SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-11-2009, 04:12 PM
Zardoz Zardoz is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 20
SageTVService.exe eating memory...

DOes anyone else experience this? I have to occasionally shut down the service and restart it due to extreme sluggishness. Today I had a "Low Memory" message and sure enough SageTVService was the #1 offender using about 480,000K (Task Manager). When I restart it, it starts at about 78,000K and seems to consume memory from there. Is there something I have set wrong or something? Id the service just not releasing memory? It has been an issue for a while but today was the first time I saw the "Low Memory" mesage.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-11-2009, 08:52 PM
tahoetim tahoetim is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Lake Tahoe
Posts: 112
me too

I am having the same issue. I watch the java heap rise over a couple of days and have to stop the service to clear it.
__________________
WHS server, PVR150, PVR500, 2 HD200, 2 placeshifter laptops
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-11-2009, 09:05 PM
blueroom blueroom is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 74
Firefox does the same thing over time.
__________________
ASUS M3A78-T, AMD5050E, 2G DDR2, Radeon 4550 HDMI fanless, HVR-2250, HVR-1600, AppleTV, MCE Remote
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-11-2009, 11:24 PM
GKusnick's Avatar
GKusnick GKusnick is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5,083
The memory footprint you see when you first start the service isn't typical of steady-state use. It's normal for memory usage to increase for a while as resources are loaded on demand, particularly if you have multiple extenders displaying lots of UI graphics. But after a few days it should reach a plateau of some sort. Depending on how many extenders you have and what sort of graphics-intensive UI mods you use, that could be in the neighborhood of a couple hundred meg.

If you're not reaching a plateau and the memory use just keeps growing indefinitely, that would be the time to suspect a leak. In that case the thing to do is to revert to the stock UI with no plugins and see if the problem persists.
__________________
-- Greg
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-12-2009, 03:37 PM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
How much RAM do you have?
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-21-2009, 10:18 PM
Zardoz Zardoz is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 20
Thanks for your help...

I think you may be right about the stabilization plateau. I've been away for about a week and it looks like it maxes out at about 170MB. This PC has 1GB of memory and one old media extender (non-HD) connected. I know, it's not a lot of memory but that's about all this machine does. I had intended to use this PC for another very simple server application but then that need disappeared and I decided to try SageTV. It's worked pretty well most of the time excepted for the required re-boot about once a week so I left it on here. I eventually plan to move the Sage over to a Vista-64 machine with 8GB mem and 1.5TB but other priorities have kept me from it. I suspect a new series of issues then...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
freeze, memory leak, restart, sagetvservice.exe, sluggish


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Memory usage of SageTVService rswoods SageTV Software 5 12-19-2008 11:25 AM
SageTVService/svchost.exe conflict? oceanfront SageTV Software 2 03-17-2008 11:40 PM
SageTVService.exe priority setting vhurst SageTV Beta Test Software 2 12-16-2006 03:25 PM
100% CPU usage with SageTVService.exe matt91 SageTV Beta Test Software 12 10-18-2006 06:55 PM
SageTVService.exe Memory Resources hummedan SageTV Beta Test Software 1 04-20-2006 10:02 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.