SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV v9 Customizations

Notices

SageTV v9 Customizations This forums is for discussing and sharing user-created modifications for the SageTV version 9 application created by using the SageTV Studio or through the use of external plugins. Use this forum to discuss plugins for SageTV version 9 and newer.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-15-2022, 03:17 PM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Strathmore, AB
Posts: 2,615
miSageTV - modern interface for SageTV

This will be the forum for the work I am doing on a new Web Interface for SageTV that uses the updated Jetty Server version 9.
__________________
If you wish to see what I am up to and support my efforts visit my Patreon page
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-15-2022, 03:24 PM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Strathmore, AB
Posts: 2,615
miSageTV teaser

Here is what I have so far - much, much more work to do.

Most of the items in the menu are placeholders except for the Setup where I have been working at building the interface to enable configuring SageTV from miSageTV.

Desktop browser - light mode



Desktop browser - dark mode



Mobile browser - light mode



Mobile browser - dark mode

Attached Images
File Type: png teaserDesktopDark-large.png (131.4 KB, 351 views)
File Type: png teaserDesktopLight-large.png (141.1 KB, 343 views)
File Type: jpg MobileLight-large.jpg (89.2 KB, 338 views)
File Type: jpg MobileDark-large.jpg (127.7 KB, 352 views)
__________________
If you wish to see what I am up to and support my efforts visit my Patreon page
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-15-2022, 03:27 PM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Strathmore, AB
Posts: 2,615
As info the foundation supports many features including installing miSageTV as a PWA application on desktops and most mobile devices giving you an icon to launch it from.

The settings can be sorted and search (by name, key or value).

Much more to come.

K
__________________
If you wish to see what I am up to and support my efforts visit my Patreon page
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-15-2022, 04:06 PM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is online now
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,331
This looks like it is going to be awesome! One question, though - probably stupid. In your example above, where are these settings being retrieved from? The Sage.properties file, or somewhere else?
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i7-7700T CPU, 32GB Memory, Unraid 6.10.3, sagetvopen-sagetv-server-opendct-java11 Docker (version 2.0.6)
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, SiliconDust HDHomeRun CONNECT 4K OTA Tuner
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders, Multiple Fire TV Stick 4K Max w/MiniClient
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls

Last edited by KeithAbbott; 02-15-2022 at 04:10 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-15-2022, 04:20 PM
jt4242 jt4242 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 181
Looks amazing!!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-15-2022, 04:52 PM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Strathmore, AB
Posts: 2,615
Quote:
Originally Posted by KeithAbbott View Post
This looks like it is going to be awesome! One question, though - probably stupid. In your example above, where are these settings being retrieved from? The Sage.properties file, or somewhere else?
Sage properties file. miSagetv will use existing backend services like sagex to work directly with you Ssgetv server that is running Jetty.

I still need to reverse engineer all the Setup screens in Sagetv to ensure all the properties and settings are included. The ones I included were just to test the interface during development.

K
__________________
If you wish to see what I am up to and support my efforts visit my Patreon page
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-15-2022, 06:15 PM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is online now
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,331
Quote:
Originally Posted by jusjoken View Post
Sage properties file. miSagetv will use existing backend services like sagex to work directly with you Ssgetv server that is running Jetty.

I still need to reverse engineer all the Setup screens in Sagetv to ensure all the properties and settings are included. The ones I included were just to test the interface during development.

K
OK, thanks! Seeing as how your menu is laid out similar to the SageTV layout, any chance playback of recordings, etc. could be supported via browser?
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i7-7700T CPU, 32GB Memory, Unraid 6.10.3, sagetvopen-sagetv-server-opendct-java11 Docker (version 2.0.6)
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, SiliconDust HDHomeRun CONNECT 4K OTA Tuner
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders, Multiple Fire TV Stick 4K Max w/MiniClient
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-15-2022, 06:45 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,678
That is absolutely fantastic. Been hoping someone would do this for a long time.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-15-2022, 07:54 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,401
Looks awesome!

One suggestion to add, although it should be lower on the priority list, is functionality to allow more control of Extenders, other miniclients and full clients. For example, be able to turn Extenders on and off, provide more info about playback on the extenders, and the ability to copy settings over from extender A to extender B. I don't know if this is possible with Android TV as well, but if you can turn the ATV device on and run the SageTV app via an API then it should be possible to do.,
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-15-2022, 08:40 PM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Strathmore, AB
Posts: 2,615
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
Looks awesome!

One suggestion to add, although it should be lower on the priority list, is functionality to allow more control of Extenders, other miniclients and full clients. For example, be able to turn Extenders on and off, provide more info about playback on the extenders, and the ability to copy settings over from extender A to extender B. I don't know if this is possible with Android TV as well, but if you can turn the ATV device on and run the SageTV app via an API then it should be possible to do.,
I have started myself a wishlist and added these suggestions
__________________
If you wish to see what I am up to and support my efforts visit my Patreon page
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-15-2022, 08:44 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,401
Awesome - one other thing that I have noticed is that I don't think that the web remote has a button for Options. Can you please add that?
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-15-2022, 08:50 PM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Strathmore, AB
Posts: 2,615
Quote:
Originally Posted by KeithAbbott View Post
OK, thanks! Seeing as how your menu is laid out similar to the SageTV layout, any chance playback of recordings, etc. could be supported via browser?
Menu: all those entries are placeholders right now and likely will change. My plans is to keep the default similar to SageTV for user familiarity...BUT, I think the menus will be dynamic and user customizable...hide items you don't use. Add ones to a higher level you use all the time, etc.

Playback: definitely on the list of functions I want to deliver. I have some ideas to make it work but have not experimented yet but it is a goal. Likely will have to have some user options to make it work on various devices with a variety of media but should be a core part of miSageTV.

You didn't ask but Fanart/Metadata: optional but also a key part if users want it on. I see simple list views of media as the default but optional Fanart based views available too. The core behind this will be Phoenix core which BMT and Gemstone use and I plan to build in all the fanart/metadata management functions within miSageTV (so BMT will not be needed once that part is complete). Again, this will be optional so those that just want clean and simple will not need to manage fanart and metadata...and if only the metadata is wanted then Fanart can be turned off separately (requires a change to Phoenix core but should not be too complex)

Keep the suggestions and questions coming.

K
__________________
If you wish to see what I am up to and support my efforts visit my Patreon page
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-15-2022, 08:51 PM
willieb willieb is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 173
Looks awesome!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-15-2022, 08:51 PM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Strathmore, AB
Posts: 2,615
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
Awesome - one other thing that I have noticed is that I don't think that the web remote has a button for Options. Can you please add that?
As this is ALL NEW, I will need to build a Web Remote...and will add the options button. (on the list now).

K
__________________
If you wish to see what I am up to and support my efforts visit my Patreon page
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-15-2022, 08:56 PM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Strathmore, AB
Posts: 2,615
One more example with the setting editor open...

Attached Images
File Type: png teaserDesktopDarkwithEditor-large.png (187.2 KB, 319 views)
__________________
If you wish to see what I am up to and support my efforts visit my Patreon page
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-15-2022, 10:01 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,401
You probably have this, but it would be nice to do all of the Setup functions that can be done via the Sage UI Setup screens. The thing that I wish was in the current web UI is Setup Video Sources, especially the ability to enable/disable channels.

The channels functionality is in BMT but it appears to break if you have more than one lineup - I have both an OTA lineup and a cable lineup.

It would also be nice to be able to more easily manage the logical channel numbers when you have a channel that appears in the guide in multiple places. For example, CBLTDT is channels 5 and 514 on my cable lineup and channel 5-1 on my OTA lineup. Right now you kind of have to futz around a bit to figure out how to have it display in the spot that you want.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-15-2022, 10:28 PM
jpwegas jpwegas is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 496
Looks great!

--John
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-15-2022, 10:31 PM
jpwegas jpwegas is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 496
Just curious, is this a Java plugin running in Sage itself, or some "external" service which is using the sagex web APIs?

--John
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02-15-2022, 10:37 PM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Strathmore, AB
Posts: 2,615
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpwegas View Post
Just curious, is this a Java plugin running in Sage itself, or some "external" service which is using the sagex web APIs?

--John
It will be a SageTV plugin using the new Jetty server.

K
__________________
If you wish to see what I am up to and support my efforts visit my Patreon page
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 02-15-2022, 10:42 PM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Strathmore, AB
Posts: 2,615
Just to add for the curious.. I am using a framework called Vaadin that allows you to build the interfaces completely in Java. It also supports using Javascript and works great on Java 8, 11 and 16 so should be supportable for some time.

K
__________________
If you wish to see what I am up to and support my efforts visit my Patreon page
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing SageTV v7.1.9 on Modern Hardware keefb Hardware Support 0 01-06-2014 10:56 AM
Anyone here have personal experience with modern 3D DLP TVs? mkanet Hardware Support 24 10-21-2011 03:23 PM
SageTV Web Interface (BMT) micjgeoghegan Batch Metadata Tools 1 12-29-2010 03:49 PM
Finally joining the modern HDTV world (just in time for prices to drop?) Opus4 The SageTV Community 6 10-13-2008 02:38 PM
Lack of PCI slots on modern boards eehtpc Hardware Support 11 11-11-2007 11:45 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.