SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Linux > SageTV for unRAID/Docker

Notices

SageTV for unRAID/Docker Discussion related to SageTV for unRAID/Docker. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to SageTV for unRAID/Docker should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-17-2018, 05:31 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,515
Be weary of unRAID 6.5

I upgraded my brother's server to unRAID 6.5 and I lost the web ui. After a couple hours I was able to start nginx and log into the server, but not good.

On my own server I upgraded to 6.5 and sagetv failed to start. It kept dying with an exception in the log...

Code:
Sat 3/17 19:18:16.842 java.lang.NullPointerException
Sat 3/17 19:18:16.843   at sage.CaptureDevice.isSameCaptureDevice(CaptureDevice.java:365)
Sat 3/17 19:18:16.843   at sage.CaptureDevice.isDeviceAlreadyUsed(CaptureDevice.java:63)
Sat 3/17 19:18:16.843   at sage.LinuxDVBCaptureManager.detectCaptureDevices(LinuxDVBCaptureManager.java:84)
Sat 3/17 19:18:16.843   at sage.MMC.init(MMC.java:89)
Sat 3/17 19:18:16.843   at sage.MMC.prime(MMC.java:65)
Sat 3/17 19:18:16.843   at sage.SageTV.<init>(SageTV.java:405)
Sat 3/17 19:18:16.843   at sage.Sage.startup(Sage.java:1170)
Sat 3/17 19:18:16.843   at sage.Sage.main(Sage.java:950)
Since I'm using the DVB Plugin and the LibreElec kernel, I downgraded to 6.4.1 and I'm back in business, but, needles to say, I'll wait for 6.5.1 before moving up.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-17-2018, 09:56 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,536
Thanks for the warning.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-18-2018, 07:55 AM
dstanley's Avatar
dstanley dstanley is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Paris, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 266
I will watch this thread as well - thanks for the heads up Sean!
__________________
SERVER: Intel Core i7-3770 CPU @ 3.40GHz - UnRaid Server 6.7.2/DVB LibreELEC with Docker stuckless-sagetv-server-java9 MOTHERBOARD: ASRock-Z77 Extreme4 / 32GB RAM CACHE DRIVE: SSD 1TB ARRAY: 24TB/7 DRIVES PARITY: 8TB
EXTERNAL DEVICES: 4x HD-PVR's Firewire Channel Changing
TUNERS:SA3250HD, SA4250HD, SA4250HD, CISCO4642HD, ROGERS CABLE-ON, CANADA
CLIENTS: 2xHD300 2xHD200 SONY ANDROIDTV MINI-CLIENT
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-19-2018, 05:51 AM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
I'd have to double check, but I think I've been running 6.5 nearly since it came out with no issues.

-edit

Nope, I was wrong, I'm still running 6.4.0. Not sure how I missed that 6.5 was out

Last edited by stanger89; 03-19-2018 at 06:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-19-2018, 07:38 AM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
I was home with a sick kid the day 6.5.0 came out so I upgraded right away. Have had zero issues with it.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-19-2018, 12:11 PM
kpbrwn kpbrwn is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 11
I got the exact same errors and couldn't solve it when I upgraded on 3/17/2018.
Because I have two tuners I was getting the message twice; looks like once for each tuner.

My previous setup
* Unraid 6.3.5 using unRaid DVB plugin with the LibElec drivers
* Windows 7 VM for 2 HD-PVRs
** I passthru the USB controller for the 2 HD-PVRs and an USB-IIRT
* SageTV Docker image using 2 Hauppauge 2250 ATSC tuners

I couldn't roll back because the support for unRaid 6.3.5 was removed from the DVB plugin.
I couldn't use UnRaid 6.4.* as my Win 7 VM was unstable.

So now I have
* Unraid 6.5.0
* Windows 7 VM for 2 HD-PVRs and the 2 of Hauppauge 2250 ATSC tuners
** I passthru the USB controller for the 2 HD-PVRs and anUSB-IIRT
** Also passthru the 2 Hauppauge 2250 ATSC tuners
* SageTV Docker image

It's working for now.

I'll follow this thread in case anyone has any insight.
__________________
unRAID Server: FX8300, 32GB RAM, SSD Cache Pool 624 GB (3x256GB SSD,2x240GB SSD), Storage Pool: 3TB Storage Pool (3 storage disk + 1 parity disk, all 1TB)
Docker: SageTV9, 2x HVR-2250 PCIe Cards (4xOTA)
VM: Win7 SageTV9 Network Encoder (2x HD-PVR (connected to 2xSA4642HD-Rogers Cable controlled w/ USB-UIRT using multizones))
Clients: 3x HD-200
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-30-2018, 04:57 PM
dstanley's Avatar
dstanley dstanley is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Paris, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 266
Tried the upgrade to 6.5 and it borked my SageTV container. It has no tuners available - using the 6.5 Digital Devices plug-in.

Reverted to the 6.4.1 Digitial Devices DBV version and my HDPVRs were all back as they should be.

Not sure what to do or where the issue is coming from with 6.5?

Adding two log files in case someone knows what to do ...

FOLLOWUP
I updated my Unraid version to 6.5.1-rc3 and the DVB Version to LibreELEC and SageTV and my Hd-PVRs are chugging along just fine!
Not sure why the 6.5.0 versions would not work but at least I am updated now - just an FYI
Attached Files
File Type: txt SAGE_ON_6.4.1_hdpvrs_working.txt (12.9 KB, 23 views)
File Type: txt SAGE_ON_6.5_no_hdpvrs.txt (10.5 KB, 19 views)
__________________
SERVER: Intel Core i7-3770 CPU @ 3.40GHz - UnRaid Server 6.7.2/DVB LibreELEC with Docker stuckless-sagetv-server-java9 MOTHERBOARD: ASRock-Z77 Extreme4 / 32GB RAM CACHE DRIVE: SSD 1TB ARRAY: 24TB/7 DRIVES PARITY: 8TB
EXTERNAL DEVICES: 4x HD-PVR's Firewire Channel Changing
TUNERS:SA3250HD, SA4250HD, SA4250HD, CISCO4642HD, ROGERS CABLE-ON, CANADA
CLIENTS: 2xHD300 2xHD200 SONY ANDROIDTV MINI-CLIENT

Last edited by dstanley; 03-31-2018 at 08:49 AM. Reason: Added Log Files
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-02-2018, 05:30 PM
mibsy mibsy is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 57
Upgraded to 6.5.0 LibreELEC and lost my two HD-PVR's. My HD Homerun's were fine. I didn't really spend much time troubleshooting since I needed my live TV, so I installed 6.5.1rc3 and I'm back in business. It was a nerve-racking 45 minutes where I thought I lost all my DISH programming.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-13-2018, 04:01 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,536
Any update on this, or are folks waiting for 6.5.1 before trying to upgrade?
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-24-2018, 03:58 AM
rickgillyon's Avatar
rickgillyon rickgillyon is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Whitley Bay, England
Posts: 1,943
6.5.1 Stable is released, anyone using it?
__________________
unRAID Server: Intel Core i5 7600K, 16GB DDR4, 2x512GB PCIe M.2 Cache Pool, 2x4TB SATA3 Parity Drive, 2x3TB + 1x4TB SATA Array, 1x TBS 6284 PCIe DVB-T2 Quad, 2x TBS 6205 PCIe DVB-T Quad, Cable TV from TBS2603 sat/IP, IPTV via Telly & node-ffmpeg-mpegts-proxy, unRAID 6.6.6, TVheadend for recording back end, OpenDCT, SDEPG, SageTV 9
Clients: 3 Nvidia Shields, 2 Android Miniclients (Amlogic S905X), 3 Win10 Pro PC Clients
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-24-2018, 05:21 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,515
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickgillyon View Post
6.5.1 Stable is released, anyone using it?
I haven't braved it yet... but likely I'll give it a go this weekend.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-24-2018, 05:28 AM
rickgillyon's Avatar
rickgillyon rickgillyon is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Whitley Bay, England
Posts: 1,943
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
I haven't braved it yet... but likely I'll give it a go this weekend.
Rather your divorce than mine. Router problems and failed reconnections from unRAID have been playing havoc with my WAF, will probably wait until it settles...
__________________
unRAID Server: Intel Core i5 7600K, 16GB DDR4, 2x512GB PCIe M.2 Cache Pool, 2x4TB SATA3 Parity Drive, 2x3TB + 1x4TB SATA Array, 1x TBS 6284 PCIe DVB-T2 Quad, 2x TBS 6205 PCIe DVB-T Quad, Cable TV from TBS2603 sat/IP, IPTV via Telly & node-ffmpeg-mpegts-proxy, unRAID 6.6.6, TVheadend for recording back end, OpenDCT, SDEPG, SageTV 9
Clients: 3 Nvidia Shields, 2 Android Miniclients (Amlogic S905X), 3 Win10 Pro PC Clients
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-24-2018, 04:22 PM
BobPhoenix BobPhoenix is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3,131
6.5.1rc6 is working fine on one of my servers with SageTV Docker. I expect 6.5.1 stable to work fine. I'm not running HD-PVRs through it directly however. Everything is a network encoder. Either HDHR's or HD-PVRs from Windows VM for the 5.1 sound.
__________________
"Keep your goals away from the trolls"
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-24-2018, 08:41 PM
mibsy mibsy is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickgillyon View Post
6.5.1 Stable is released, anyone using it?
I installed it tonight. It booted up fine and I'll watch it. I have been using 6.5.1rc5 for two weeks.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-25-2018, 05:14 PM
dstanley's Avatar
dstanley dstanley is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Paris, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 266
Updated from UnRaid Server 6.5.1-rc5 to 6.5.1 release DVB LibreELEC Version without any issues.
I am running 4 HD-PVRs only on my server.

Dwight
__________________
SERVER: Intel Core i7-3770 CPU @ 3.40GHz - UnRaid Server 6.7.2/DVB LibreELEC with Docker stuckless-sagetv-server-java9 MOTHERBOARD: ASRock-Z77 Extreme4 / 32GB RAM CACHE DRIVE: SSD 1TB ARRAY: 24TB/7 DRIVES PARITY: 8TB
EXTERNAL DEVICES: 4x HD-PVR's Firewire Channel Changing
TUNERS:SA3250HD, SA4250HD, SA4250HD, CISCO4642HD, ROGERS CABLE-ON, CANADA
CLIENTS: 2xHD300 2xHD200 SONY ANDROIDTV MINI-CLIENT
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-15-2018, 09:50 AM
rrhorer rrhorer is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 207
I updated to 6.5.1 release DVB LibreELEC Version and my HDHR Prime tuners are not accessible. I've tried stopping/restarting the stuckless-sagetv-server-java10 and crazifuzzy-opendct dockers to no avail. Both were working flawlessly in 6.4.1. And, being new to Linux and unRaid, I have no idea how to roll back. I really need some help on this. I did install a new modem, but believe everything was working Ok with that change. Goint to the Apps tab to use the Community Applications app, I get the following message: "Download of appfeed failed." Any help on this will be greatly appreciated.
__________________
unRAID Basic Server, Sage & OpenDCT Dockers, Core i3-8100, 8G Memory, HDHR Prime, HD300 Extender, Shield & Android Miniclient, Harmony Hub/Remote
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-15-2018, 11:08 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,515
Quote:
Originally Posted by rrhorer View Post
I updated to 6.5.1 release DVB LibreELEC Version and my HDHR Prime tuners are not accessible. I've tried stopping/restarting the stuckless-sagetv-server-java10 and crazifuzzy-opendct dockers to no avail. Both were working flawlessly in 6.4.1. And, being new to Linux and unRaid, I have no idea how to roll back. I really need some help on this. I did install a new modem, but believe everything was working Ok with that change. Goint to the Apps tab to use the Community Applications app, I get the following message: "Download of appfeed failed." Any help on this will be greatly appreciated.
Sadly, you might need to post something on the unRAID forums I'm not sure what to tell you, here.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-15-2018, 11:10 AM
rickgillyon's Avatar
rickgillyon rickgillyon is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Whitley Bay, England
Posts: 1,943
"Download of appfeed failed" sounds like you have internet connectivity problems.
__________________
unRAID Server: Intel Core i5 7600K, 16GB DDR4, 2x512GB PCIe M.2 Cache Pool, 2x4TB SATA3 Parity Drive, 2x3TB + 1x4TB SATA Array, 1x TBS 6284 PCIe DVB-T2 Quad, 2x TBS 6205 PCIe DVB-T Quad, Cable TV from TBS2603 sat/IP, IPTV via Telly & node-ffmpeg-mpegts-proxy, unRAID 6.6.6, TVheadend for recording back end, OpenDCT, SDEPG, SageTV 9
Clients: 3 Nvidia Shields, 2 Android Miniclients (Amlogic S905X), 3 Win10 Pro PC Clients
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 05-15-2018, 12:58 PM
rrhorer rrhorer is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 207
You are so right. I changed my unRaid network settings to automatic and was able to get internet again and rolled back to 6.4.1; but, alas, I had to re-install my Sage video sources to the new IP address and now I get a blank screen, even though it acts as if it's tuning. BTW, thanks for the help.
__________________
unRAID Basic Server, Sage & OpenDCT Dockers, Core i3-8100, 8G Memory, HDHR Prime, HD300 Extender, Shield & Android Miniclient, Harmony Hub/Remote
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 05-22-2018, 08:32 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,536
Anyone try 6.5.2 which was released about a week ago?
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can you use SJQ from within unRAID wayner SageTV for unRAID/Docker 4 06-29-2017 12:54 PM
unRAID DVB 6.3.5 wayner SageTV for unRAID/Docker 5 05-31-2017 06:35 AM
unRAID 6.3 is out wayner SageTV for unRAID/Docker 11 02-21-2017 07:32 AM
WHS to W7 and Unraid - Have some ???s icon123 Hardware Support 25 01-19-2011 05:50 PM
unRAID wrems Hardware Support 19 04-13-2010 02:32 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.