SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Information & Announcements > SageTV Downloads & Instructions

Notices

SageTV Downloads & Instructions This forum is for discussions containing Downloads and Instructions related to the Open Source version of SageTV. Please do not post questions in this forum.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #81  
Old 01-30-2016, 08:42 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,327
Quote:
Originally Posted by SageWizdom View Post
Stuckless, I'm re-doing the walkthrough using the .deb files instead of the tar.gz.

Would you mind / Is it possible for you to create a file download directory or location where the directory and filenames don't change each build? Something like a "latest" directory with an extra file in it named "buildnumber.txt" that contains the build/version number and/or the build date? Would you mind?

This would help me in two ways.
1) I won't have to keep updating the walkthrough with new links each time a build comes out. I don't mind doing the updates, but they only happen when I notice.

2) With my eventual goal to script as much of the install as possible, if there is a consistent place to download the file, the script will both always be up to date, and also able to check for updates (buildnumber.txt) or by grabbing the newest and attempting to install it. I'm hopeful to at least make a guided install script to simplify the whole process on Linux.

Much Appreciated
The following url is a url that links to the latest version download area
https://bintray.com/opensagetv/saget..._latestVersion

I'm open to suggestions on how to the buildnumber.txt. As long as we can fully automate it (I don't manually upload the builds), I'm ok with making changes.

Eventually, I'd like to get the .deb packages into a valid repo format... unfortunately, I don't know how to automate that using the bintray upload tasks in the gradle file.
Reply With Quote
  #82  
Old 02-01-2016, 09:16 PM
SageWizdom SageWizdom is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: https://github.com/SageWizdom/SageConnect
Posts: 216
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
The following url is a url that links to the latest version download area
https://bintray.com/opensagetv/saget..._latestVersion

I'm open to suggestions on how to the buildnumber.txt. As long as we can fully automate it (I don't manually upload the builds), I'm ok with making changes.

Eventually, I'd like to get the .deb packages into a valid repo format... unfortunately, I don't know how to automate that using the bintray upload tasks in the gradle file.
Awesome. Its a bit late tonight to play with this, but hopefully tomorrow I'll find some time. I'm decidedly a fan of "fully automate it." I'll start with this and see how far I can get. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #83  
Old 02-03-2016, 04:33 PM
dtox86 dtox86 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 6
Is there a way to remove needing to allow administrator privileges when the program is run? It's setting off the User Account Control for Win (running 10) and I don't really think I need it to. Previous versions haven't and I'm ok with it.
Unless there's some sinister conspiracy going on behind the scenes I should know about....
Reply With Quote
  #84  
Old 02-03-2016, 04:51 PM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,851
Quote:
Originally Posted by dtox86 View Post
Is there a way to remove needing to allow administrator privileges when the program is run? It's setting off the User Account Control for Win (running 10) and I don't really think I need it to. Previous versions haven't and I'm ok with it.
Unless there's some sinister conspiracy going on behind the scenes I should know about....
I agree with this. I think the problem with the registry possibly might be a permissions issue. This hypothesis needs to be verified of course.
__________________
Server: i5 3470, MSI H67MA-E35(B3), 16GB RAM, 12TB drive array, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.4_rc15e
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #85  
Old 02-03-2016, 05:28 PM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 2,000
Quote:
Originally Posted by dtox86 View Post
Is there a way to remove needing to allow administrator privileges when the program is run? It's setting off the User Account Control for Win (running 10) and I don't really think I need it to. Previous versions haven't and I'm ok with it.
Unless there's some sinister conspiracy going on behind the scenes I should know about....
Client/Server ? Which one or both ?

The EXE's have been updated with a manifest to force needing elevated privileges in order to ensure the EXE can read/write the proper registry keys.

Previous versions would have failed to read/write from the registry and likely eventually caused issues if any of those values were needed.

k
Reply With Quote
  #86  
Old 02-03-2016, 05:34 PM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 2,000
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taddeusz View Post
I agree with this. I think the problem with the registry possibly might be a permissions issue. This hypothesis needs to be verified of course.
It is most definitely a permissions issue and resolved by mimicking V7 manifest change to enforce needing Admin privileges. There are certainly other ways to change the code in SageTV Client/Server to resolve this but in theory V7 had the same manifest built in.

I personally think this is no issue on a Server but I agree it should not be needed on the Client....however, something would need to be changed in the code to handle reading heap values for the Client if the manifest was reverted back.

k
Reply With Quote
  #87  
Old 02-03-2016, 07:41 PM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,851
Quote:
Originally Posted by jusjoken View Post
It is most definitely a permissions issue and resolved by mimicking V7 manifest change to enforce needing Admin privileges. There are certainly other ways to change the code in SageTV Client/Server to resolve this but in theory V7 had the same manifest built in.

I personally think this is no issue on a Server but I agree it should not be needed on the Client....however, something would need to be changed in the code to handle reading heap values for the Client if the manifest was reverted back.

k
What I meant are the registry permissions.
__________________
Server: i5 3470, MSI H67MA-E35(B3), 16GB RAM, 12TB drive array, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.4_rc15e
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #88  
Old 02-03-2016, 07:52 PM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 2,000
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taddeusz View Post
What I meant are the registry permissions.
Are you suggesting there is another way to resolve the registry permissions without the manifest change for the exe? I am open to suggestions.
Reply With Quote
  #89  
Old 02-03-2016, 08:48 PM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,851
Quote:
Originally Posted by jusjoken View Post
Are you suggesting there is another way to resolve the registry permissions without the manifest change for the exe? I am open to suggestions.
Ok, doing some research it appears that apps now need an access control set to access the registry. I no longer have the Windows build environment set up to try and test this:

https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/lib...ontrol.aspx#Y0
__________________
Server: i5 3470, MSI H67MA-E35(B3), 16GB RAM, 12TB drive array, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.4_rc15e
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #90  
Old 02-03-2016, 09:15 PM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 2,000
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taddeusz View Post
Ok, doing some research it appears that apps now need an access control set to access the registry. I no longer have the Windows build environment set up to try and test this:

https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/lib...ontrol.aspx#Y0
Interesting but this solution changes the model used from HKLM to HKCU which would mean each user on the machine would need a separate set of keys and potentially different values created.

Not sure we want to go to different registry values per user but i guess thats what a discussion is for...to see how others feel about the approach.

BTW...not sure i would be taking this type of change on right now.

k
Reply With Quote
  #91  
Old 02-04-2016, 08:41 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,952
Quote:
Originally Posted by jusjoken View Post
Interesting but this solution changes the model used from HKLM to HKCU which would mean each user on the machine would need a separate set of keys and potentially different values created.

Not sure we want to go to different registry values per user but i guess thats what a discussion is for...to see how others feel about the approach.

BTW...not sure i would be taking this type of change on right now.

k
I'm pretty sure user level programs can READ HKLM just fine, they just can't write to it without administrator privileges. This really means that the only thing that'd really need administrator would be the installer, and the SageTVServiceControl.exe (which if we add the heap settings there, would be super clean). SageTVService.exe, SageTV.exe, and SageTVClient.exe should all be able to operate non-elevated, and should still be able to read the HKLM keys to get their heap values (as well as the other registry based items).
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #92  
Old 02-04-2016, 08:48 AM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 2,000
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
I'm pretty sure user level programs can READ HKLM just fine, they just can't write to it without administrator privileges. This really means that the only thing that'd really need administrator would be the installer, and the SageTVServiceControl.exe (which if we add the heap settings there, would be super clean). SageTVService.exe, SageTV.exe, and SageTVClient.exe should all be able to operate non-elevated, and should still be able to read the HKLM keys to get their heap values (as well as the other registry based items).
The key there is "should". In practice so far that has not been the case. Some users even manually created the heap info and Sage would not read it. As well there are reports of Sage not reading the capture card entries either until we elevated the EXE's.

However, I agree that it should be able to so when I have time I will play with the installer creating and setting permissions to the HKLM entries and see if that can allow us to remove the manifests that force the EXE to be elevated.

k
Reply With Quote
  #93  
Old 02-04-2016, 08:58 AM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,851
Quote:
Originally Posted by jusjoken View Post
The key there is "should". In practice so far that has not been the case. Some users even manually created the heap info and Sage would not read it. As well there are reports of Sage not reading the capture card entries either until we elevated the EXE's.

However, I agree that it should be able to so when I have time I will play with the installer creating and setting permissions to the HKLM entries and see if that can allow us to remove the manifests that force the EXE to be elevated.

k
I have not tried but I bet these EXE's will work fine without elevation prior to Windows 8. I think the problem will only be on systems with Windows 8 or newer.
__________________
Server: i5 3470, MSI H67MA-E35(B3), 16GB RAM, 12TB drive array, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.4_rc15e
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #94  
Old 02-04-2016, 11:39 AM
phantomii phantomii is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 138
I had issues with SageTV reading both the Java Heap as well as my capture card values from the registry and I am on Windows 7. I am not sure what all the Manifest changes are that are being discussed but my general feeling are "Don't mess with it if it ain't broke" and for me at least, things are working just fine at this point. Just one man's opinion......
Reply With Quote
  #95  
Old 02-05-2016, 07:24 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,952
Quote:
Originally Posted by jusjoken View Post
The key there is "should". In practice so far that has not been the case. Some users even manually created the heap info and Sage would not read it. As well there are reports of Sage not reading the capture card entries either until we elevated the EXE's.

However, I agree that it should be able to so when I have time I will play with the installer creating and setting permissions to the HKLM entries and see if that can allow us to remove the manifests that force the EXE to be elevated.

k
I believe the issue is that the launcher is trying to open the key as full access (KEY_ALL_ACCESS) - it is actually trying to create the key, using RegCreateKeyEx, which will create the key or simply opening the key if it already exists. I'm guessing that this is causing the key to simply not get opened, because it cannot obtain the ALL_ACCESS permissions, so since the key cannot be opened, it cannot be read. If we rewrite the registry code in launcher.cpp to only use RegOpenEx with KEY_READ permissions, it may work without elevation (obviously, the keys would need to be read elsewhere, or at the very least, if the key doesn't exist, the launcher should just use the default value (currently, it sets the key to the default).
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #96  
Old 02-05-2016, 09:38 AM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 560
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
I believe the issue is that the launcher is trying to open the key as full access (KEY_ALL_ACCESS) - it is actually trying to create the key, using RegCreateKeyEx, which will create the key or simply opening the key if it already exists. I'm guessing that this is causing the key to simply not get opened, because it cannot obtain the ALL_ACCESS permissions, so since the key cannot be opened, it cannot be read. If we rewrite the registry code in launcher.cpp to only use RegOpenEx with KEY_READ permissions, it may work without elevation (obviously, the keys would need to be read elsewhere, or at the very least, if the key doesn't exist, the launcher should just use the default value (currently, it sets the key to the default).

There are calls from some of the native code that use KEY_ALL_ACCESS too.
Reply With Quote
  #97  
Old 02-05-2016, 10:29 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,952
Quote:
Originally Posted by wnjj View Post
There are calls from some of the native code that use KEY_ALL_ACCESS too.
Those would need to be changed as well. I really can't imagine any that need it, assuming keys are created by the installer or the service control exe. Just good practice would be to avoid using ALL ACCESS when READ would suffice.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #98  
Old 02-05-2016, 03:55 PM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 2,000
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
Those would need to be changed as well. I really can't imagine any that need it, assuming keys are created by the installer or the service control exe. Just good practice would be to avoid using ALL ACCESS when READ would suffice.
I have resolved the permissions issue by having the installer create the top level Frey entry with full control to the user "Everyone". I removed the manifest changes forcing the Client and Server to run as Administrator and both applications read and write properly to the entire tree under the top level Frey entry.

At this time I think this is the best approach to resolve this. Eventually someone can look into doing something different in the code for any/all of the registry entries but the cleanest change for me is to do this in the installer and return the Client and Server EXE's to not requiring elevation.

PS: I will leave the Service Control needing elevation as it needs elevation to make changes to the service settings.

I will create another pull request to under the Manifest changes for the Server/Server Service/Client and the next installer release will include these changes.

k
Reply With Quote
  #99  
Old 02-21-2016, 10:54 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,327


FYI... I did update the sagetv binaries (and jar)... There were a couple of updates this week for linux and ffmpeg..
Reply With Quote
  #100  
Old 02-21-2016, 01:29 PM
rerooks rerooks is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 150
Is there a way to set that shortcut to be pre-authorized for administrator, so we don't need to type in the administrator password every time we launch sage?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SageTV is Open Source!!! Narflex Announcements 1 01-12-2016 10:36 AM
SageTV Open Source FAQ Opus4 SageTV Software 5 11-11-2015 02:57 PM
SageTV Open Source Narflex Announcements 0 03-09-2015 02:39 PM
Why ISN'T Sagetv open source? matterofrecord General Discussion 9 11-30-2014 10:49 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.