SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV v7 Customizations

Notices

SageTV v7 Customizations This forums is for discussing and sharing user-created modifications for the SageTV version 7 application created by using the SageTV Studio or through the use of external plugins. Use this forum to discuss plugins for SageTV version 7 and newer.

View Poll Results: Are you interested in a "Try before you buy" option?
Yes, please 7 70.00%
No, thanks 3 30.00%
Voters: 10. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #41  
Old 03-16-2012, 04:26 AM
spacecadet spacecadet is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Lexington, MA
Posts: 388
Quote:
Originally Posted by routerunner View Post
Yes, there is a small issue on that, which I fixed already and will be available in the next release, 99.9% of users will use AUTO, however thank you for finding the bug for me

I'm assuming you tried the MVP connected to the TV first, correct?, if not please be careful about the dongle you're using, for instance any XBOX/PS3 dongle wont work because they are designed to be connected to the TV and they are so called input SCART, what you want is an output SCART dongle or one which can be manually configured via a switch, still with the latter (and I have tried few) you'll notice the left channel level is lower than the right channel. The best SCART would be the signal split one which will have audio RCA connectors.
My MVP doesn't use an SCART dongle. It's got fixed inputs for RCA video, L/R audio, S-Video and coaxial digital out. Yes, I am trying via the TV first Audio plays OK via the Sage UI, so I'm assuming I have it wired up correctly.

I'll check on the volume via the Web UI (although I think I fiddled with that already).

Thanks!

Brian
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 03-16-2012, 04:34 AM
routerunner's Avatar
routerunner routerunner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Posts: 1,371
Quote:
Originally Posted by spacecadet View Post
My MVP doesn't use an SCART dongle. It's got fixed inputs for RCA video, L/R audio, S-Video and coaxial digital out. Yes, I am trying via the TV first Audio plays OK via the Sage UI, so I'm assuming I have it wired up correctly.

I'll check on the volume via the Web UI (although I think I fiddled with that already).

Thanks!

Brian
Yeah, I forgot you're on the other side of the pond, here in Europe the MVP has a SCART and a separate SP/DIF output

I need you to do another experiment for me if you don't mind...
- Make sure your Squeezeslave device is listed in the Squeeze center.
- Start playback, the progress bar will move, (but that is not a valid indication still)
- Play with the volume level up and down. If doesn't move at all it means that the squeezeslaveplayer has stopped working...(the reason of why I ask you to play with the volume is because is one of the few commands that gives you immediate feedback on whether the squeezeslaveplayer is still alive without login to the unit).

For the next release I'm thinking to add an option to enable debug logging on the extender (the reason I didn't so far is because if forgotten enabled, it will fill up the extender's ramdisk rather quickly as it is very verbose).

Eddy
__________________

Automatic Power Off | Squeezeslave | DVB-S Importer | DVB Decrypter & Card Client | Tuner Preroll


Every man is a damn fool for at least five minutes every day; wisdom consists in not exceeding the limit. ~ Elbert Hubbard

Last edited by routerunner; 03-16-2012 at 04:50 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 03-16-2012, 04:54 AM
spacecadet spacecadet is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Lexington, MA
Posts: 388
Quote:
Originally Posted by routerunner View Post
I need you to do another experiment for me if you don't mind...
- Make sure your Squeezeslave device is listed in the Squeeze center.
- Start playback, the progress bar will move, (but that is not a valid indication still)
- Play with the volume level up and down. If doesn't move at all it means that the squeezeslaveplayer has stopped working...(the reason of why I ask you to play with the volume is because is one of the few commands that gives you immediate feedback on whether the squeezeslaveplayer is still alive without login to the unit).
1. Yup, The device is listed in the Squeeze Center (named Squeezeslave)
2. Yes, The progress bar moves when I start playing a song
3. Yes, The volume level goes up and down with no problem

But, still no audio output.

Thanks,

Brian
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 03-16-2012, 05:13 AM
routerunner's Avatar
routerunner routerunner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Posts: 1,371
Quote:
Originally Posted by spacecadet View Post
1. Yup, The device is listed in the Squeeze Center (named Squeezeslave)
2. Yes, The progress bar moves when I start playing a song
3. Yes, The volume level goes up and down with no problem

But, still no audio output.

Thanks,

Brian
I've PM you, please reply...
__________________

Automatic Power Off | Squeezeslave | DVB-S Importer | DVB Decrypter & Card Client | Tuner Preroll


Every man is a damn fool for at least five minutes every day; wisdom consists in not exceeding the limit. ~ Elbert Hubbard
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 03-16-2012, 02:57 PM
Zorglub Zorglub is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 46
Question Cannot seem to load the slave...

I followed your insctruction, but I cannot get the slave to load:

I configured the license.txt, I can see my HD300 in the configuration page. It is set to true.

I see the ftp server on my Sage server and I can connect to it and see the files..

I can start a Squeezeplay on the Sage server.... connecting to my squeezebox server (it is on a different host...)

But when I push the power button of my remote, nothing happen and I don`t see the slave in the web ui of the Squeeze server....

After a while Sage reload the sage interface on my HD300...

What I am doing wrong ?

Thanks !

Richard
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 03-16-2012, 03:33 PM
Zorglub Zorglub is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 46
More info:

Somehow the squeezeslaceclient doesn't get transfered to the HD200:

tango3 login: root
tango3[~]# ps
PID USER TIME COMMAND
1 root 0:01 init
2 root 0:00 [kthreadd]
3 root 0:01 [ksoftirqd/0]
4 root 0:00 [events/0]
5 root 0:00 [khelper]
9 root 0:00 [async/mgr]
107 root 0:00 [sync_supers]
109 root 0:00 [bdi-default]
110 root 0:00 [kblockd/0]
116 root 0:00 [ata/0]
117 root 0:00 [ata_aux]
122 root 0:00 [khubd]
125 root 0:00 [kseriod]
127 root 0:00 [kmmcd]
136 root 0:00 [cfg80211]
147 root 0:00 [rpciod/0]
152 root 0:00 [kswapd0]
153 root 0:00 [aio/0]
154 root 0:00 [nfsiod]
155 root 0:00 [kslowd000]
156 root 0:00 [kslowd001]
158 root 0:00 [crypto/0]
825 root 0:00 [usbhid_resumer]
833 root 0:00 /bin/sh /etc/init.d/rcS
859 root 0:00 /sbin/watchdog -t 20 -T 30 /dev/watchdog
866 root 0:00 /usr/sbin/telnetd
874 root 0:00 [sigmblockd]
892 root 0:00 [sigm_write_cach]
894 root 0:00 [kjournald]
902 root 0:00 /bin/sh /etc/init.d/S55sage start
911 root 0:00 /bin/sh ./runsage
916 root 0:16 ./bin/cvm -Djava.io.tmpdir=/tmp -Dsage.paths.logs=/tmp/lo
996 root 0:00 /sbin/udhcpc -f -i eth0
1013 root 0:00 [flush-254:0]
1173 root 0:07 /app/client/miniclient 192.168.1.11
1185 root 0:00 -sh
1192 root 0:00 ps
tango3[~]#
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 03-16-2012, 03:38 PM
routerunner's Avatar
routerunner routerunner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Posts: 1,371
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zorglub View Post
But when I push the power button of my remote, nothing happen and I don`t see the slave in the web ui of the Squeeze server....

After a while Sage reload the sage interface on my HD300...
The HD200/HD300 use the NFS server, please make sure you have the "FreeNFS.exe" running by looking at the Windows Task Manager->Processes.

The Squeezeslave player works in mutual exclusion to SageTV, so when you press the power button to switch the SageTV interface off, after about 30 seconds the Squeezeslave player get loaded and when you press the power button again to switch the extender on, then the Squeezeslave player gets unloaded.

From your post it looks like that you didn't wait the 30 seconds, so you restarted the SageTV killing the Squeezeslaveplayer.

Please enable the debug log and look for Squeezeslave messages.
__________________

Automatic Power Off | Squeezeslave | DVB-S Importer | DVB Decrypter & Card Client | Tuner Preroll


Every man is a damn fool for at least five minutes every day; wisdom consists in not exceeding the limit. ~ Elbert Hubbard

Last edited by routerunner; 03-16-2012 at 03:45 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 03-16-2012, 04:07 PM
Zorglub Zorglub is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 46
OK, I got my Hd200 working !! Great !!! Thank you

But my HD300 doesn't seem to be able to download the file....

I assume it ihas to do that everytime I press poweroff, less than 30 seconds after it poweron by itself !!!

Here is what I could find in the debug log:

Fri 3/16 18:01:58.489 [PluginEventQueue@11c98c5] Squeezeslave: Extender 0023a5000f31 software uploading.
Fri 3/16 18:01:58.490 [PluginEventQueue@11c98c5] [[SageTCPServer]]: Event: ClientDisconnected
Fri 3/16 18:01:58.491 [PluginEventQueue@11c98c5] [[SageTCPServer]]: A client disconnected 192.168.1.14:0023a5000f31
Fri 3/16 18:02:00.049 [KillUIMgr@6e13ac] Killed RootPanel
Fri 3/16 18:02:00.051 [KillUIMgr@6e13ac] Saving properties file to clients\0023a5000f31.properties
Fri 3/16 18:02:00.100 [KillUIMgr@6e13ac] Disposed Window
Fri 3/16 18:02:00.947 [Fork-OPUS4-108092@c18858] ENDING Forked weather thread.
Fri 3/16 18:02:06.319 [MiniUIServer@15e5600] Dropping old MiniPlayer connection because it's old from:0023a5000f31
Fri 3/16 18:02:16.596 [24069943@qtp-29623864-9@16f4737] Calling: Api: Fri 3/16 18:02:16.596 [24069943@qtp-29623864-9@16f4737] nullFri 3/16 18:02:16.596 [24069943@qtp-29623864-9@16f4737] ; Command: Fri 3/16 18:02:16.596 [24069943@qtp-29623864-9@16f4737] GetScheduledRecordingsFri 3/16 18:02:16.596 [24069943@qtp-29623864-9@16f4737] ;
Fri 3/16 18:02:54.681 [SageTVMiniDiscoveryServer@4724ab] Server got broadcast packet: java.net.DatagramPacket@74340a
Fri 3/16 18:02:54.830 [SageTVMiniDiscoveryServer@4724ab] Server sent back mini discovery data:java.net.DatagramPacket@74340a to /192.168.1.14 8271
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 03-16-2012, 04:15 PM
routerunner's Avatar
routerunner routerunner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Posts: 1,371
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zorglub View Post
OK, I got my Hd200 working !! Great !!! Thank you

But my HD300 doesn't seem to be able to download the file....

I assume it ihas to do that everytime I press poweroff, less than 30 seconds after it poweron by itself !!!
I'm glad you had your HD200 working.

Yes, is the whole point of the mutual exclusion, hence being able to have two separate systems in one. The 30 seconds are dictated by SageTV server not by me.

I'm a bit confused by your message...you are saying that the HD300 powers on by itself?

Which firmware version of the HD300 you're running on? All my tests were based on the latest firmware (latest beta for the HD300)

Eddy
__________________

Automatic Power Off | Squeezeslave | DVB-S Importer | DVB Decrypter & Card Client | Tuner Preroll


Every man is a damn fool for at least five minutes every day; wisdom consists in not exceeding the limit. ~ Elbert Hubbard
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 03-16-2012, 04:19 PM
Zorglub Zorglub is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 46
I think I am at the latest beta firmware, I will check that.

One clue: I read something about a "feature" of the SageTCPServer called autoReboot... and it is set to true... Could that be it ? I will test it and let you know....

Thanks !
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 03-16-2012, 04:25 PM
routerunner's Avatar
routerunner routerunner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Posts: 1,371
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zorglub View Post
One clue: I read something about a "feature" of the SageTCPServer called autoReboot... and it is set to true... Could that be it ? I will test it and let you know....
Well, from your log I can see a call to the SageTCPServer plugin. Yes, of course, if enabled it will spoil completely the Squeezeslave point on existence. I still don't understand why someone would like keeping his extender permanently on, now that is very difficult to get hold of this little gems...I have all mine on power timers during the night...but this is just me being paranoid
__________________

Automatic Power Off | Squeezeslave | DVB-S Importer | DVB Decrypter & Card Client | Tuner Preroll


Every man is a damn fool for at least five minutes every day; wisdom consists in not exceeding the limit. ~ Elbert Hubbard
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 03-16-2012, 04:43 PM
spacecadet spacecadet is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Lexington, MA
Posts: 388
Quote:
Originally Posted by routerunner View Post
I've PM you, please reply...
Ok. With routerunner's help, I've gotten everything working.

Two takeaways from my experience:

1. Make sure the plugin configuration is set to "AUTO" for discovering the Squeeze Server

2. In my case, I had the MVP connected to a TV. My TV functions such that no audio is played when is no video signal present. Since the MVP is outputting no video when in "squeezeslave" mode, I also got no audio through the TV. To troubleshoot, I turned on a 2nd extender and connected its analog video output to the TV in the MVP's place. Once the TV started receiving a video signal, the MVP squeeze audio played flawlessly.

Just a word of warning to other users!

Thanks routerunner!

Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 03-16-2012, 04:53 PM
Zorglub Zorglub is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 46
Talking

HD300 is running !

The problem was the autoreboot....

Now everything is working just perfect !

I just need to wait for the HD100 to be supported, I have on of those in the bedroom and I will finally have my whole house audio setup !

Thank you !!!
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 03-16-2012, 05:11 PM
routerunner's Avatar
routerunner routerunner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Posts: 1,371
Thank to you guys for your donations!

Despite 99.9% of users will never have the AUTO setting issue it must work properly. The bug is fixed already and available in the next release along with a new switch to disable the usage of the internal FTP server when users have their own installed already...deleting the file is too harsh IMHO.

Please keep to donate!
__________________

Automatic Power Off | Squeezeslave | DVB-S Importer | DVB Decrypter & Card Client | Tuner Preroll


Every man is a damn fool for at least five minutes every day; wisdom consists in not exceeding the limit. ~ Elbert Hubbard
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 03-16-2012, 07:05 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
So is the mutual exclusion system optional? I ask because I was hoping at some point to develop a squeeze UI for sage, and it would be inconvenient for it to not be able to function as a player with the sage UI loaded. Obviously, you'd want it to stop squeezeslave when the extender is playing sage content, but it seems that if sage is stopped, it should work fine (HD300/200 only, perhaps).
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 03-16-2012, 07:25 PM
routerunner's Avatar
routerunner routerunner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Posts: 1,371
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
So is the mutual exclusion system optional? I ask because I was hoping at some point to develop a squeeze UI for sage, and it would be inconvenient for it to not be able to function as a player with the sage UI loaded. Obviously, you'd want it to stop squeezeslave when the extender is playing sage content, but it seems that if sage is stopped, it should work fine (HD300/200 only, perhaps).
The mutual exclusion system is not optional and has been done initially for the MediaMVP/HD100 which cannot physically share system resources with SageTV, it has also other benefits like not stealing quite a big amount of memory from SageTV any more or interfering with the extender performances like "my movies" scrolling or thumbnails caching, also when the resource were shared as before you couldn't have separate volume control like now and you could have undesired side effects like "chipmunks" audio, basically it wasn't right and the only reason I did it is because it was more convenient, now is more appropriate.

They are now two separate worlds: SageTV and Squeezeslave which happens to "use" the same hardware, this is the new message and to enforce it further I have plans to even support basic Squeeze operation by using the SageTV remote whilst in Squeezeslave mode.
__________________

Automatic Power Off | Squeezeslave | DVB-S Importer | DVB Decrypter & Card Client | Tuner Preroll


Every man is a damn fool for at least five minutes every day; wisdom consists in not exceeding the limit. ~ Elbert Hubbard
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 03-16-2012, 07:35 PM
routerunner's Avatar
routerunner routerunner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Posts: 1,371
Quote:
Originally Posted by Suntan View Post
This sounds more along the lines of being usable by the Mrs.

Any ETA for the update?
Time is now, version 2.0.0 available...
__________________

Automatic Power Off | Squeezeslave | DVB-S Importer | DVB Decrypter & Card Client | Tuner Preroll


Every man is a damn fool for at least five minutes every day; wisdom consists in not exceeding the limit. ~ Elbert Hubbard

Last edited by routerunner; 03-16-2012 at 07:40 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 03-17-2012, 01:54 PM
routerunner's Avatar
routerunner routerunner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Posts: 1,371
Synchronisation tips

As you know all the players in the Squeeze network can be synchronized together to play the same music at the same time for the ultimate whole house music experience.

The Squeezeslave player can be synchronized too, but you need to make a small adjustment on the Squeeze server side as well, here what you need to do:
  • Open the Squeeze server Web UI.
  • Click on the "Settings" link at the bottom right of the page.
  • Click on "Player" tab.
  • Click on the player name to open the drop down list and select the player.
  • Click on the "Basic Settings" drop down list and select the option "Synchronize".
  • The slider you need to tweak is the "Player Audio Delay (ms)" which depends upon the extender. Please take those values as guidance only as you'll need to fine tune them for best results:
    MVP -> 50
    HD200 -> 505
    HD300 -> 480
  • Leave all the other values at their respective defaults.

Enjoy!
__________________

Automatic Power Off | Squeezeslave | DVB-S Importer | DVB Decrypter & Card Client | Tuner Preroll


Every man is a damn fool for at least five minutes every day; wisdom consists in not exceeding the limit. ~ Elbert Hubbard
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 03-24-2012, 08:03 AM
syrel syrel is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 86
Hi

This looks like a really cool feature, and I'm keen to install, but can't as Sage is listing the plugin as not compatible because of the core version. Your minimum requirement is Sage 7.1. However, I have version 7.0.23 installed - and I need to keep that version as I use SageMC and any later version breaks the photos section.

So, does your plugin definitely definitely need 7.1.x or could it possibly be run on 7.0.23? Pretty please?

cheers

lee
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 03-24-2012, 09:50 AM
seaverd seaverd is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 137
Routerunner,

I am having trouble getting this to work.

The plugin is installed and I see the extender in the configure section. What isn't happening is the the extender is not showing up in the logitech squeeze server under the player tab.

I am running my logitech squeeze server on a linux box. The IP of this server is 192.168.0.50 on port 9000. I tried changing the auto IP to 192.168.0.50:9000 and it will not accept the :9000, so I tried just 192.168.0.50 and it still did not work.

My sage tv server is running on windows 7. I checked processes in task manager and when I check processes for all users - freenfs and freeftp are listed. Is there anyway to test these to make sure they are working?
My extender is an HD300.

Should questions be asked here or via email?

Thanks,

Dan

Last edited by seaverd; 03-24-2012 at 10:36 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ipeng, remote, squeeze center, squeezebox, squeezeslave


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Plugin: MizookLCD (Alternate SageTV LCDSmartie Plugin) cslatt SageTV Customizations 48 06-11-2012 10:44 AM
Plugin request for SageTV Windows Client: Autofrequency plugin mkanet SageTV v7 Customizations 3 11-12-2011 09:33 AM
SageTV Plugin Developers: Any way to see stats for your plugin? mkanet SageTV Software 4 12-12-2010 10:33 PM
MediaPlayer Plugin/STV Import: Winamp Media Player Plugin deria SageTV Customizations 447 12-11-2010 07:38 PM
Plugin Manager: Configure plugin medwynd SageTV Beta Test Software 0 05-29-2010 08:43 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.