SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-16-2012, 12:58 PM
BigMac BigMac is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: California San Jose
Posts: 39
SH id vs EP id Recording options

Is there a favorite option to not record shows with the SH id?

I have a situation and want to know if anyone else has solved this problem. My daughter is now old enough to watch and enjoy shows like Sponge Bob and old Three Stooges (only with me present to ensure parental guidance, that's what I tell my wife and I'm sticking to it). The problem is that the majority of these shows have the status of rerun but I only want to record shows that have the ShowID EP#### and NOT the SH### ID shows.

I had First&Rerun for SpongeBob just to capture as many episodes as I could but recently changed that to First Runs Only and then deleted (by hand) all those episodes with ShowID of SH3077660000 keeping only the EP IDs.

Just to keep the tuner conflicts down I've gone ahead and and "looked" ahead and marked future SpongeBob's with SH ids as watched. As time gets nearer to airtime they sometimes change the SH id to an EP id and SageTV records or doesn't depending on whether we already recorded it.


BTW: Been using SageTV since late 2002. My daughter is now 8 and looks incredulous at other kids in her class that can't watch their favorite cartoons at any time she (we) want.
__________________
Headless Server: SageTV V7.1.9.256, Homeseer3, HSTouch, Win 7 Pro (64Bit) Intel i3 3.30Ghz, 4G Ram, 8Tbyes,
2 HDHomeRun Primes/SageDCT 2.7.2 and 1 HDPVR (Total of 7 tuners), Intel 1Gb Nic
Client1: Win7 Pro (64bit), Q9450, 2G Ram, 700G of storage, MS DTV-DVD Decoder, ffdshow Video Decoder, Ac3Filter, EVR, LG HD DVD R/W, EN8600GT to HP 50" Plasma
Client2: Win7 Pro (64bit), Intel Quad Q9650 3.00GHz, 8G Ram, Test/Work/Gaming system.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-16-2012, 02:14 PM
Slugger Slugger is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kingston, ON
Posts: 4,008
Add a keyword to the favourite:

"EP\d+" (include the quotes)

That will prevent a fav from recording unknown (SH*) episodes.
__________________
Twitter: @ddb_db
Server: Intel i5-4570 Quad Core, 16GB RAM, 1 x 128GB OS SSD (Win7 Pro x64 SP1), 1 x 2TB media drive
Capture: 2 x Colossus
STB Controller: 1 x USB-UIRT
Software:Java 1.7.0_71; SageTV 7.1.9
Clients: 1 x HD300, 2 x HD200, 1 x SageClient, 1 x PlaceShifter
Plugins: Too many to list now...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-17-2012, 06:50 AM
mundale2530 mundale2530 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 8
It works for me by adding the keyword EP* to the favorite.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-17-2012, 08:51 AM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,709
Quote:
Originally Posted by mundale2530 View Post
It works for me by adding the keyword EP* to the favorite.
I believe this will record anything that has EP in it not necessarily Id's beginning with EP. The way slugger indicated it will not record anything with EP followed by a number.

In your case it will record anything with EP even if it is a letter or Number. So if you have an Episode that begins with SH and the letters EP are any where in the description etc... it will record it.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-17-2012, 11:12 AM
BigMac BigMac is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: California San Jose
Posts: 39
Thanks for the replies but adding "EP\d+" did not work nor "EP*".

As a simple test I looked at the ShowID of upcoming shows that has both EP and SH ShowIDs and entered a favorite keyword with a known EP ID (EP7753700162) in both qoutes and without quotes, making sure to set the Search All Fields. Clicking on the Additional Airings button for this favorite gives me a "No airings or videos were found" message.

This leads me to think that the ShowID field isn't one of those keywords that SageTV interrogates.

If one of you guys can do a simple keyword favorite with just the EP###### of a known show in your program and let me know the results I would greatly appreciate it.
__________________
Headless Server: SageTV V7.1.9.256, Homeseer3, HSTouch, Win 7 Pro (64Bit) Intel i3 3.30Ghz, 4G Ram, 8Tbyes,
2 HDHomeRun Primes/SageDCT 2.7.2 and 1 HDPVR (Total of 7 tuners), Intel 1Gb Nic
Client1: Win7 Pro (64bit), Q9450, 2G Ram, 700G of storage, MS DTV-DVD Decoder, ffdshow Video Decoder, Ac3Filter, EVR, LG HD DVD R/W, EN8600GT to HP 50" Plasma
Client2: Win7 Pro (64bit), Intel Quad Q9650 3.00GHz, 8G Ram, Test/Work/Gaming system.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-17-2012, 01:14 PM
Slugger Slugger is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kingston, ON
Posts: 4,008
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigMac View Post
If one of you guys can do a simple keyword favorite with just the EP###### of a known show in your program and let me know the results I would greatly appreciate it.
Seems to work for me, which is good because I use this trick on a lot of my syndicated favs to ensure I only record known episodes and only record them once.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg sjq4_42.jpg (80.0 KB, 195 views)
__________________
Twitter: @ddb_db
Server: Intel i5-4570 Quad Core, 16GB RAM, 1 x 128GB OS SSD (Win7 Pro x64 SP1), 1 x 2TB media drive
Capture: 2 x Colossus
STB Controller: 1 x USB-UIRT
Software:Java 1.7.0_71; SageTV 7.1.9
Clients: 1 x HD300, 2 x HD200, 1 x SageClient, 1 x PlaceShifter
Plugins: Too many to list now...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-17-2012, 02:49 PM
mundale2530 mundale2530 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
I believe this will record anything that has EP in it not necessarily Id's beginning with EP. The way slugger indicated it will not record anything with EP followed by a number.

In your case it will record anything with EP even if it is a letter or Number. So if you have an Episode that begins with SH and the letters EP are any where in the description etc... it will record it.
I'll have to check this out later tonight. I've been doing it this way for a while with 6 shows or so (all kids shows from Nick and Disney) and haven't had one record with a SH Id yet. Everything you stated makes sense though. Maybe I'm just lucky.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-17-2012, 04:08 PM
BigMac BigMac is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: California San Jose
Posts: 39
Thanks for the verification. For some reason it doesn't work on my machine. Are you running Sage as a service and/or in any type of compatibility mode?

I'm running 6.6.2.218 version but a search thru the forum indicates others have tried and succeeded even before this version.
__________________
Headless Server: SageTV V7.1.9.256, Homeseer3, HSTouch, Win 7 Pro (64Bit) Intel i3 3.30Ghz, 4G Ram, 8Tbyes,
2 HDHomeRun Primes/SageDCT 2.7.2 and 1 HDPVR (Total of 7 tuners), Intel 1Gb Nic
Client1: Win7 Pro (64bit), Q9450, 2G Ram, 700G of storage, MS DTV-DVD Decoder, ffdshow Video Decoder, Ac3Filter, EVR, LG HD DVD R/W, EN8600GT to HP 50" Plasma
Client2: Win7 Pro (64bit), Intel Quad Q9650 3.00GHz, 8G Ram, Test/Work/Gaming system.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-17-2012, 04:29 PM
Slugger Slugger is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kingston, ON
Posts: 4,008
I run as a service, but that's irrelevant (or at least is should be). The major difference is I'm running 7.1.9. Who knows? There may be a bug in the version of v6 you're running. All I can say is that it works in v7.1.9.
__________________
Twitter: @ddb_db
Server: Intel i5-4570 Quad Core, 16GB RAM, 1 x 128GB OS SSD (Win7 Pro x64 SP1), 1 x 2TB media drive
Capture: 2 x Colossus
STB Controller: 1 x USB-UIRT
Software:Java 1.7.0_71; SageTV 7.1.9
Clients: 1 x HD300, 2 x HD200, 1 x SageClient, 1 x PlaceShifter
Plugins: Too many to list now...
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-18-2012, 08:03 AM
mundale2530 mundale2530 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
I believe this will record anything that has EP in it not necessarily Id's beginning with EP. The way slugger indicated it will not record anything with EP followed by a number.

In your case it will record anything with EP even if it is a letter or Number. So if you have an Episode that begins with SH and the letters EP are any where in the description etc... it will record it.
That sounds right. I currently only have two favorites showing upcoming airings with SH id's. Neither includes EP anywhere in the generic desricption that is included....so my solution is only working because I'm lucky.

I did change the keyword on one of the favorites to Slugger's EP\d+ and it only picks up episodes with an EP id. I have not included qoutes on any of the keywords yet. I forgot to test it with the quotes...What do the quotes do? Without the quotes am I just lucky still.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10-18-2012, 10:17 AM
Slugger Slugger is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kingston, ON
Posts: 4,008
I thought I remembered reading somewhere at some point that the quotes were necessary for Sage to recognize the string as a regular expression. But if it's working without the quotes then you should be fine. If that string were being treated literal then you would never match anything, unless a description, title, episode, etc. had the literal characters "EP\d+" somewhere, which no show ever would, presumably. The fact that it still matches airings without the quotes means Sage is still treating it as a regular expression.
__________________
Twitter: @ddb_db
Server: Intel i5-4570 Quad Core, 16GB RAM, 1 x 128GB OS SSD (Win7 Pro x64 SP1), 1 x 2TB media drive
Capture: 2 x Colossus
STB Controller: 1 x USB-UIRT
Software:Java 1.7.0_71; SageTV 7.1.9
Clients: 1 x HD300, 2 x HD200, 1 x SageClient, 1 x PlaceShifter
Plugins: Too many to list now...
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-18-2012, 03:34 PM
BigMac BigMac is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: California San Jose
Posts: 39
Problem Solved!!

Migrated back to Java 6. Didn't help. Migrated to V7 and this didn't solve it. I've been running the SageTV server in XP compatibility mode (to ensure STV updates). I turned off compatibity mode, restarted SageTV and the EP\d+ stuff now works.

BTW: V7 looks much nicer but I think I've turned into my father. You know, Change Is Bad! I could easily go back to V6 but I think I'll stay and embrace change. I've upgraded one client in my office and I better get the HTPC up and ruuning before the wife and daughter get home.

One more thing. Love that you can take an existing (title) favorite and add a keyword, something lacking in V6.
__________________
Headless Server: SageTV V7.1.9.256, Homeseer3, HSTouch, Win 7 Pro (64Bit) Intel i3 3.30Ghz, 4G Ram, 8Tbyes,
2 HDHomeRun Primes/SageDCT 2.7.2 and 1 HDPVR (Total of 7 tuners), Intel 1Gb Nic
Client1: Win7 Pro (64bit), Q9450, 2G Ram, 700G of storage, MS DTV-DVD Decoder, ffdshow Video Decoder, Ac3Filter, EVR, LG HD DVD R/W, EN8600GT to HP 50" Plasma
Client2: Win7 Pro (64bit), Intel Quad Q9650 3.00GHz, 8G Ram, Test/Work/Gaming system.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Recording options rnadeau Phoenix 0 09-27-2011 03:55 PM
Explain recording options, Please airmech737 SageTV Software 2 07-13-2008 01:34 PM
Recording options –A little confusing FreeBSD4me SageTV Software 26 11-04-2004 02:41 PM
Intelligent Recording Options Possible? McTurok SageTV Customizations 3 07-19-2004 05:48 PM
Intelligent Recording Options Crowdx42 SageTV Beta Test Software 1 03-16-2004 02:28 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.