SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Information & Announcements > SageTV Downloads & Instructions

Notices

SageTV Downloads & Instructions This forum is for discussions containing Downloads and Instructions related to the Open Source version of SageTV. Please do not post questions in this forum.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #41  
Old 06-05-2016, 03:40 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,968
Quote:
Originally Posted by BobPhoenix View Post
I can browse the network with the docker stuckless put out. The only thing I had to do to browse to my computers is eliminate my WHS v1 server from becoming the master browser on the network. My unRAID server is my master browser but my WHSv1 server would ignore the fact that a master browser already existed when it booted and list itself as the master browser also which eliminated browsing from the docker since there were two master browsers on the network.

Basically I turned off on my WHSv1 server the following:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\Browser\Parameters key MaintainServerList. It was set to Yes I set it to NO and then I was able to browse the network from the docker.

I also found that SageTV installed on Mint 17.3 to be able to browse the network when the Ubuntu and Debian installs I tried could not - don't know why. Probably just luck of the draw or some setting I changed that I don't remember now.
I have no problem browsing the Network through Ubuntu. Just with SageTV.

I have 4 Drives that I record to. 2 Nases with movies and shows and I can't see myself mounting all these just to use SageTV in Linux .... when UBUNTU sees all the shares and I can play files from them.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.

Last edited by nyplayer; 06-05-2016 at 03:57 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 06-05-2016, 03:43 PM
BobPhoenix BobPhoenix is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3,092
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
I have no problem browsing the Network through Ubuntu. Just with SageTV.
Me too. What fixed the docker browsing was turning off WHSv1 master browser settings. Any linux install I used could browse the network but only on Mint was I able to get SageTV to browse the network when I had two master browsers.
__________________
"Keep your goals away from the trolls"
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 06-05-2016, 08:15 PM
SageWizdom SageWizdom is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: https://github.com/SageWizdom/SageConnect
Posts: 216
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
However, as a pseudo developer/community guy here, I feel I need to push the project towards ease of use ...
I strongly support this viewpoint. While I may like linux, it needs to be invisible from the perspective of the "SageTV" end user. I think it begs the question to the community... what features should just work, and what should be the standard "way" that things just work?
__________________
Server: Centos Server 14.04 LTS - 64Bit, VM in XenServer, 2 cores of a Intel i7, 2-4 GB Ram, 8 GB system Disk, 1.8 TB storage, SageTV V9.0.4.232, HDHR Prime x 1

Clients: PC Client x 1, HD-300 x 1, AppleTV x 2, WebClient (phone/tablet) x 3
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 06-14-2016, 05:14 PM
ptaylor ptaylor is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 308
SageWizdom,

I loaded a machine with this script. I've got OpenDCT working with it, and it's recording shows. I can't seem to get it to convert a video though. When I try, it just fails immediately. Is there something else that needs to be installed for this to work?

Thanks,
Paul
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 06-14-2016, 09:16 PM
SageWizdom SageWizdom is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: https://github.com/SageWizdom/SageConnect
Posts: 216
The 64bit version of the encoder is broken, try the below link and see if that works for you. It tells how to install the 32 bit version. I'm using this and it does work. Holler if you get stuck


http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/show...0&postcount=22
__________________
Server: Centos Server 14.04 LTS - 64Bit, VM in XenServer, 2 cores of a Intel i7, 2-4 GB Ram, 8 GB system Disk, 1.8 TB storage, SageTV V9.0.4.232, HDHR Prime x 1

Clients: PC Client x 1, HD-300 x 1, AppleTV x 2, WebClient (phone/tablet) x 3
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 06-17-2016, 08:21 PM
ptaylor ptaylor is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 308
Thanks! The 32 bit workaround appears to be working...
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 07-10-2016, 07:25 AM
El Jeffe' El Jeffe' is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 20
Appreciate all the work you guys are putting into creating an automated mechanism to install SageTV/OpenDCT on Linux. I just attempted to run the automated install script and I'm having some problems, so I'm hoping someone can tell me what I'm doing wrong. So far, I've done the following:

Installed Ubuntu 14.04.3 LTS
Used wget to pull the "installsage.txt" script on the first page of this thread
Executed "mv installsage.txt installsage.sh"
Executed "chmod a+x installsage.sh"
Executed "sudo ./installsage.sh"

I'm receiving the long string of error messages listed within the attached text document. Hoping someone can help me out. Thanks in advance!
Attached Files
File Type: txt output.txt (18.8 KB, 40 views)
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 07-10-2016, 08:02 PM
SageWizdom SageWizdom is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: https://github.com/SageWizdom/SageConnect
Posts: 216
Quote:
Originally Posted by El Jeffe' View Post
Appreciate all the work you guys are putting into creating an automated mechanism to install SageTV/OpenDCT on Linux. I just attempted to run the automated install script and I'm having some problems, so I'm hoping someone can tell me what I'm doing wrong. So far, I've done the following:

Installed Ubuntu 14.04.3 LTS
Used wget to pull the "installsage.txt" script on the first page of this thread
Executed "mv installsage.txt installsage.sh"
Executed "chmod a+x installsage.sh"
Executed "sudo ./installsage.sh"

I'm receiving the long string of error messages listed within the attached text document. Hoping someone can help me out. Thanks in advance!
Reading through the errors, it looks like it somehow downloaded an html file instead of the script. I'm going to go take a look and double check the link.
__________________
Server: Centos Server 14.04 LTS - 64Bit, VM in XenServer, 2 cores of a Intel i7, 2-4 GB Ram, 8 GB system Disk, 1.8 TB storage, SageTV V9.0.4.232, HDHR Prime x 1

Clients: PC Client x 1, HD-300 x 1, AppleTV x 2, WebClient (phone/tablet) x 3
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 07-10-2016, 08:09 PM
SageWizdom SageWizdom is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: https://github.com/SageWizdom/SageConnect
Posts: 216
It looks like the url was automatically shortened at some point. I updated the post and it should be fixed now. Try again from the "wget" step and let me know how it goes.
__________________
Server: Centos Server 14.04 LTS - 64Bit, VM in XenServer, 2 cores of a Intel i7, 2-4 GB Ram, 8 GB system Disk, 1.8 TB storage, SageTV V9.0.4.232, HDHR Prime x 1

Clients: PC Client x 1, HD-300 x 1, AppleTV x 2, WebClient (phone/tablet) x 3
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 07-10-2016, 08:16 PM
SageWizdom SageWizdom is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: https://github.com/SageWizdom/SageConnect
Posts: 216
Actually, if you give me 20 min, I'll update the script to be pulling the latest sage (which it is not at present).
__________________
Server: Centos Server 14.04 LTS - 64Bit, VM in XenServer, 2 cores of a Intel i7, 2-4 GB Ram, 8 GB system Disk, 1.8 TB storage, SageTV V9.0.4.232, HDHR Prime x 1

Clients: PC Client x 1, HD-300 x 1, AppleTV x 2, WebClient (phone/tablet) x 3
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 07-10-2016, 08:57 PM
SageWizdom SageWizdom is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: https://github.com/SageWizdom/SageConnect
Posts: 216
I updated the script to pull the latest sage build (9.0.4.287) and latest opendct build (Beta 0.5.7-1).

** Note: I have not tested this as thoroughly as I normally would. If you run into problems... please ping and I'll try to fix. **

I originally was using opendct beta as it provided some very specific features (which I forget what they are). Do not hesitate to holler if I should stick with stable for now.
__________________
Server: Centos Server 14.04 LTS - 64Bit, VM in XenServer, 2 cores of a Intel i7, 2-4 GB Ram, 8 GB system Disk, 1.8 TB storage, SageTV V9.0.4.232, HDHR Prime x 1

Clients: PC Client x 1, HD-300 x 1, AppleTV x 2, WebClient (phone/tablet) x 3
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 07-10-2016, 09:05 PM
El Jeffe' El Jeffe' is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 20
Sorry for the delayed response - I've been troubleshooting my problem for the past few hours. I did eventually figure out that the file I had downloaded was HTML from the first page of this thread rather than the actual script. The install went pretty smoothly once I got a copy of the script onto my Sage box and updated a few of the links (I stayed with the latest stable version of OpenDCT). Again, I appreciate all of the time that you and others have put into making the SageTV/OpenDCT install experience relatively painless - even for Linux newb's like me.
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 07-12-2016, 07:40 PM
SageWizdom SageWizdom is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: https://github.com/SageWizdom/SageConnect
Posts: 216
Quote:
Originally Posted by El Jeffe' View Post
Again, I appreciate all of the time that you and others have put into making the SageTV/OpenDCT install experience relatively painless - even for Linux newb's like me.
I'm glad it was helpful. Linux is not everyone's cup of tea. If this makes it so more people can get involved and support Sage, then it is worth it. Happy viewing.

Holler if you have any questions, Linux, Sage or whatever!
__________________
Server: Centos Server 14.04 LTS - 64Bit, VM in XenServer, 2 cores of a Intel i7, 2-4 GB Ram, 8 GB system Disk, 1.8 TB storage, SageTV V9.0.4.232, HDHR Prime x 1

Clients: PC Client x 1, HD-300 x 1, AppleTV x 2, WebClient (phone/tablet) x 3
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 07-24-2016, 03:06 PM
cat6man's Avatar
cat6man cat6man is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: West of NYC, East of SF
Posts: 847
linux question here.

i'm running ubuntu14 lts but would like to run ubuntu16 lts for compatibility with a totally different program i want to run simultaneously on my sage machine ('HQPlayer embedded' which is going to be a key part of my audio server and needs to be on my always-on NUC).

i'm having problems installing 'hqplayer embedded' due to impcompatible version of GOMP and some other stuff and the easiest solution would be to upgrade my sage server to ubuntu 16................but i'm not messing with it until i know you experts have given that upgrade your blessing.

what do you guys think?
__________________
Q: dad, when will you stop changing all the electronics?
A: never, so you might as well get used to it.
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 07-26-2016, 05:57 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,403
Quote:
Originally Posted by cat6man View Post
linux question here.

i'm running ubuntu14 lts but would like to run ubuntu16 lts for compatibility with a totally different program i want to run simultaneously on my sage machine ('HQPlayer embedded' which is going to be a key part of my audio server and needs to be on my always-on NUC).

i'm having problems installing 'hqplayer embedded' due to impcompatible version of GOMP and some other stuff and the easiest solution would be to upgrade my sage server to ubuntu 16................but i'm not messing with it until i know you experts have given that upgrade your blessing.

what do you guys think?
My Docker containers for SageTV are running Ubuntu 16.04, so if the question is will sagetv work on 16.04, then yes, you should be be fine.
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 07-26-2016, 07:36 PM
cat6man's Avatar
cat6man cat6man is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: West of NYC, East of SF
Posts: 847
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
My Docker containers for SageTV are running Ubuntu 16.04, so if the question is will sagetv work on 16.04, then yes, you should be be fine.
sounds good. i installed via the script, so does the Docker container mean i need to upgrade to ubuntu 16, then re-install? or does it mean that i can update to 16 and it will just work?

sorry, i need to do some quick research on containers/dockers, etc.
__________________
Q: dad, when will you stop changing all the electronics?
A: never, so you might as well get used to it.
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 07-27-2016, 01:24 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,953
I think he was just stating that sage works on 16, as is shown by his docker container being based on 16.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 07-27-2016, 10:34 AM
cat6man's Avatar
cat6man cat6man is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: West of NYC, East of SF
Posts: 847
is openDCT also part of the package that works on ubuntu 16?
__________________
Q: dad, when will you stop changing all the electronics?
A: never, so you might as well get used to it.
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 08-03-2016, 12:45 PM
jbuszkie's Avatar
jbuszkie jbuszkie is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Westminster, MA
Posts: 916
I just tried the latest script on a fresh install of 16.04.1 on a vm.
It did not work. I got lots of errors.

I'll try on a fresh 14.04.4.. I can't find the 14.04.3 that the initial was tested on.

edit: I attached the output. It complained about the CDROM several times. I'll take a quick look, but I'm no Linux expert. This was installed from an ISO image in the VM machine. Also there was no eth0. The VM has a ens33 for the network interface.
Attached Files
File Type: txt sage_install_16.04.1.log.txt (10.4 KB, 56 views)

Last edited by jbuszkie; 08-03-2016 at 12:52 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 08-03-2016, 01:28 PM
jbuszkie's Avatar
jbuszkie jbuszkie is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Westminster, MA
Posts: 916
Code:
sudo: add-apt-repository: command not found
Was the issue with java.. I had to do this
Code:
sudo apt-get install software-properties-common
Then it installed java..
This was after hard coding my interface to ens33 from eth0.

It seems like it installed? Now I have to figure out how to test it..

Will a V7 client connect to V9 server?

Jim
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SageTV 7 - Arch Linux 2013.10.01 Install HOWTO bcjenkins SageTV Linux 3 09-14-2014 04:57 PM
Linux suspend / resume script? drewg SageTV Linux 2 04-14-2013 06:26 PM
ComChecker for Linux/Mac Script Version bcjenkins SageTV Customizations 10 04-30-2010 03:01 PM
Utility: Linux/OS X batch beta firmware upgrade script bcjenkins SageTV Customizations 3 08-13-2008 07:08 AM
Perl script to automatically grab movie thumbs sundansx SageTV Customizations 0 01-10-2007 11:41 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.