SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Information & Announcements > SageTV Downloads & Instructions

Notices

SageTV Downloads & Instructions This forum is for discussions containing Downloads and Instructions related to the Open Source version of SageTV. Please do not post questions in this forum.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #561  
Old 01-03-2020, 04:11 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,656
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
And the USBUIRT works with both standard Windows 10 64 bit and unRAID versions?
Don't know about Win10 64 as I now use unRAID almost exclsuively although I do have an older Win32 version running as a backup server. But that doesn't have any tuners, just lots of 0

Firewire works with 64 bit Linux on unRAID and that is what I use for changing channels. There is an isssue with the USB-UIRT as there is no multi zone on Linux so you need one USB-UIRT per tuning device.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #562  
Old 01-03-2020, 06:35 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,519
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
Don't know about Win10 64 as I now use unRAID almost exclsuively although I do have an older Win32 version running as a backup server. But that doesn't have any tuners, just lots of 0

Firewire works with 64 bit Linux on unRAID and that is what I use for changing channels. There is an isssue with the USB-UIRT as there is no multi zone on Linux so you need one USB-UIRT per tuning device.
Got it. Changing channels with multiple tuners really seems to be an issue which never quite got properly resolved before the sale to Google. I only have two devices to tune, and that still takes planning and questions.
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #563  
Old 01-03-2020, 07:00 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,656
Actually I never had an issue using multi-zone control of a USB-UIRT to control two zones for my previous Win32 system. And I also used firewire to control two zones with Win32.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #564  
Old 01-03-2020, 09:58 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,519
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
Actually I never had an issue using multi-zone control of a USB-UIRT to control two zones for my previous Win32 system. And I also used firewire to control two zones with Win32.
but not with Linux, correct?
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #565  
Old 01-03-2020, 10:57 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,656
Not sure if you mean USB-UIRT or firewire but with Linux you can only use one zone per USB-UIRT but you can use as many firewire boxes as you desire, at least with unRAID, and they work very well.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #566  
Old 01-04-2020, 09:47 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,519
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
Not sure if you mean USB-UIRT or firewire but with Linux you can only use one zone per USB-UIRT but you can use as many firewire boxes as you desire, at least with unRAID, and they work very well.
In general, Iím trying to gather all the info I have for future rebuilds. With W7 support dying in a week, Iím considering different platforms, and am looking at their strengths or shortcomings. Things like this are included
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #567  
Old 01-04-2020, 07:44 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,251
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
... With W7 support dying in a week ...
I could see how that might worry some folks, but at the end of the day, a Win 7 system with a SageTV server behind a router firewall that doesn't really do much Internet browsing, it seems like "no windows updates" might be a gift in disguise.
Reply With Quote
  #568  
Old 01-04-2020, 10:42 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,519
Quote:
Originally Posted by KryptoNyte View Post
I could see how that might worry some folks, but at the end of the day, a Win 7 system with a SageTV server behind a router firewall that doesn't really do much Internet browsing, it seems like "no windows updates" might be a gift in disguise.
True, it may be thereís nothing really to be concerned with, but with port 8080, and the fact I also use the same machine for PLEX, AirVideoHD and a couple of other streaming things, Iím keeping one eye on alternatives just in case it all goes pear-shaped
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows Installer jusjoken SageTV Downloads & Instructions 488 11-23-2019 02:13 PM
Windows Installer Update? JrClocker SageTV Github Development 2 07-02-2016 08:48 PM
Does Windows Installer work on WHS emotionnotion SageTV Github Development 7 05-20-2016 07:55 AM
problems with windows installer Galaxysurfer SageTV Github Development 2 04-15-2016 05:41 AM
Any news on the Windows installer? Damstas SageTV Github Development 2 09-03-2015 10:09 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.