SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-03-2020, 02:50 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,620
Viewing Sage recordings thru serverís video card - bad idea?

My SageTV server outputs NTSC video via a Gigabyte motherboard, on-board, Radeon HD 4200 video out, HDMI output.

Problem: lots of atimpga.sys blue screen of deaths. Usually during fast forward.

Do the bulk of you watch recordings via your server’s video card, or do you mainly watch via HD200/300 media extenders? Is that more reliable, aka no server crashes while manipulating video?
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-03-2020, 05:37 PM
Tiki's Avatar
Tiki Tiki is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southwest Florida, USA
Posts: 1,881
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
My SageTV server outputs NTSC video via a Gigabyte motherboard, on-board, Radeon HD 4200 video out, HDMI output.

Problem: lots of atimpga.sys blue screen of deaths. Usually during fast forward.

Do the bulk of you watch recordings via your serverís video card, or do you mainly watch via HD200/300 media extenders? Is that more reliable, aka no server crashes while manipulating video?
I mostly watch from my server. I never get blue screen crashes. I use the integrated graphics on an AMD Ryzen APU.

I run Sage as a service on Windows 10. That way the recording engine starts automatically as soon as the computer boots, even if no one is logged in - this is useful if the computer ever crashes or power goes out for longer than my UPS can handle. Also, if the Sage UI crashes, it doesnít affect the Sage Service, so recordings are usually not affected. I donít see the Sage UI crash or freeze very often these days (used to be more common in earlier versions). But it can get screwed up by a bad plugin, or when trying to playback a corrupted video file. In these cases, you can just restart the Sage UI without taking down the service and interrupting any recordings in progress.

Unfortunately service mode wonít help you if the whole operating system crashes. That should really never happen and it usually indicates either a bad piece of hardware or a buggy driver. If it happens once a year I wouldnít worry about it, but if it happens frequently, I would spend some time troubleshooting.
__________________
Server: Ryzen 2400G with integrated graphics, ASRock X470 Taichi Motherboard, HDMI output to Vizio 1080p LCD, Win10-64Bit (Professional), 16GB RAM
Capture Devices (7 tuners): Colossus (x1), HDHR Prime (x2)
,USBUIRT (multi-zone)
Source:
Comcast/Xfinity X1 Cable
Primary Client: Server Other Clients: (1) HD200, (1) HD300
Retired Equipment: MediaMVP, PVR150 (x2), PVR150MCE,
HDHR, HVR-2250, HD-PVR
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-03-2020, 07:38 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,620
other than running a much older, quad core AMD, we have gigabyte and on-board video in common. Iíve never been able to get rid of the ATI video blue screens, and they havenít released drivers for this board in about five years. lol.
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Headless server with no video card ok? jptheripper Hardware Support 16 03-04-2012 03:50 PM
Second Sage Server - I had no idea flavius SageTV Software 2 12-04-2011 04:17 PM
Need video card for server? pstockha SageTV Software 6 07-14-2008 02:05 PM
Video card to play HD PVR recordings davenlr Hardware Support 9 06-22-2008 08:45 AM
Sage Server with no video card Christopher 67 SageTV Software 10 06-27-2004 06:55 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.