SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-04-2015, 09:31 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,578
Changing tuner method - can this be done without deleting source?

I want to change the tuning method on one of my HD-PVRs from firewire to a USB-UIRT. I am using the EXEMultiTUnerPlugin to facilitate the firewire device.

So I went into Setup Video Sources/HD PVR/Tuner Control/Change Tuning Device and it only lists the Unique IDs of the STBs connected to my system. It does not give me the option to change to a USB-UIRT or any other tuning type.

Does that mean my only option is to delete the source and set it up again from scratch?
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-05-2015, 06:03 AM
dvd_maniac's Avatar
dvd_maniac dvd_maniac is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: New England
Posts: 1,899
Do you have any tuning files in your usb-uirt folder?
__________________
If this doesn't work right, Then:
"I'm going to blow up the Earth!"
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-05-2015, 06:07 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,578
Yes, several files for my SA boxes as I have used the USB-UIRT in the past and I have modified a file to use Zone 2. There is also a Motorola DCT2000 file - I assume that this is a default file from Sage
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-05-2015, 07:07 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
I want to change the tuning method on one of my HD-PVRs from firewire to a USB-UIRT. I am using the EXEMultiTUnerPlugin to facilitate the firewire device.

So I went into Setup Video Sources/HD PVR/Tuner Control/Change Tuning Device and it only lists the Unique IDs of the STBs connected to my system. It does not give me the option to change to a USB-UIRT or any other tuning type.

Does that mean my only option is to delete the source and set it up again from scratch?
I've never used anything but a USB-UIRT, so I can't say I've ever looked for a way to change the device used - but that SHOULD be where it is. That said, it might not be that difficult to set up the new source. The channel map is the complicated part (sometimes), so saving that is the toughest thing, but there is a plugin that will import and export channel lineups (interestingly enough, called "Import/Export Channel Lineup"), so that should make things much quicker.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-07-2015, 03:05 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,578
So I ended up deleting and recreating my source which was an HD-PVR using USB-UIRT for channel tuning. It immediately found all of my .ir files, including the customized Zone 2 ones that I wanted to use in this instance as I am using an external IR blaster rather than the USB-UIRT's main blaster.

I may end up going back to firewire on this server as I am planning to build a new server some time soon that will run V9. Since I will likely use a 64 bit OS (Win7 or 100 64 bit) that means I can't use firewire so I will switch the USB-UIRT to the new server and I can run the two in parallel for a little bit.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-01-2019, 03:46 PM
Malfunction Malfunction is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Willoughby, Ohio
Posts: 206
Is there a way to change tuning methods while keeping the current channel list, I.E. the channels I've enabled and disabled would stay the same? This would use the same cable box and cable channels, but replace USB-UIRT with the Hauppauge IR blaster.
__________________


ASUS P7H55D-EVO LGA 1156 Motherboard, Intel Core I5-661, 2X Crucial Ballistix XMS3 2GB RAM, 2x Mushkin Blackline 4G RAM, EVGA GT 1030SC, 1x Samsung 250g SSD, 1x WD80EFAX 8TB, 2x WDBH2D0040HNC 4TB, USB-UIRT, ASUS Blu-Ray SATA drive, HD-PVR2, WinTV dualHD, Windows 7 64bit
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-01-2019, 05:21 PM
JustFred JustFred is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sunnyvale, Ca
Posts: 430
Quote:
Originally Posted by Malfunction View Post
Is there a way to change tuning methods while keeping the current channel list, I.E. the channels I've enabled and disabled would stay the same? This would use the same cable box and cable channels, but replace USB-UIRT with the Hauppauge IR blaster.
The best way I've found is this: Configure at least one other video source using your existing channel lineup ("Use same channel lineup", NOT "Copy the channels..."). Then you can safely delete the video source with the Hauppauge IR blaster, add that same video source (this time with USB-UIRT), and choose the desired channel lineup (again: "Use same channel lineup", NOT "Copy the channels...").
__________________
System #1: Win7-64, Core2-Quad Q9400, 8 GB Mem, 4TB HD. Java-64 1.8.0_141. Sage-64 v9.2.1 ATSC: 2x HDHR-US (1st gen white) tuners. HD-200.
System #2: Win7-64, I7-920, 8 GB Mem, 2TB HD. Java 1.8.0_131. Sage v9.1.6.747. ClearQAM: 2x HDHR3-US tuners. HD-200.
System #3: Win7-64, I7-920, 12 GB Mem, 4TB HD. Java-64 1.8.0_141. Sage-64 v9.2.1 ATSC: 2x HVR2250; Spectrum Cable via HDPVR & USB-UIRT. 3x HD-200.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-01-2019, 06:10 PM
Malfunction Malfunction is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Willoughby, Ohio
Posts: 206
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustFred View Post
The best way I've found is this: Configure at least one other video source using your existing channel lineup ("Use same channel lineup", NOT "Copy the channels..."). Then you can safely delete the video source with the Hauppauge IR blaster, add that same video source (this time with USB-UIRT), and choose the desired channel lineup (again: "Use same channel lineup", NOT "Copy the channels...").
Yes that, but the other way around. I can't get the USB-UIRT going with EventGhost and Sage 64.

__________________


ASUS P7H55D-EVO LGA 1156 Motherboard, Intel Core I5-661, 2X Crucial Ballistix XMS3 2GB RAM, 2x Mushkin Blackline 4G RAM, EVGA GT 1030SC, 1x Samsung 250g SSD, 1x WD80EFAX 8TB, 2x WDBH2D0040HNC 4TB, USB-UIRT, ASUS Blu-Ray SATA drive, HD-PVR2, WinTV dualHD, Windows 7 64bit
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-01-2019, 06:28 PM
JustFred JustFred is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sunnyvale, Ca
Posts: 430
Quote:
Originally Posted by Malfunction View Post
Yes that, but the other way around. I can't get the USB-UIRT going with EventGhost and Sage 64.

Yeah, my eyes were crossed when I posted that. Same idea, different order of old/new blasters.

BTW, EventGhost-x64 should co-exist with Sage-x64.

Jon Rhees (originator of USB-UIRT) told me that USB-UIRT can't be shared by a 32-bit program and a 64-bit program at the same time.
__________________
System #1: Win7-64, Core2-Quad Q9400, 8 GB Mem, 4TB HD. Java-64 1.8.0_141. Sage-64 v9.2.1 ATSC: 2x HDHR-US (1st gen white) tuners. HD-200.
System #2: Win7-64, I7-920, 8 GB Mem, 2TB HD. Java 1.8.0_131. Sage v9.1.6.747. ClearQAM: 2x HDHR3-US tuners. HD-200.
System #3: Win7-64, I7-920, 12 GB Mem, 4TB HD. Java-64 1.8.0_141. Sage-64 v9.2.1 ATSC: 2x HVR2250; Spectrum Cable via HDPVR & USB-UIRT. 3x HD-200.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-02-2019, 03:09 AM
Malfunction Malfunction is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Willoughby, Ohio
Posts: 206
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustFred View Post
Yeah, my eyes were crossed when I posted that. Same idea, different order of old/new blasters.

BTW, EventGhost-x64 should co-exist with Sage-x64.

Jon Rhees (originator of USB-UIRT) told me that USB-UIRT can't be shared by a 32-bit program and a 64-bit program at the same time.
This worked good. If I can get the video renderer sorted, I can run Sage 64 now.
__________________


ASUS P7H55D-EVO LGA 1156 Motherboard, Intel Core I5-661, 2X Crucial Ballistix XMS3 2GB RAM, 2x Mushkin Blackline 4G RAM, EVGA GT 1030SC, 1x Samsung 250g SSD, 1x WD80EFAX 8TB, 2x WDBH2D0040HNC 4TB, USB-UIRT, ASUS Blu-Ray SATA drive, HD-PVR2, WinTV dualHD, Windows 7 64bit
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD 300 - TV is all green until changing Video Source WarlordBB SageTV HD Theater - Media Player 0 03-12-2011 08:22 PM
Changing video source on tv interrupts recordings on HD PVR bastian74 Hardware Support 2 10-29-2008 09:14 PM
Problem Changing video source configuration jphhughes Hardware Support 6 01-09-2007 10:43 AM
Tuner Source not available lordmeatball SageTV Beta Test Software 0 11-27-2006 08:27 AM
Disable a tuner source IF other source used wado1971 Hardware Support 0 05-23-2006 06:04 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.