SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-20-2004, 08:08 AM
jphhughes jphhughes is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 427
Need 350 users help

I have been using SageTV for some time now . I decided to built my own HTPC to Use as a dedicated PVR running SageTV. I am at the stage of trying to get the Hauppauge 350 card to play nice with Sage (not having much success). I have read many, many posts here on the various 350 problems but also see many that have it working just fine. So one again I need to request the help of those that have their 350 running with Sage and just how they managed to do it. This is what I have done so far.

Installed 350 card in PC using the Hauppauge CD. Installed all of the Hauppauge software. Installed SageTV Beta .16RC1, set Sage to use 350 out, OSD out as well as hardware decoding. The result is a very unstable environment. It seem (first time) when I rebooted the systems and started Sage everything was ok (great joy). What I mean by that is that I go TV out with OSD on TV , black screen on PC monitor ( using nvidiaMx440 card) , however as soon as I would make a change, something like up-channel, guide button, the picture would freeze and Sage would become unresponsive. Sometimes if I put Sage to sleep it would start up ok but then I would have video on the PC monitor as well as TV but could not get OSD on TV just monitor. It seem that every time I reboot the system everything is ok initially until I make some change using the remote.

In reading the treads on this form I see where it was recommended to upgrade to the most current driver for the 350 , I believe the number was 1.8 I did download drivers from the Hauppauge site which looked like the 1.8 but when I check the driver version in device manager it has a 1.7 designation.

So what the best way to proceed. DO I have a driver problem? If so waht is the current dirver required. Thanks for any help.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-20-2004, 10:07 AM
pcuoco pcuoco is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 207
jphhughes,

What's your chipset? There are some chipsets that work better than others.

Also, and I speak from experience here, are you using a USB-UIRT? Some people with older motherboards are having problems with the USB-UIRT and the 350 togther, and require a PCI USB card. See this thread below.

http://forums.freytechnologies.com/f...B&pagenumber=3
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-20-2004, 10:59 AM
jphhughes jphhughes is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 427
pcuoco

My Chipset is Intel 865PE-Motherboard is Intel D865PERL. I read through the thread you suggested and did not see any reference to Intel865. Yes I am using a USB-UIRT. So perhaps I should install without USUIRT and see what happens? Thanks for help.
__________________
HTPC(self built dedicated )/SageTV 7.1.8 Beta /SG01 Silverstone Case/ Intel Dual Core Q6600/ Gigabyte GA-73PVM-S2H mATX MOBO 2GB RAM /WD 300GB SATA Drive/HD-PVR, Sage HD-300, HDHomerun, Nvidia 8600GTS Graphics Card/Windows 7 SP1/USB-UIRT-controlling one SA4250HD STB's/Harmony 700 Remote.
_________________________
Isn't it nice when things just work?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-20-2004, 06:32 PM
Chilli Chilli is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Big Apple
Posts: 69
jphhughes, I don't think anyone in this forum has gotten the 350 OSD to work well with the Intel 865 chipset. Problem with Hauppauge drivers.

http://forums.freytechnologies.com/f...ll+350+chipset
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-21-2004, 09:08 AM
jphhughes jphhughes is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 427
Once again thanks for the help. So it looks like I am dead in the water for now.
__________________
HTPC(self built dedicated )/SageTV 7.1.8 Beta /SG01 Silverstone Case/ Intel Dual Core Q6600/ Gigabyte GA-73PVM-S2H mATX MOBO 2GB RAM /WD 300GB SATA Drive/HD-PVR, Sage HD-300, HDHomerun, Nvidia 8600GTS Graphics Card/Windows 7 SP1/USB-UIRT-controlling one SA4250HD STB's/Harmony 700 Remote.
_________________________
Isn't it nice when things just work?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-24-2004, 04:42 PM
Danimal Danimal is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 10
The driver version in the device manager did not change after latest driver install.
I emailed Hauppauge on this & they say the driver update does install properly & they are aware of the driver revision not changing under the device manager. They claim this will be fixed next revision.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.