SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-01-2018, 10:09 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,319
Google Home & Logitech Harmony vs. Amazon Echo

Iím currently using Amazon Echo Dot with my Logitech Harmony Hub to control an eight piece Tv system.
However....
Amazon just bought RING doorbells, and I have one of those too. The thought of Amazon having access to both indoors and out concerns me, so...

Is anyone using Google Home with Harmony Hub and SageTV, etc with great success? I see itís possible, but I donít know anyone using Google Home for home theater control, personally...
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-01-2018, 10:27 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,537
What are you using voice control for? Just to stop and start activities or also to do other remote control actions like Play, Pause, etc.

The upside to the Amazon purchase of Ring is that you could get an Echo Spot and see who is at the door on them.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-01-2018, 10:52 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,319
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
What are you using voice control for? Just to stop and start activities or also to do other remote control actions like Play, Pause, etc.

The upside to the Amazon purchase of Ring is that you could get an Echo Spot and see who is at the door on them.
I can see who’s at the door with either my android phone, tablet or iPad. That’s not a problem. I mainly use voice control for the On/Off function. Sure, the Harmony remote can do that as well, but my spouse prefers the voice method. Volume, channel selection, input changing....mostly done with the remote.
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-01-2018, 02:53 PM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,311
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
I can see whoís at the door with either my android phone, tablet or iPad. Thatís not a problem. I mainly use voice control for the On/Off function. Sure, the Harmony remote can do that as well, but my spouse prefers the voice method. Volume, channel selection, input changing....mostly done with the remote.
I use them to control my harmony with my voice.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-01-2018, 03:05 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,319
Quote:
Originally Posted by panteragstk View Post
I use them to control my harmony with my voice.
You use what? Which? Amazon or Google products? Which interfaces with your Harmony Hub?
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-02-2018, 08:01 PM
KarylFStein KarylFStein is online now
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Westland, Michigan, USA
Posts: 987
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
You use what? Which? Amazon or Google products? Which interfaces with your Harmony Hub?
Amazon does. I don't know about Google.
__________________
Home Network: https://karylstein.com/technology.html
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-02-2018, 10:22 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,319
Quote:
Originally Posted by KarylFStein View Post
Amazon does. I don't know about Google.
Thanks. I have Amazon Dot as well. It looks like very few people use Google Assistant with Logitech Harmony Hub
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-03-2018, 11:22 AM
NetworkGuy NetworkGuy is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 632
Funny Story.

I was at a presentation at Google Headquarters in NYC last year. There were about 100 people in the audience. One of the speakers asked how many people had a Google Home. Only 2 people raised their hands. He then made the mistake of asking how many had Amazon Alexa. About half the audience raised their hands.

There are just way more people using Alexa.
__________________
Server: Intel Core i5-3330 CPU @3.00GHz; 8GB (2 x 4GB) PC3-12800 DDR3 1600MHz; 3-1TB WD Blue SATA 6.0Gb/s 64 MB Cache 7200RPM HDD; Windows 7; SageTV 9
Tuner: (2) HDHomeRun Prime
Client: HD300; Onkyo TX-SR607; Sony XBR-65X850D
Client: HD300; Samsung UN46B7000
Client: Nexus Player / Mini-Client; Sony KDL-32L4000
Client: SageTV Placeshifter 7
Client: SageTV Client 9
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-03-2018, 04:23 PM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,311
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
You use what? Which? Amazon or Google products? Which interfaces with your Harmony Hub?
I have both actually. I put up the Google home just because I got it cheap and haven't had time to mess with it.

I have an Echo Dot that I used for a while and it was great. There is a Harmony skill that I use to power off my A/V stuff and it auto discovered my lights.

I use Alexa built into my thermostat now. Still works, but the mic isn't as good.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-03-2018, 04:24 PM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,311
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetworkGuy View Post
Funny Story.

I was at a presentation at Google Headquarters in NYC last year. There were about 100 people in the audience. One of the speakers asked how many people had a Google Home. Only 2 people raised their hands. He then made the mistake of asking how many had Amazon Alexa. About half the audience raised their hands.

There are just way more people using Alexa.
Alexa has been around longer so market penetration is higher. The Home products are gaining traction, but are going to be behind for a while.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-04-2018, 12:43 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,319
Quote:
Originally Posted by panteragstk View Post
Alexa has been around longer so market penetration is higher. The Home products are gaining traction, but are going to be behind for a while.
Let us know if you test the Google device with the Logitech Harmony Hub, as my whole home being observed by Amazon gives me the willies. Lol
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-05-2018, 08:33 AM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
Let us know if you test the Google device with the Logitech Harmony Hub, as my whole home being observed by Amazon gives me the willies. Lol
They kind of all creep me out. Maybe once they get to the point of being like JARVIS they'll finally be worth the costs.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Alternative to Logitech Harmony? bialio Hardware Support 20 05-06-2013 11:17 AM
Harmony 900 at Amazon for $249.99 MeInMaui The SageTV Community 5 06-16-2010 03:12 PM
Logitech Harmony 880 $100 shipped belleboyd The SageTV Community 5 03-12-2008 11:01 AM
URC VS Harmony?Harmony (Logitech) VS URC remotes? morikaweb Hardware Support 11 02-25-2008 06:54 PM
SageTV and Logitech Harmony 880 xxnilxx Hardware Support 10 08-07-2006 12:35 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.