SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Media Extender

Notices

SageTV Media Extender Discussion related to any SageTV Media Extender used directly by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to a SageTV supported media extender should be posted here. Use the SageTV HD Theater - Media Player forum for issues related to using an HD Theater while not connected to a SageTV server.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-18-2010, 10:53 AM
bigo93bronco's Avatar
bigo93bronco bigo93bronco is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 317
HD200 and Computer Monitor

I have an extra extender I want to setup in a bedroom. The only tv I have available is a SD 13". I also have a CRT 19" VGA monitor that supports 1600X1200. Is there anyway to connect the extender to it without a converter box? I have a projector cable that is component to vga, but I don't think it will work that way. Could I go HDMI to DVI and them DVI to VGA?
__________________
Windows 10 X64 ASUS Z270 TUF2 MOBO
Intel I5 Kaby Lake @3.3 Corsair H65 AIO water cooler
16GB GSkill DRR4 10 SATA hotswap bays in 4U RM case
Redundant power supply, dual UPS's, etc
Samsung EVO 850 SSD X2 OS drives
WD 4TB Purple drive for recordings, various other drives for archives
Tuners are a work in progress
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-18-2010, 11:47 AM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,188
I don't think you can avoid a converter. The only outputs on the HD200 are HDMI (digital) or component YPbPr.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-18-2010, 01:01 PM
bigo93bronco's Avatar
bigo93bronco bigo93bronco is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 317
Well I could go from HDMI to DVI right? Would it then be possable to go from DVI to VGA? Is this just a waste of time?
__________________
Windows 10 X64 ASUS Z270 TUF2 MOBO
Intel I5 Kaby Lake @3.3 Corsair H65 AIO water cooler
16GB GSkill DRR4 10 SATA hotswap bays in 4U RM case
Redundant power supply, dual UPS's, etc
Samsung EVO 850 SSD X2 OS drives
WD 4TB Purple drive for recordings, various other drives for archives
Tuners are a work in progress
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-18-2010, 01:32 PM
autoboy autoboy is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 477
HDMI lacks the analog output that DVI-A has. HDMI and DVI aren't always the same thing. You can't get analog out of the HDMI port and the VGA converters are the same price as a new monitor. You could just buy yourself a 19" monitor for $100.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-19-2010, 02:40 PM
d2tw4all d2tw4all is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 78
Agreed, you can probably find a cheap LCD that will take HDMI inputs for less hassle and cost than adapters to do this.
Tom
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can computer and media extender share a monitor? vj1 SageTV Media Extender 3 02-13-2009 05:16 PM
HD200 With LCD Monitor mrdrbdt SageTV Media Extender 8 01-05-2009 02:22 PM
Computer monitor with MVP? klaberte SageTV Media Extender 2 11-25-2006 10:10 AM
TV-Out without Computer Monitor Video SkierHiker SageTV Software 1 01-03-2006 10:57 AM
350 users, help me with how you use a remote and usage w/o computer monitor longshort SageTV Software 4 04-22-2004 01:49 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.