SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Customizations

Notices

SageTV Customizations This forums is for discussing and sharing user-created modifications for the SageTV application created by using the SageTV Studio or through the use of external plugins. Use this forum to discuss customizations for SageTV version 6 and earlier, or for the SageTV3 UI.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #61  
Old 11-19-2004, 09:30 AM
gotuitdan gotuitdan is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 105
Hi Nielm,

So I'm still not getting this running for some reason. Netstat has no entries at 8080 at all. I enabled the debug console and see the following:

Fri 11/19 10:20:32.332 GetProperty - nielm/webserver/log_access=true ->true
Fri 11/19 10:20:32.332 GetProperty - nielm/webserver/log_user_agent=true ->true
Fri 11/19 10:20:32.333 GetProperty - nielm/webserver/log_referrer=true ->true
Fri 11/19 10:20:32.333 GetProperty - nielm/webserver/use_ssl=false ->false
Fri 11/19 10:20:32.333 Starting webserver with args: [-p, 8080, -root, webserver, -t, throttles.properties, -s, servlets.properties, -r, realms.properties, -a, aliases.properties, -lar, -nohup]
Fri 11/19 10:20:32.340 at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass0(Native Method)
Fri 11/19 10:20:32.342 at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
Fri 11/19 10:20:32.601 at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
Fri 11/19 10:20:32.603 at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
Fri 11/19 10:20:32.604 at java.net.URLClassLoader.access$100(Unknown Source)
Fri 11/19 10:20:32.605 at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(Unknown Source)
Fri 11/19 10:20:32.605 at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
Fri 11/19 10:20:32.607 at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(Unknown Source)
Fri 11/19 10:20:32.608 at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
Fri 11/19 10:20:32.609 at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
Fri 11/19 10:20:32.732 at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
Fri 11/19 10:20:32.733 at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClassInternal(Unknown Source)
Fri 11/19 10:20:32.735 at net.sf.sageplugins.webserver.StartServer.run(StartServer.java:104)
Fri 11/19 10:20:32.736 at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)


thoughts? thanks so much!
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 11-19-2004, 10:13 AM
mikejaner's Avatar
mikejaner mikejaner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chantilly VA
Posts: 2,087
Send a message via MSN to mikejaner
Dewd,
I finally got a chance to install this web server and all I have to say is, you ROCK. Very nice, and great layout. I have no requests for bug fixes or added features, cause you got it right on the first try. Thank you for your effort and unexpected release of this.
I owe you a case of beers for this and your STV
__________________
Mike Janer
SageTV HD300 Extender X2
Sage Server: AMD X4 620,2048MB RAM,SageTV 7.x ,2X HDHR Primes, 2x HDHomerun(original). 80GB OS Drive, Video Drives: Local 2TB Drive GB RAID5
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 11-19-2004, 10:22 AM
hoep hoep is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 197
Any chance to use this with 2.0.20 (since 2.1 does not work for me) ?
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 11-19-2004, 10:54 AM
nielm's Avatar
nielm nielm is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 4,496
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoep
Any chance to use this with 2.0.20 (since 2.1 does not work for me) ?
No. hence the title
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 11-19-2004, 10:59 AM
nielm's Avatar
nielm nielm is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 4,496
Quote:
Originally Posted by gotuitdan
Starting webserver with args: [-p, 8080, -root, webserver, -t, throttles.properties, -s, servlets.properties, -r, realms.properties, -a, aliases.properties, -lar, -nohup]
that shows my code is working, but it is unable to start the webserver code.. check that servlets.jar is in ProgFiles/java/r2rexxx/lib.ext
Also try starting the server outside of sage: in the sagettv dir, do:
java -cp . Acme.Serve.Serve (may give a clearer error msg)
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 11-19-2004, 11:02 AM
AndyS AndyS is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 383
Neilm - is there a downside to running the server outside of Sage? I like the idea of a separate process, just in case there's a problem with the webserver it wouldn't then crash Sage.

Andy.
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 11-19-2004, 12:04 PM
abasu2003's Avatar
abasu2003 abasu2003 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 551
if anybody has the SSL encryption working, can you show me what your "nielm/webserver/ssl_args" property looks like. I'm a little confused as to the format looking at the wiki and after trying a few different arguments and syntaxes i still can't get it running
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 11-19-2004, 12:28 PM
buck1952 buck1952 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 42
servlets.zip

gotuitdan

servlets.jar java library is downloaded as servlets.zip, did you rename it to servlets.jar and copy it [not unpack it] to your Java\j2rex.x.x\lib\ext folder?
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 11-19-2004, 12:28 PM
AndyS AndyS is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 383
Question - is the webserver capable of handling SSL and non-SSL at the same time? It would be great to have non-SSL available for use around the house, but SSL via the internet.

Andy.
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 11-19-2004, 12:38 PM
abasu2003's Avatar
abasu2003 abasu2003 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 551
from what i can tell, andys, it looks liek both are available at the same time. i just can't get ssl working.

EDIT: nope, totally wrong. also the reason why i couldnt' get it working

Last edited by abasu2003; 11-21-2004 at 03:37 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #71  
Old 11-19-2004, 12:40 PM
gotuitdan gotuitdan is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 105
Thanks all! I figured it out from nielm's response, and buck1952 was right... I had unpacked what downloaded as "servelets.jar.zip" into the directory. Changing the name to "servelets.jar" and copying it in worked beautifully.

thanks much... This is *excellent*!
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old 11-20-2004, 02:40 AM
Hector Hector is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Can-tuck-kee
Posts: 400
Thanks for riding point on this, I made the exact same mistake

I agree, this IS excellent. Once again thanks for sharing your work Nielm.

peace . . .


Quote:
Originally Posted by gotuitdan
Thanks all! I figured it out from nielm's response, and buck1952 was right... I had unpacked what downloaded as "servelets.jar.zip" into the directory. Changing the name to "servelets.jar" and copying it in worked beautifully.

thanks much... This is *excellent*!
__________________
PVR user since the late 1900's . . .
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old 11-20-2004, 04:36 AM
Crashless's Avatar
Crashless Crashless is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,224
All I can say is WOW. I was sitting at work, trying to find the time to set this up because I thought to myself: "that is going to be tough to do." But I just set everything up in like 10 minutes. Only thing I haven't done is SSL, and that's next.

Wow. It even looks great on my treo 600 browser. Excellent work!
Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old 11-20-2004, 11:32 AM
Enormous's Avatar
Enormous Enormous is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: D.C. Area
Posts: 398
abasu: The nielm/webserver/ssl_args line in my sage.properties looks like this:
'nielm/webserver/ssl_args=-keystorePass 123456'

This is assuming that I generated my key using all of the defaults as outlined here:
'keytool -genkey -keypass 123456 -storepass 123456'

I too was confused at first, until I realized that I didn't need to include any of the properties that weren't default. Hope this helps.
__________________
-Eric
Client: STX-HD100 Extender, Connected to 47" Visio 1080p LCD via HDMI, Running SageMC
Client: Media MVP Running SageMC
Server: Antec SLK3800B, AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+, Biostar TForce 550, GeForce 7300LE, 1GB DDR2 800, 2 x HVR-1600, PVR-150MCE, 1.4TB HD Space, XP Pro, Java6, Latest SageTV Version
Reply With Quote
  #75  
Old 11-20-2004, 12:50 PM
abasu2003's Avatar
abasu2003 abasu2003 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 551
enormous,

I tried that argument and it didn't work.

Just to make sure I'm doing everything else right, I typed in the keytool command line that you have and pushed enter through all of the questions about my personal information. then in the Sage.Properties file, I added the ssl_args line, also changed use_ssl=true. Am I missing anything else? I'm just trying to get it to work locally at this point

EDIT: I should also mention that the error I'm getting is "Connection is being refused"

Last edited by abasu2003; 11-20-2004 at 12:54 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #76  
Old 11-20-2004, 01:13 PM
gotuitdan gotuitdan is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 105
I'm getting the same error that abasu2003 is getting. I've tried different ports, different keys, different sets of parameters, and the exact default from nielm. Even on the local computer running the Web server, I get the "connection is being refused" error. I'm experimenting with things, but no luck yet.
Reply With Quote
  #77  
Old 11-20-2004, 01:21 PM
fidget's Avatar
fidget fidget is online now
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Posts: 1,173
Quote:
Originally Posted by abasu2003
enormous,

I tried that argument and it didn't work.

Just to make sure I'm doing everything else right, I typed in the keytool command line that you have and pushed enter through all of the questions about my personal information. then in the Sage.Properties file, I added the ssl_args line, also changed use_ssl=true. Am I missing anything else? I'm just trying to get it to work locally at this point

EDIT: I should also mention that the error I'm getting is "Connection is being refused"
IIRC, "Connection is being refused" means that there is no server configured at the destination port. Using 'netstat -a' from a command prompt will dump the local port usage and you should be able to see if something is listening at the desired port.
Reply With Quote
  #78  
Old 11-20-2004, 01:32 PM
abasu2003's Avatar
abasu2003 abasu2003 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 551
So, I went into the logs, and I found that it couldn't find my key. For some reason it was looking for it in a system32 directory. So as one of my arguments, I specified the file (with the right "ajsdf~1" format) and now I have this error in the logs.

Reading request: Unrecognized SSL message, plaintext connection?

The above error actually shows up in the log when I try to access teh unencrypted server. When I access teh encrypted one, I still get the connection refused. I looked at nestat and its not opening the 8443 port for use.

EDIT: When I try to specify -port 8443, none of the ports open up. Is there another port I can use for the SSL? Cna you just randomly pick a number?

Last edited by abasu2003; 11-20-2004 at 01:40 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #79  
Old 11-20-2004, 01:54 PM
gotuitdan gotuitdan is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 105
I've tried 8443 and I've tried setting the port to 8080 (which works without SSL)... No luck yet.
Reply With Quote
  #80  
Old 11-20-2004, 05:08 PM
thatdude90210 thatdude90210 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 385
This is very cool. I did run into that .jar as .zip file thing for a moment though. Works great after realizing that, tested it out by using a dialup modem to get out of my network and was able to schedule a recording from that.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
web


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Plugin: Mobile Web Interface 1.2 jreichen SageTV Customizations 281 06-17-2011 02:20 PM
Can't get Web-based User Interface to install SSBrian SageTV Customizations 3 11-04-2008 08:12 PM
Web User interface link for the metadata file. zzmystique SageTV Customizations 0 06-21-2008 02:26 AM
Idea to enhance the Web User Interface: Messaging jbarr SageTV Customizations 3 05-14-2007 03:59 PM
Linkplayer, Linktheater with SageTV Web User Interface fyodor SageTV Customizations 0 10-08-2006 06:03 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.