SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-21-2016, 12:08 AM
Stu Gare Stu Gare is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Cambridge UK
Posts: 49
Server Migration Checklist

Have ordered a new pc/server to act as SageTV server and wanted to find out
what steps I need to cover to migrate from my really old v7 server, so creating a checklist

New Install v9 (w10)
-How can I keep all my tuner configs?
-How can I move all my tv recordings to new pc?

Install Digiguide
Install DG2XML
Install Stephane importer
-How can I keep all my channel mappings?

Install macrium reflect
Install defraggler

Have to admit it's the thought of reconfiguring
the tuners and epg that has me a little worried.

Any advice appreciated.
__________________
1 SageTV Server (v9) ,
3 HD300,
2HD200,
HD-HOMERUN CONNECT(2xDVB-T2)x2,
1 HD-PVR2 (Gaming Edition)/SKY HD,
QNAP NAS
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-21-2016, 04:44 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Are you dead set on windows 10? I'm asking, because the linux server may be better suited to running that many extenders, and unRAID makes management a LOT easier.

Also, by the time you get ready to do this, schedules direct support may be built into the core, meaning you'll have a much easier time with guide data than the DG->XML->importer pathway.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-21-2016, 05:35 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,851
+1 on what Fuzzy said.

Save a copy of the wiz.bin. That's where all of your Favorites are stored and where info about the recordings are stored.

There isn't a good way to save the tuner config and channel mappings, you'll have to redo that.

Once the tuners are setup, stop Sage, copy the old wiz.bin into the install directory, and restart Sage. That will restore all of your recordings.

If you use extenders you may want to save the .properties files for them. By doing that many (but not all) of the UI customizations you have made will be saved.
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-21-2016, 05:54 AM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is online now
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,177
Import/Export Channel Lineup Plugin?

This plugin has helped me in the past:

https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=50378
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i7-7700T CPU, 32GB Memory, unRAID 6.9.2, SageTV & OpenDCT Dockers
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders, Multiple Fire TV Stick 4K w/MiniClient
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-21-2016, 11:59 AM
Stu Gare Stu Gare is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Cambridge UK
Posts: 49
Thanks all for the pointers.
I have quite a few hd300s but the kids don't use them very much
as they use other online sources. My only concerns with Linux are getting all the devices working , HD pvr , USB uirt etc , Linux skills limited compared to windows.
Thanks for the tip on backing up the client config! Thanks also for the plugin recommendation seems it will save me some effort!

Will start the install in parallel to running the old v7 server so it's not too disruptive.
__________________
1 SageTV Server (v9) ,
3 HD300,
2HD200,
HD-HOMERUN CONNECT(2xDVB-T2)x2,
1 HD-PVR2 (Gaming Edition)/SKY HD,
QNAP NAS
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Server Migration question panteragstk Hardware Support 10 09-26-2011 04:11 PM
Migration from Sage Server 6.X to 7.x - wiz.bin and properties files? Savage1701 SageTV Software 5 11-29-2010 10:17 AM
New server build - migration steps tsitalon1 The SageTV Community 3 01-02-2009 08:05 PM
Server Migration (v6) ShadoWolf SageTV Software 4 01-19-2008 10:39 PM
Server migration -- no EPG Grasshopper SageTV EPG Service 4 01-06-2006 01:07 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.