SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Linux

Notices

SageTV Linux Discussion related to the SageTV Media Center for Linux. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV Linux should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-13-2018, 06:12 PM
Galaxysurfer Galaxysurfer is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Calgary, AB CANADA
Posts: 270
Setting/ Configuring Sagetv in Linuxmint 18 for newbies

Prerequisites ( make sure these are already installed )

Sagetv server
Sagetv Placeshifter and /or use external Sagetv Clients * used to install plugins & configure settings
Wine * if you want to install Comskip

Once you have gone through the Configuration wizard go to detailed setup to Permissions

Add a user account so that Sagetv will save & retain all your client settings. If you don't have a user account it will run on default administrator aka root account. This also gives you the opportunity to setup individual user accounts with their custom settings for multiple householders. This is handy if you don't want other users deleting your recordings etc. This is where lots of extra HDD space is advantageous.

Adding plugins is easy to do from within Client or Placeshifter. I moved from Windows over so had to adjust to the differences. Using a Windows client has as many features as the windows server. Placeshifter isn't a complete comparable replacement to the windows version. Just make sure you install plugins on both the client & the server.

Commercial detector / Comskip

go into the Detailed setup Customize Comskip playback options once you have installed your plugins - Commercial detector UI , Comskip Playback UI & Commercial detector.

Commercial Detector configure. IF you are using the wine option make sure run comskip natively is false & sagetv is running as root. Now put the name of the user account to run comskip. ( this is the name of the user account you are running linuxmint under not the user account you are using for Sagetv unless they are the same name. ) This will point Sagetv to execute wine as a user ( linuxmint account) from within home rather than root admin. This may need adjustments if you are running multiple user accounts.
* I am not sure what needs adjusting in that case scenario since I am not using multiple user accounts. ( if it is needed)
* not sure if this is necessary but in wine configuration I added comskip.exe & comskipGui.exe under add applications.

Client settings can be cut & pasted into sageclient.properties file so they match your old setup if transferring from windows setup along with the wiz.bin & sage.properties by going to /opt/sagetv/server & replacing out installed ones.

I hope this helps someone not have to go through my trial & errors to get setup successfully running. Happy viewing!

Last edited by Galaxysurfer; 02-13-2018 at 06:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-25-2018, 02:26 PM
tomatodave's Avatar
tomatodave tomatodave is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Central, Illinois
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galaxysurfer View Post
Prerequisites ( make sure these are already installed )

Sagetv server
Sagetv Placeshifter and /or use external Sagetv Clients * used to install plugins & configure settings
Wine * if you want to install Comskip

Once you have gone through the Configuration wizard go to detailed setup to Permissions

Add a user account so that Sagetv will save & retain all your client settings. If you don't have a user account it will run on default administrator aka root account. This also gives you the opportunity to setup individual user accounts with their custom settings for multiple householders. This is handy if you don't want other users deleting your recordings etc. This is where lots of extra HDD space is advantageous.

Adding plugins is easy to do from within Client or Placeshifter. I moved from Windows over so had to adjust to the differences. Using a Windows client has as many features as the windows server. Placeshifter isn't a complete comparable replacement to the windows version. Just make sure you install plugins on both the client & the server.

Commercial detector / Comskip

go into the Detailed setup Customize Comskip playback options once you have installed your plugins - Commercial detector UI , Comskip Playback UI & Commercial detector.

Commercial Detector configure. IF you are using the wine option make sure run comskip natively is false & sagetv is running as root. Now put the name of the user account to run comskip. ( this is the name of the user account you are running linuxmint under not the user account you are using for Sagetv unless they are the same name. ) This will point Sagetv to execute wine as a user ( linuxmint account) from within home rather than root admin. This may need adjustments if you are running multiple user accounts.
* I am not sure what needs adjusting in that case scenario since I am not using multiple user accounts. ( if it is needed)
* not sure if this is necessary but in wine configuration I added comskip.exe & comskipGui.exe under add applications.

Client settings can be cut & pasted into sageclient.properties file so they match your old setup if transferring from windows setup along with the wiz.bin & sage.properties by going to /opt/sagetv/server & replacing out installed ones.

I hope this helps someone not have to go through my trial & errors to get setup successfully running. Happy viewing!


Thank you soooo much.

This has solved most of my issues.
Comskip is working now.

I was suspecting that it was a permissions issue, but didn't know where to start.

I have been tinkering with this off and on for quite some time.....but I am learning every step of the way.

My goal is to have a linux server running in a VM.
I have a Windows 10 server running that works very well except for the occasional out of memory errors, so I have Sage working while I tinker with linux.

again thank you very much
__________________
8 gig ram windows 10 64 bit, sage V9.2.0.441 64 bit running in a VM on a ESXI 6.0 host - Xeon 1246 E3 - 32 GB ram, 2 TB recording drive with the controller passed through and 5 TB recording drive spave in a Freenas server, 1 silicon dust HDHR DUO and 1 Quatro for 6 OTA tuners, 1 HDHR Prime for 3 cable tuners, 2 BM1000-HDMI network encoders for cableboxes, 2 Placeshifters, 3 extenders, 1client
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems configuring SageTV rerooks SageTV for unRAID/Docker 5 12-16-2017 11:03 PM
Sagetv docker on LinuxMint Galaxysurfer SageTV for unRAID/Docker 12 06-26-2017 01:47 PM
DVB-S Setup for newbies Kiwi_Tim SageTV Australia/New Zealand 10 04-02-2011 04:32 PM
SageTV HOWTO for Dummies and Newbies bling_bling_vr6 General Discussion 0 07-20-2006 12:09 AM
FYI: To other newbies..........Ram is everything Fluffdaddy SageTV Customizations 7 03-07-2005 03:11 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.