SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #301  
Old 01-07-2022, 06:48 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,678
I just realized ENE (the Original Poster) developed this and had it working almost 6 years ago. I'm one of the 'late adopters' apparently.
Reply With Quote
  #302  
Old 01-08-2022, 08:08 AM
TGsell TGsell is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Glen Head
Posts: 103
Thanks for the information - I might give it a try.
Reply With Quote
  #303  
Old 01-17-2022, 05:10 PM
TGsell TGsell is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Glen Head
Posts: 103
URay encoder working great!

Thanks to all on this thread especially KryptoNote, i picked up one of the single channel Uray encoders on Amazon - configured using OpenDCT and the advice on this thread and I have to say the quality is pretty amazing. vs my HDPVRs ...
Also, for tuning since I was already set up with tuning multiple WMC boxes, I just copied the tuning over to the new URay 'video source' and it works perfectly. I will try to add the STOP command later tonight.

Now I am tempted to buy another and replace both HDPVRs but will wait it out a bit to make sure this isnt premature. On my Andriod miniclients (FireStick 4ks) I did have to play around a bit and use IJK, however it works. Thanks again - just when I thought I was done improving the system... it never ends....
Reply With Quote
  #304  
Old 01-17-2022, 06:25 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,401
The other advantage of this is that it should also work to capture 4K content, or at least a 4K version of the Uray will.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #305  
Old 01-17-2022, 07:16 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,678
Quote:
Originally Posted by TGsell View Post
Thanks to all on this thread especially KryptoNote ...
For the record, EnterNoEscape is the guy you want to thank. I'm just a user. He made this possible.
Reply With Quote
  #306  
Old 01-17-2022, 07:36 PM
TGsell TGsell is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Glen Head
Posts: 103
Thanks EnterNoEscape! terrific additions to an already powerful product.
Reply With Quote
  #307  
Old 01-19-2022, 11:01 AM
TGsell TGsell is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Glen Head
Posts: 103
URay update

Just ordered another one (single input URay) (I should have ordered the 4 input but lacked confidence...). Tuning is just about instant. Stop feature is perfect. Will tweak video settings eventually but started with KrytoNyte's (eg 12000 bitrate, etc) and quality is superb - especially on HD300 and 55" OLED but Firesticks are working perfectly too. I am hoping that when I am running two encoders that they are reliable (as SDSEAN reported there might be an occasional hiccup) . ANy suggestions on the HDPVR2s other than EBay?
Also -- I am using the RawSageTVConsumerImpl decode whereas others have reported the DynamicConsumerImpl .... not exactly sure why but will tweak that as well. thanks all for trying this early - hope others can benefit...
Reply With Quote
  #308  
Old 01-19-2022, 09:30 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,678
Quote:
Originally Posted by TGsell View Post
Just ordered another one (single input URay) (I should have ordered the 4 input but lacked confidence...).
I worry a little about spending so much on one device with 4 tuners. Any small hardware failure and you lose all 4 tuners/encoders. I don't think it's such a bad idea to ramp up your system one single-tuner at a time.

Glad you got it working ... including the STOP command which turns out to be big on stability.
Reply With Quote
  #309  
Old 04-10-2022, 07:33 AM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,678
Just wanted to follow up on the 4-tuner device:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07TKMPCZH/

It's been the most stable, smooth solution I've found at this point (using WMC Live Tuners via Xbox360's), vs. any of the Hauppauge products (HDPVR, Colossus, HDPVR2). Once in a while I miss the 5.1 channel audio, but 98% of the time I'm watching TV now on a system with TV speakers only, so it doesn't much matter. The only glitches usually have to do with one of the Xbox360's getting disco'd from the WMC7 server somehow, and not being able to auto reconnect without a complete system reboot.

The other great option is to build your system one tuner at a time like TGsell, if you didn't want to drop the bank on the 4-tuner unit.
Reply With Quote
  #310  
Old 04-10-2022, 01:16 PM
TGsell TGsell is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Glen Head
Posts: 103
Completely agree -- had I know how good the 'single' would work I would have sprung for the quad. Terrfic compatability with Sage via OPEN DCT, WmcLive Tuner and has a host of settings for optimization. One question KryptoNyte; do why do you need the Xboxs? My setup is MiniPC running WMC --> URay encoder and I do not need to strip HDCP (which can be done easily for $15 anyway)
Reply With Quote
  #311  
Old 04-10-2022, 01:30 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,678
The Xbox360's are network connected media extenders for WMC7 (similar to an HD300 for Sage). (4) of those currently provide the image and audio (via HDMI cables only) to the 4-tuner encoder. So my SageTV system consists of a Win7 PC running both Sage and WMC7 using a 6-tuner Ceton pcie tuner, (4) Xbox360 [extenders] on the same network as the SageTV PC, and the 4-tuner encoder device - that's it. Oh, and there is a tuning adapter plugged into the Win7 PC via USB to help the cablecard with the little amount of SDV channels from the cable service (not even sure there are any SDV channels right now).

When I dismantled all my HDPVR2's, I was amazed at how many cords I removed from the overall SageTV system.
Reply With Quote
  #312  
Old 04-10-2022, 06:47 PM
TGsell TGsell is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Glen Head
Posts: 103
Thats a nice setup. Comparing the investment in Xboxs vs MiniPCs running WMC, it's likely a lot cheaper especially if you are tuning (4) cable cards as you are. I don't often need to record more than 2 cable channels at the same time (My OTA is perfect) , so it works for me and it probably as stable as the Xboxs or nearly the same. I probably go a month without any kind of reboot.... it's acceptable.
Reply With Quote
  #313  
Old 04-10-2022, 06:55 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,678
Yeah, it's just the one cable card with 6 tuners. The investment is substantial up front (well okay, the Xbox360's were cheap used on Ebay), but it's just a one time cost, unlike the recurring costs of set-top-boxes and cable company DVR fees.

It sounds like you have your system dialed in well, nice work!
Reply With Quote
  #314  
Old 04-17-2022, 11:21 AM
Melancholy Man Melancholy Man is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Tan Valley, AZ
Posts: 14
IPTV configuration

Can someone point me to a post that explains and shows how to configure Sage to work with this encoder box? Kind of confused to how Sage captures an IP stream to record it.

Thank you,

Dan
Reply With Quote
  #315  
Old 04-17-2022, 11:36 AM
peternm22 peternm22 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 699
Quote:
Originally Posted by Melancholy Man View Post
Can someone point me to a post that explains and shows how to configure Sage to work with this encoder box?
I believe this is thread has the instructions: https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=63823
Reply With Quote
  #316  
Old 04-17-2022, 06:14 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,678
These are the instructions that I used:

https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=63855

I'm not sure how it differs from the "generic pipe" but I believe it was intended for use with these specific network encoders.
Reply With Quote
  #317  
Old 04-18-2022, 06:08 PM
TGsell TGsell is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Glen Head
Posts: 103
That link should get him there - OpenDCT is the key and once it's recognized there, one will be able to add it as a source on Sage. The final key is in the OPENDCT properties for that specific device. The first one is relatively easy, adding additional encoders takes a little more time but it's logical.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
5.1 and HDMI tvmaster2 SageTV Media Extender 6 05-31-2013 03:32 AM
HD PVR-2?????? HDMI IN wikel Hardware Support 3 11-14-2012 01:52 PM
WHDI review (Wireless HDMI) mayamaniac General Discussion 11 11-07-2010 01:14 PM
I'm not getting AC3 over HDMI??? autoboy SageTV Media Extender 6 02-24-2008 08:35 PM
Can STV Do TV-Off Via HDMI/DVI? infocus13 SageTV Software 3 09-13-2007 08:38 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.