SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 08-15-2019, 04:59 PM
egeller egeller is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Drexel Hill, PA
Posts: 237
Testing the OpenDCT Generic HTTP Capture Device with IPTV

@enternoescape
I have set up a test of connecting an IPTV data source to SageTV. I think I am seeing some of the things that @rickygillon, above, is seeing. I am attaching logs and config and hoping you can tell me what configuration to change.

The simple use case for IPTV is to use VLC to view a playlist of streams. With VLC, you can stream a source via HTTP. If there is no data, you get an error, so you shut down VLC, or go to another stream in the playlist. If a stream halts, the play button changes from playing to halted. In many cases, you can press the play button to restart the stream. What I am hoping that OpenDCT can do is the same sort of things I do when I use VLC to stream the playlist interactively. That is, when a stream halts, try restarting it. If, after so-many milliseconds of trying, the stream cannot be restarted, then report the error.

I am using TVHeadend (TVH) to organize my playlists and EPG. In my config, I point OpenDCT to the TVH server. It provides the streaming.

When I connect to a stream, TVH has a status page that shows the active stream and the bit-rate. If the bit-rate is zero, I know that the stream is dead. My current issue is that, in some cases, I can see an active stream in TVH's status page, but OpenDCT is not serving data to SageTV. Also, the Unraid / Sage / OpenDCT server seems to be locking up, with OpenDCT activity seeming to be the cause. See the bottom of the log for where I had the issues.

The attached logs are from a session where I started OpenDCT and SageTV, tuned to a channel, stopped the recording, then went to another channel and tuned it. I did this several times. Occasionally, a stream would not have data, so I stopped it and went to another channel. At the bottom of the log I tuned a dead (zero bit-rate) channel. Then I went to a channel I saw was active (from TVH's status) but all I saw in SageTV was the "No Signal" message. I also saw, on my Unraid CPU status, that the CPU activity in several of the cores was pegged to 100%. Restarting OpenDCT resolved the CPU activity issue and at this point I ended the test.

As you recommended above, I tried changing the producer to opendct.producer.HTTPProducer. OpenDCT flags this as an error and changes it back. See my log, near the top, I think, for the message.

I have attached my current config and the logs. There is an FFMpeg log included, but that was from a few minutes before the main issue, I think. Let me know if you need more information.
Attached Files
File Type: zip OpenDCT logs and config.zip (252.6 KB, 3 views)
__________________
Server:UnRaid;2x Intel Xeon E5; SuperMicro moboard;Also:BM3000 w/ WMC; 2x Ceton ETH 6; OpenDCT
SageTV Extender:3x HD200 1x HD300
Sage TV: 9.1.10, Standard STVi, Comskip Playback, Web Interface, 24 Hour Clock, SRE, YouTube2015, Playon
All in lovely Drexel Hill, PA
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 08-19-2019, 07:57 AM
rickgillyon's Avatar
rickgillyon rickgillyon is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Whitley Bay, England
Posts: 1,944
As you've seen, I tried for ages to get Sage and openDCT to play nice with IPTV. It just doesn't work, and for whatever reason the community support isn't there. This isn't a criticism of the community, I understand people have lives.

I have IPTV working reliably with SageTV now for recording, and 50/50 for live TV. This is how I did it. Install the node-ffmpeg-mpegts-proxy docker. You'll need to change settings on the Apps screen in unRAID to "Enable additional search results from dockerHub." This docker simply ffmpegs all input and outputs a TS, restarts stalled streams, cleans up. This means you're passing openDCT a clean stream and it doesn't have to restart etc. I realise openDCT is supposed to do this job, but it just can't do it reliably with iptv.

I have set this docker as the source for all IPTV, i.e. Plex, openDCT etc. It's rock-solid in Plex, Emby etc. for recordings and live TV; and in Sage for recordings only. Maybe it'll be better for you in live TV, it's not important enough for me to bother as I don't really use Sage any more, I only keep it for my wife who doesn't want to move. Once Plex does keyword recording I expect we'll dump Sage. Unless SWMBO says otherwise.
__________________
unRAID Server: Intel Core i5 7600K, 16GB DDR4, 2x512GB PCIe M.2 Cache Pool, 2x4TB SATA3 Parity Drive, 2x3TB + 1x4TB SATA Array, 1x TBS 6284 PCIe DVB-T2 Quad, 2x TBS 6205 PCIe DVB-T Quad, Cable TV from TBS2603 sat/IP, IPTV via Telly & node-ffmpeg-mpegts-proxy, unRAID 6.6.6, TVheadend for recording back end, OpenDCT, SDEPG, SageTV 9
Clients: 3 Nvidia Shields, 2 Android Miniclients (Amlogic S905X), 3 Win10 Pro PC Clients
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 08-19-2019, 10:13 AM
egeller egeller is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Drexel Hill, PA
Posts: 237
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickgillyon View Post
As you've seen, I tried for ages to get Sage and openDCT to play nice with IPTV. It just doesn't work, and for whatever reason the community support isn't there. This isn't a criticism of the community, I understand people have lives.

I have IPTV working reliably with SageTV now for recording, and 50/50 for live TV. This is how I did it. Install the node-ffmpeg-mpegts-proxy docker. You'll need to change settings on the Apps screen in unRAID to "Enable additional search results from dockerHub." This docker simply ffmpegs all input and outputs a TS, restarts stalled streams, cleans up. This means you're passing openDCT a clean stream and it doesn't have to restart etc. I realise openDCT is supposed to do this job, but it just can't do it reliably with iptv.

I have set this docker as the source for all IPTV, i.e. Plex, openDCT etc. It's rock-solid in Plex, Emby etc. for recordings and live TV; and in Sage for recordings only. Maybe it'll be better for you in live TV, it's not important enough for me to bother as I don't really use Sage any more, I only keep it for my wife who doesn't want to move. Once Plex does keyword recording I expect we'll dump Sage. Unless SWMBO says otherwise.
Thanks for the ideas. I will give it a try.
__________________
Server:UnRaid;2x Intel Xeon E5; SuperMicro moboard;Also:BM3000 w/ WMC; 2x Ceton ETH 6; OpenDCT
SageTV Extender:3x HD200 1x HD300
Sage TV: 9.1.10, Standard STVi, Comskip Playback, Web Interface, 24 Hour Clock, SRE, YouTube2015, Playon
All in lovely Drexel Hill, PA
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
hdmi, iptv, script


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using the OpenDCT Generic Pipe Capture Device EnterNoEscape Hardware Support 61 08-02-2018 10:12 AM
capture device recommendation smithzoos Hardware Support 2 02-29-2016 09:02 PM
USB Capture Device? Skybolt Hardware Support 5 05-07-2013 07:00 PM
Using Motorola Tuner device for capture device cyberfreak Hardware Support 4 02-22-2007 02:47 PM
No AV Capture Device jaelanicu SageTV Recorder Software 5 08-03-2006 02:02 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.