SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Information & Announcements > SageTV Downloads & Instructions

Notices

SageTV Downloads & Instructions This forum is for discussions containing Downloads and Instructions related to the Open Source version of SageTV. Please do not post questions in this forum.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 01-25-2017, 07:18 PM
gordyp's Avatar
gordyp gordyp is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 38
BinTray Server File Version - Release 009 instead of 008?

Jusjoken, just wondering if the release number for Server file on the BinTray site is correct - the files are all 9.0.13.536, but the server file is labeled as release 009 rather than 008 - just wondering if that is a possible typo as all files have been in lockstep regarding versions/releases up to now. I did see that there is a date difference in the files - I just would like to keep things labeled correctly on my end, so I thought I would ask. Thanks!
__________________
SageTV Server:
i5-3470, 24GB, Radeon R7-240 2GB, 8TB, Win10 Pro, HDHR PRIME for Xfinity with OpenDCT 0.5.28; HDHR Connect Duo for OTA, Java: 1.8.0_u181, SageTV 9.1.9.778
SageTV Client:
i5-6600K, 16GB, GeForce GT730 2GB, Win10 Pro, Java: 32-bit 1.8.0_u181, SageTV 9.1.9.778
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 01-25-2017, 09:02 PM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 2,026
Quote:
Originally Posted by gordyp View Post
Jusjoken, just wondering if the release number for Server file on the BinTray site is correct - the files are all 9.0.13.536, but the server file is labeled as release 009 rather than 008 - just wondering if that is a possible typo as all files have been in lockstep regarding versions/releases up to now. I did see that there is a date difference in the files - I just would like to keep things labeled correctly on my end, so I thought I would ask. Thanks!
It's correct. The original .008 was replaced only for the server to fix the overwriting of the service account settings ...no other changes and the other files did not need to change.

If you already installed .008 there is no need to update.

k
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 01-29-2017, 09:47 AM
willieb willieb is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by ASegredo View Post
EDIT: Just tried to install SageTV Client 441 from the Stuckless repository. Got error "C\Program Files(x86)\SageTV\STVERPrstr.dll failed to register HRESULT-2147024770" I also tried it with "Run as Administrator" same result.
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit SP1
Guys,

I upgraded to Version 9 yesterday with seemingly no problems. I have a server, 2 HD100s, an HD200, 2 HD300s and an Android Miniclient all functioning well. I continue to be amazed by the talent and dedication all of you have. My only issue is that every time I try to install the Windows client on my main "work" machine at home, I get the error ASegredo encountered above. The only difference is I am running a fully-up-to-date version of Windows 10. I am installing over a working version of SageTV 7 so I am a little confused about why my mpeg2 drivers hang (not if I click "Ignore" for the STVERPrsts.dll, it is followed by about 15 more dlls that I know relate to Mpeg 2 playback). Any ideas? I can do it manually if someone points me in the right direction. Much appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 01-29-2017, 10:20 AM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 2,026
Quote:
Originally Posted by willieb View Post
Guys,

I upgraded to Version 9 yesterday with seemingly no problems. I have a server, 2 HD100s, an HD200, 2 HD300s and an Android Miniclient all functioning well. I continue to be amazed by the talent and dedication all of you have. My only issue is that every time I try to install the Windows client on my main "work" machine at home, I get the error ASegredo encountered above. The only difference is I am running a fully-up-to-date version of Windows 10. I am installing over a working version of SageTV 7 so I am a little confused about why my mpeg2 drivers hang (not if I click "Ignore" for the STVERPrsts.dll, it is followed by about 15 more dlls that I know relate to Mpeg 2 playback). Any ideas? I can do it manually if someone points me in the right direction. Much appreciated.
This is typically due to a dependency missing on your system. Did you try the kb install mentioned in the installer post? That may not be the right kb any longer but some dependency is missing and we need to track it down. I have an up to date win 10 test vm but it installs fine on it.

k
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 01-29-2017, 03:50 PM
willieb willieb is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 160
Thanks. I tried to install the KB, but they do not have an option for Windows 10. I tried the Windows 8.1 one, but it told me not for my system (which I figured it would do).
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 01-29-2017, 04:02 PM
willieb willieb is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 160
I should also add that I had a version 7 client running on this machine perfectly fine. A few weeks ago I was experimenting and managed to get a version 9 client up and running on this machine using the method of replacing sage.jar and lucene (I think that is what I did - I can't find those instructions again). It seems odd that it is failing now. Is there a way I can get those files out and of the installer and do it manually again?

EDIT: If I ignore all of the dlls and ax files that won't register, it completes. When I try to run it, it says I am missing VCruntime140.dll. Googling this suggests I need the visual C++ runtimes mentioned in the KB article. But Windows 10 can't use those. It looks like Windows 10 uses the Universal CRT and doesn't have VCruntime140.dll. Hopefully that gives a little more info?

Last edited by willieb; 01-29-2017 at 05:16 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 01-29-2017, 06:58 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,953
there most certainly are C++ redistributables for windows 10. I believe 140 is version 14.0, which is the VC++ 2015 version. I just checked my windows 10 machine, and I have 2008, 2010, 2012, 2013, and 2015 redistributables installed.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 01-29-2017, 09:08 PM
willieb willieb is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 160
Fuzzy, thanks for making me keep looking into this. I have it working now, so I will post this in case anyone else has this same error. What I didn't realize is that you have to have the C++ runtimes installed both for the x64 AND x86. I only had the x64 installed. I mistakenly thought that that x86 would not install on my x64 system. My mistake. I just installed the x86 version and after that Sage 9 installed easily and I am now watching live tv on Sage 9. Thanks again for the support guys.

Last edited by willieb; 01-29-2017 at 09:18 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 01-29-2017, 09:12 PM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 2,026
Quote:
Originally Posted by willieb View Post
Fuzzy, thanks for making me keep looking into this. I have it working now, so I will post this in case anyone else has this same error. What I didn't realize is that you have to have the C++ runtimes installed both for the x64 AND x86. I only had the x64 installed. I mistakenly thought that that x86 would not install on my x64 system. My mistake. I just installed the x86 version and everything installed easily and I am now watching on Sage 9. Thanks again for the support guys.
Interesting. The windows installer should install the x86 runtimes. Perhaps if the x64 already exists then it may skip this. I will do some testing as this may explain this issue and perhaps i can update the install test to ensure its testing specifically for the x86 runtime.

k
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 01-29-2017, 09:22 PM
willieb willieb is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by jusjoken View Post
Interesting. The windows installer should install the x86 runtimes. Perhaps if the x64 already exists then it may skip this. I will do some testing as this may explain this issue and perhaps i can update the install test to ensure its testing specifically for the x86 runtime.

k
It definitely did not install the x86 for me and I definitely already had the x64 installed. Hopefully my woes will help you refine it so nobody else will have this issue! Cheers!
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 01-30-2017, 06:45 PM
AlphaCrew AlphaCrew is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Whosevile
Posts: 191
This is probably been discussed before, but what is the problem with including an MPEG decoder with the installation, and what's it going to take to get over that hurdle (whatever that hurdle(s) is)?
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 01-30-2017, 07:23 PM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 2,026
Quote:
Originally Posted by willieb View Post
It definitely did not install the x86 for me and I definitely already had the x64 installed. Hopefully my woes will help you refine it so nobody else will have this issue! Cheers!
I have this fixed....thanks for finding it. I am sure numerous issues have been this exact issue but we had not figured it out.

So the installer .010 that I am currently uploading, will specifically check for the existence of the x86 vc++ 2010 and 2015 runtimes and install them even if the x64 runtimes exist.

Thanks again.

k
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 01-30-2017, 08:44 PM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,876
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlphaCrew View Post
This is probably been discussed before, but what is the problem with including an MPEG decoder with the installation, and what's it going to take to get over that hurdle (whatever that hurdle(s) is)?
Licensing fees. Or possibly permission to include a free one.
__________________
Server: i5 3470, MSI H67MA-E35(B3), 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 240GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.1
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 01-31-2017, 07:52 AM
jmonier jmonier is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlphaCrew View Post
This is probably been discussed before, but what is the problem with including an MPEG decoder with the installation, and what's it going to take to get over that hurdle (whatever that hurdle(s) is)?
Note that for LAV decoders (which are the best IMHO), they are easy to get and install separately and then are easily accessible from Sage.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 01-31-2017, 06:46 PM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 2,026
Quote:
Originally Posted by jusjoken View Post
I have this fixed....thanks for finding it. I am sure numerous issues have been this exact issue but we had not figured it out.

So the installer .010 that I am currently uploading, will specifically check for the existence of the x86 vc++ 2010 and 2015 runtimes and install them even if the x64 runtimes exist.

Thanks again.

k
As of version 9.0.13.536_R1.010 the installer should properly install the x86 VC++ runtime libraries even if the x64 equivalents are already installed.

There is no value to upgrade to this version from 9.0.13.536_R1.008 or 9.0.13.536_R1.009 as SageTV has not changed in it.

k
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 01-31-2017, 06:53 PM
AlphaCrew AlphaCrew is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Whosevile
Posts: 191
I'm just thinking about those who don't put in the time to find out that there is no MPEG decoder included with the installation. There must be a reasonable way to have it included.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 01-31-2017, 07:18 PM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 2,026
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlphaCrew View Post
I'm just thinking about those who don't put in the time to find out that there is no MPEG decoder included with the installation. There must be a reasonable way to have it included.
There likely is and i could look into adding it but someone else needs to do the investigation around the rights and rules on distributing LAV filters with other products. That would be where to start and then we can review the technical side of installing them with the windows installer.

k
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 01-31-2017, 08:59 PM
wnjj wnjj is online now
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 642
Can the installer put up a dialog box saying the decoders may be needed, along with a link or is there already something there?
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 02-04-2017, 03:19 PM
sflamm sflamm is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,642
Installer Stops

Tried to run the SageTVSetup_9.0.13.536_R1.010.exe installer and it immediately stops (see attached image)

This is Windows 7 Profession 32-bit

Please let me know what to do ....


------

Crash log files attached in zip
Attached Images
File Type: png Intall Stopped 9.0.13.536_R1.010.PNG (69.0 KB, 103 views)
Attached Files
File Type: zip crash log files.zip (31.2 KB, 19 views)

Last edited by sflamm; 02-04-2017 at 03:27 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 02-04-2017, 03:36 PM
sflamm sflamm is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,642
Tried SageTVSetup_9.0.13.536_R1.009.exe - same crash.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Open Source Windows Installer jusjoken SageTV Github Development 460 08-21-2017 03:47 AM
Windows installer and running as a service Opus4 SageTV Github Development 13 01-01-2016 07:33 AM
Any news on the Windows installer? Damstas SageTV Github Development 2 09-03-2015 10:09 AM
Web Interface - where is the Windows installer ckewinjones SageTV Customizations 2 01-09-2011 10:36 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.