Nothing would be considered watched once the recording is complete...just like when a full time slot is recorded.
Because if Sage were to do that it would miss the first part of the 2nd show. Then, when that 2nd show came back on maybe as soon as 2 hours later, Sage would NOT record the show in its entirety because it thinks it already recorded it. That would upset me a bit I do suppose it could be programmed such to give you a bunch of options each time this came up but then it turns into a manual process. If doing a bunch of manual stuff, might as well just make it a manual recording

I can see why some might want this (if the show NEVER comes on again) but with many people not watching live TV anymore and most shows seeming to air again at a date in the not too distant future, I'd think most would prefer to have the entire show recorded at a later airing.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-30-2010, 05:10 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
You shouldn't really be getting a conflict from the daily show, unless you unneccesarily limited it to the 11 oclock time slot. Might be better to remote thatn limiation, and just let sage record a later airing of the Daily Show.

Or add more tuners.. ;-)
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-30-2010, 06:35 AM
meisner meisner is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 31
Ahh, you are right. I had it locked onto 11:00 start time. I did this because the guide was listing multiple airings of the same episode as "first runs" and I was worried I would get 3 copies of the same thing. I will try removing the 11:00 limit and see if the right thing happens. Maybe I was overthinking this.

Quote:
Or add more tuners.. ;-)
Another tuner is fine, but I don't want to give Comcast another penny if I don't have to.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-30-2010, 07:35 AM
paulbeers paulbeers is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by meisner View Post
Ahh, you are right. I had it locked onto 11:00 start time. I did this because the guide was listing multiple airings of the same episode as "first runs" and I was worried I would get 3 copies of the same thing. I will try removing the 11:00 limit and see if the right thing happens. Maybe I was overthinking this.
You might end up getting multiple copies of the Daily Show. I get this with PTI. However, there is a setting within Sage (I think its somewhere in the detailed settings) that states something alonge the lines of "additional checks for determining duplicate airings" or something like that. It might help alleviate Sage from recording the same show multiple times a day. Worst case, you end up with duplicate episodes of the Daily show and you just delete them all (which is easy because you can delete whole folders of episodes at once)
__________________
Sage Server: AMD Athlon II 630, Asrock 785G motherboard, 3GB of RAM, 500GB OS HD in RAID 1 and 2 - 750GB Recording Drives, HDHomerun, Avermedia HD Duet & 2-HDPVRs, and 9.0TB storage in RAID 5 via Dell Perc 5i for DVD storage
Source: Clear QAM and OTA for locals, 2-DishNetwork VIP211's
Clients: 2 Sage HD300's, 2 Sage HD200's, 2 Sage HD100's, 1 MediaMVP, and 1 Placeshifter
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-30-2010, 09:40 AM
kamp kamp is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Iowa
Posts: 13
I have a similar situation this week where a show is listed to go until 1 minute past the hour which conflicts with another show. Currently, I have it set to do nothing. Does this mean it will record all of the first show or delay a minute until starting to record the second show? Or does it mean that it will be so confused that it won't record anything?

Last edited by kamp; 11-30-2010 at 09:41 AM. Reason: Adding another possibility.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-30-2010, 09:56 AM
graywolf's Avatar
graywolf graywolf is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 1,366
Quote:
Originally Posted by kamp View Post
I have a similar situation this week where a show is listed to go until 1 minute past the hour which conflicts with another show. Currently, I have it set to do nothing. Does this mean it will record all of the first show or delay a minute until starting to record the second show? Or does it mean that it will be so confused that it won't record anything?
Depends if the first or second show is higher in the priority list.
Also depends upon if Sage sees if either show has additional airings (I believe).

If no additional airings, it will record whichever show is higher in the priority list and not the other one (unless you make it a manual recording and adjust the start/end time to allow both to record)

If additional airing of 1 of the shows (this is from reading understanding, not practical experience), the show with only 1 airing will record and the show with the additional airing should be rescheduled to the alternate airing (think this would be automatic?)

If both shows have additional airings, I'm not positive what would happen but ASSUME that the higher priority show would be recorded first and the lower priority show would have it moved to the alternate airing.

take all of the above with a grain of salt. no expert here since spouse ends up preferring checking/setting manual recordings each night. Although SLOWLY getting her into using Favorites (several old western shows that she doesn't care if they get missed or not)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-30-2010, 11:03 AM
paulbeers paulbeers is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,550
grayworf is correct.

If neither show has an additional airing, it will record whichever is first on your favorites list since that has a higher "merit".

If one of the shows has a later airing sometime in the next week, then it will record it at an alternative time.

Another thing to remember, if you have a lot of favorites on the same television network, there is a setting something along the lines of "remove padding on back to back shows" in the detailed setup. How this works is if you have two half hour shows on channel 13 back to back, it will remove the padding between them (if you setup the favorite to do one minute before and one minute after) and then you only need to use one tuner rather than two to record this. There is no little need to have the padding in the actual recording because if the second show started early you can catch the start of it in the previous show and vice versa.

Just my .02 worth. Obviously this doesn't help for shows on different channels, but it is still worth selecting if you do a lot of recordings from the same channel.
__________________
Sage Server: AMD Athlon II 630, Asrock 785G motherboard, 3GB of RAM, 500GB OS HD in RAID 1 and 2 - 750GB Recording Drives, HDHomerun, Avermedia HD Duet & 2-HDPVRs, and 9.0TB storage in RAID 5 via Dell Perc 5i for DVD storage
Source: Clear QAM and OTA for locals, 2-DishNetwork VIP211's
Clients: 2 Sage HD300's, 2 Sage HD200's, 2 Sage HD100's, 1 MediaMVP, and 1 Placeshifter
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 11-30-2010, 11:18 AM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,619
Note that if a recording runs just a few minutes into a show that is not scheduled to air again, then SageTV may start recording the show if doing so will not interfere with the rest of the scheduled recordings. This allows it to record most of the show instead of skipping the whole thing. I think the allowed late start is up to 5 minutes, but I'm not certain of that number.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-30-2010, 11:21 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by Opus4 View Post
Note that if a recording runs just a few minutes into a show that is not scheduled to air again, then SageTV may start recording the show if doing so will not interfere with the rest of the scheduled recordings. This allows it to record most of the show instead of skipping the whole thing. I think the allowed late start is up to 5 minutes, but I'm not certain of that number.

- Andy
Does this only occur if there is a conflict? Meaning if there is another airing available, it will prefer the full recording option. I've also noticed it will generate a system message when a conflict has caused a partial recording.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-30-2010, 11:23 AM
graywolf's Avatar
graywolf graywolf is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 1,366
Quote:
Originally Posted by Opus4 View Post
Note that if a recording runs just a few minutes into a show that is not scheduled to air again, then SageTV may start recording the show if doing so will not interfere with the rest of the scheduled recordings. This allows it to record most of the show instead of skipping the whole thing. I think the allowed late start is up to 5 minutes, but I'm not certain of that number.

- Andy
Was not aware of this. Learned something new today
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-30-2010, 11:52 AM
kamp kamp is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Iowa
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Opus4 View Post
Note that if a recording runs just a few minutes into a show that is not scheduled to air again, then SageTV may start recording the show if doing so will not interfere with the rest of the scheduled recordings. This allows it to record most of the show instead of skipping the whole thing. I think the allowed late start is up to 5 minutes, but I'm not certain of that number.

- Andy
Perfect. That's exactly the behavior I wanted. Thanks for the help!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Possible bug in conflict resolution rxnelson SageTV Beta Test Software 2 11-05-2010 06:00 AM
SageMC conflict resolution tchapin SageMC Custom Interface 0 11-08-2008 11:23 AM
newbie conflict resolution question erics SageTV Software 14 07-31-2004 05:21 PM
Conflict resolution, hibernation drbenson SageTV Software 12 11-12-2003 08:43 PM
Question about Favourites conflict resolution pawn SageTV Software 1 10-25-2003 06:23 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.