SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV BETA Release Products > SageTV Beta Test Software

Notices

SageTV Beta Test Software Discussion related to BETA Releases of the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. regarding SageTV Beta Releases should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-13-2010, 07:14 AM
Carlton Bale Carlton Bale is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Posts: 120
WHS Uninstall Errors - Sage 7 (uninstaller does not disable service?)

I've installed several versions of SageTV 7 (16-20) for Windows Home Server and have had multiple uninstall failures. All installs/uninstalls are all through the WHS console.

After I uninstall, I get a prompt to reboot, click reboot, then I immediately receive an error saying that uninstall failed. After the reboot completes, I then have the old add-ins listed in the WHS console (v 7.0.16, v 7.018 in my case) and they can not be uninstalled. When I attempt to uninstall, I receive the error message "uninstallation failed". It is impossible to removed these add-ins without following this manual process.

This only happens when I don't stop the service first. It appears that the WHS console uninstall does not attempt to stop the service prior to performing the uninstall. This is something the user shouldn't have to do, especially in a "controlled" environment such as the WHS console.

Last edited by Carlton Bale; 10-13-2010 at 09:32 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-13-2010, 09:08 AM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
From the WHS console STOP the SageTV service first. THEN do your uninstall/install thru the Add-Ins. I'm done this all thru the v7 betas without an issue and was never asked to reboot the server. And it shouldn't ask for a reboot of the server-just a restart of the WHS console. There's a utility out there that you may need to use to clear out any other Sage installs that show up in the control panel of your WHS. After that you shouldn't have any issues.

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-13-2010, 09:31 AM
Carlton Bale Carlton Bale is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Posts: 120
Thanks for the confirmation that not stopping the service is the cause. (There is a link to instructions showing how to remove the old add-ins in the original post.)

Stopping the service first shouldn't be required. It's not intuitive for a user to have to do this. The uninstaller should take care of this. It's as simple as issuing a "net stop SageTV" command as part of the uninstall.

Stopping the service isn't hard, but it also isn't intuitive and users can forget, especially new users. Preventing this problem is simple, and it would be great if the uninstaller eliminated the potential for human error.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-13-2010, 12:16 PM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
Then go ahead and file a bug report to let the developers know. I don't know if it suppose to work any different because I have always stopped the service when working or making changes in Sage. Maybe it's broke or it can be taken as a suggestion.

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-13-2010, 06:10 PM
zenkaizen zenkaizen is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 27
I had this issue as well.

I stopped the service, THEN tried to uninstall the beta but it failed, so far I haven't found a way to remove it. I just installed 6.6.2 and it seems to be working fine.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-13-2010, 06:12 PM
SprDtyF350 SprDtyF350 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Southern Maryland
Posts: 436
I have done it both ways with no issue. I just go into the console and uninstall the previous Sage. I then install the new Sage. Everything stops and starts just like it is supposed to for me.. I have also stopped Sage from the console but never seemed to make a difference. Has worked both ways..
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-13-2010, 08:12 PM
briands briands is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Bloomington, IN
Posts: 1,093
I had a similar issue on the latest few betas. I stop the service through the Sage tab on the console (confirmed through task manager), then select the latest add-in to install. It get's to a point indicating that "this application must be stopped before continuing" , Retry, ignore, cancel. Selecting Ignore has seemed to work without apparent problems.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Public Service Announcement: WHS gives a false sense of security for Sage purposes btrcp2000 General Discussion 23 10-02-2010 06:59 AM
Problem with uninstall of SageTV on WHS system jack_leach SageTV Software 9 07-15-2009 04:19 PM
SageTV 6.5 Service Errors mdnttoker SageTV Software 0 02-04-2009 10:25 PM
Disable or uninstall MCE in Vista? visiontim General Discussion 9 12-29-2007 09:28 PM
Sage non-functional- cannot start, kill, or disable service btrcp2000 SageTV Software 1 10-27-2007 12:11 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.