SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-11-2020, 02:45 PM
AlbuQuirky AlbuQuirky is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 13
V9-64bit PC playback crashes only on some OTA Channels

The SageTV PC window display repeatably crashes on playback in any mode (live channel, channel preview, or completed recordings) with a JRE Exception Access Violation. The crashes are only associated with specific channels in the OTA lineup. Playback in any mode from the remainder channels is without failure.
Playback in any mode using either of two remote HD300 clients connected to the 64-bit server is without failures.

I am attempting to make the leap directly to the 64-bit version on a new Dell XPS8930 with Windows 10 Pro 64-bit.
I am successfully recording from my existing pair of 2-channel HDHomerun OTA encoders (model HDHR4-2US).
The SiliconDust software and its OTA lineup plays all channels as expected through its PC window display without failures.
My existing V9.1.9-32bit SageTV service for OTA, on an old XPS8300 with Windows 7, does not have this display problem.

I have tried various combinations of video and audio settings with no apparent change.

Configuration:
Intel(R) Core(TM) i9-9900 CPU @ 3.10GHz, 3096 Mhz, 8 Core(s), 16 Logical Processor(s)
Intel 500GB SSD
Toshiba 2TB HDD
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 GPU
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Clean load on SDD by Dell support)
Version 10.0.18363 Build 18363.752
Updated Version: 1909

I am attaching latest hs_err_pid#.log, SystemInfo.txt and a snip of the current Video/Audio Settings.

Any suggestions?
Sorry for my lack of sophistication with using the forum properly.
Thanks for any help.
Attached Files
File Type: txt hs_err_pid10276.log.txt (39.8 KB, 100 views)
File Type: pdf Vid-Aud Snip 2020-04-11.png.pdf (279.9 KB, 102 views)
File Type: txt SystemInfo.txt (5.1 KB, 103 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-17-2020, 03:05 PM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,454
The hs_err_pid file shows it's crashing inside the Lav filter during the graph setup:

Code:
Stack: [0x000000eeae100000,0x000000eeae200000],  sp=0x000000eeae1fcd40,  free space=1011k
Native frames: (J=compiled Java code, j=interpreted, Vv=VM code, C=native code)
C  [LAVVideo.ax+0x23bcb]
C  [LAVVideo.ax+0x26d8]
C  [LAVVideo.ax+0x17114]
C  [LAVVideo.ax+0x1ccc0]
C  [LAVVideo.ax+0x1cf25]
C  [LAVVideo.ax+0xa8091]
C  [LAVVideo.ax+0xa1192]
C  0x00007ffce32742e5
C  0x00007ffce3277eee
C  0x00007ffce3273f57
C  0x00007ffce3274b6b
C  0x00007ffce326f6d5
C  [quartz.dll+0x3ffe3]
C  [quartz.dll+0x3fe76]
C  [DShowPlayer.dll+0xaefe]
C  [DShowPlayer.dll+0xb6b7]
C  [DShowPlayer.dll+0x16371]
C  0x000002070c3d9f2e

Java frames: (J=compiled Java code, j=interpreted, Vv=VM code)
j  sage.DShowMediaPlayer.setupGraph0(JLjava/lang/String;Ljava/lang/String;ZZ)V+0

Most likely something funny in the stream is crashing it. Unfortunately I don't know of an easy answer since I don't know what easy, free alternatives there are for 64 bit.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-17-2020, 04:36 PM
AlbuQuirky AlbuQuirky is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 13
wnjj, thanks for your reply.
I am responding to a question that is in your email notification, not in your post:
What type of file is it, MPEG2?

SiliconDust declares that:
HDHomeRun CONNECT (HDHR4-2US) only streams raw mpeg2 HD streams.
The file type generated by SageTV is .mpg

I agree that the error file points at the native code of the LAV filters.
But, my attempts at selecting the others in settings yielded no change in behavior.
That may be an operator error on my part.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-18-2020, 02:11 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlbuQuirky View Post
Configuration:
Intel(R) Core(TM) i9-9900 CPU @ 3.10GHz, 3096 Mhz, 8 Core(s), 16 Logical Processor(s)
Your CPU doesn't have nearly enough horsepower for SageTV

Jealous!
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-18-2020, 02:56 PM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,454
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlbuQuirky View Post
wnjj, thanks for your reply.
I am responding to a question that is in your email notification, not in your post:
What type of file is it, MPEG2?

SiliconDust declares that:
HDHomeRun CONNECT (HDHR4-2US) only streams raw mpeg2 HD streams.
The file type generated by SageTV is .mpg

I agree that the error file points at the native code of the LAV filters.
But, my attempts at selecting the others in settings yielded no change in behavior.
That may be an operator error on my part.
Yeah, I edited that out once I reread that your using HDHR which answered my question.

There are other users with your same HW but I haven’t heard of others with your issue. It’s very concerning if it’s something in the broadcast format that may have changed and LAV hasn’t caught up with it.

I run an HDHR and was one of the primary developers for the 64-bit port but ironically I’m still on 32-bit as I haven’t had the need to change anything in a working system yet. I also rarely watch anything on other than extenders.

Have you tried installing the latest LAV filters or are you using whatever the installer uses?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-18-2020, 04:56 PM
AlbuQuirky AlbuQuirky is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
Your CPU doesn't have nearly enough horsepower for SageTV
Yes, but it must meet the requirements:
Perform all tasks at the same time.
Expand and upgrade without limit.
Live forever.
Walk on water.

BTW: Do you remember your thread from 2017?
"V9 crashes during channel preview EXCEPTION ACCESS VIOLATION" exhibited similar symptom. It has no replies or comments.
Does it have relevance for my problem? What was the resolution?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-18-2020, 05:12 PM
AlbuQuirky AlbuQuirky is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by wnjj View Post
Have you tried installing the latest LAV filters or are you using whatever the installer uses?
I tried selecting other filters by the Audio/Video Settings but saw no change in symptoms. Your statement suggests an inconsistency in what I was was doing. I will have an opportunity in the morning to rerun my steps and then look at what is involved in updating the LAV filter.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-19-2020, 08:56 AM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,585
By the way change VMR9 to EVR see if that helps
Just wondering do the Video play out side of SageTV like with MS Movies &TV Player ?.

Last edited by SHS; 04-19-2020 at 09:07 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-19-2020, 11:01 AM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,454
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlbuQuirky View Post
I tried selecting other filters by the Audio/Video Settings but saw no change in symptoms. Your statement suggests an inconsistency in what I was was doing. I will have an opportunity in the morning to rerun my steps and then look at what is involved in updating the LAV filter.

Thanks.
LAV filters are available as a third party installer here: https://github.com/Nevcairiel/LAVFilters/releases

That said, I donít see anything relevant in their revision history so itís a long shot.

Can you post your sagetv_0.txt file from when it crashes? If youíre running as a service then post sageclient_0.txt. I think that will list the various filters available on your system. Briefly play a working clip first before a bad one so we can compare the graph definition.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-19-2020, 11:17 AM
AlbuQuirky AlbuQuirky is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by SHS View Post
By the way change VMR9 to EVR see if that helps
Just wondering do the Video play out side of SageTV like with MS Movies &TV Player ?.
SHS, thank you for your reply.

Playing recording from failing channel using Movies & TV player or Dell's Power Media Player does not fail.

I changed the Video Render setting to EVR. Same display crash on playback associated with a failing channel. To recheck, I restarted SageTV service; same display crash on playback.

Stack: [0x0000000408100000,0x0000000408200000], sp=0x00000004081fd1c0, free space=1012k
Native frames: (J=compiled Java code, j=interpreted, Vv=VM code, C=native code)
C [LAVVideo.ax+0x23bcb]
C [LAVVideo.ax+0x26d8]
C [LAVVideo.ax+0x17114]
C [LAVVideo.ax+0x1ccc0]
C [LAVVideo.ax+0x1cf25]
C [LAVVideo.ax+0xa8091]
C [LAVVideo.ax+0xa1192]
C 0x00007ff8bc5b42e5
C 0x00007ff8bc5b7eee
C 0x00007ff8bc5b3f57
C 0x00007ff8bc5b4b6b
C 0x00007ff8bc5af6d5
C [quartz.dll+0x3ffe3]
C [quartz.dll+0x3fe76]
C [DShowPlayer.dll+0xaefe]
C [DShowPlayer.dll+0xb6b7]
C [DShowPlayer.dll+0x16371]
C 0x000001ae64d89f2e
Attached Files
File Type: txt hs_err_pid4964.log.txt (39.7 KB, 87 views)
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-19-2020, 11:37 AM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,585
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlbuQuirky View Post
SHS, thank you for your reply.

Playing recording from failing channel using Movies & TV player or Dell's Power Media Player does not fail.

I changed the Video Render setting to EVR. Same display crash on playback associated with a failing channel. To recheck, I restarted SageTV service; same display crash on playback.
Can you take a screenshot of your LAV Video Configuration it under that start menu
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-19-2020, 03:04 PM
AlbuQuirky AlbuQuirky is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by wnjj View Post
Can you post your sagetv_0.txt file from when it crashes? If youíre running as a service then post sageclient_0.txt. I think that will list the various filters available on your system. Briefly play a working clip first before a bad one so we can compare the graph definition.
Let me know if I failed your request.
Attached Files
File Type: txt sagetv_0.txt (471.4 KB, 79 views)
File Type: txt sagetvclient_0.txt (288.9 KB, 88 views)
File Type: txt hs_err_pid15408.log.txt (39.5 KB, 97 views)
File Type: txt CopySage.properties.txt (39.2 KB, 80 views)
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-19-2020, 07:40 PM
Galaxysurfer Galaxysurfer is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Calgary, AB CANADA
Posts: 354
I know my solution won't help you with win 7 but in win 10 you can download MIcrosoft mpg codec through the winstore. For older OS I'm not sure what alt there is to the free LAV ones. In the past I have used these. Can't vouch for their current state, security etc.

http://shark007.net/advanced.html

Good Luck

PS
Latest LAV version is 0.74.1.34 as of Mar 12, 2020 which updated ffmpeg

Last edited by Galaxysurfer; 04-19-2020 at 07:46 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-23-2020, 04:02 PM
AlbuQuirky AlbuQuirky is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by SHS View Post
Can you take a screenshot of your LAV Video Configuration it under that start menu
SHS, thanks for your reply.
Since 4 days have elapsed before showing in the thread, I have tried a number of tests. I think a few of them may be relevant. For testing, I used two example files, one from a channel that doesn't fail and the other from a channel that does.
First:
I upgraded the LAV Filters to the latest version, 0.74.1. The result seems to me to be the same crash behavior as before.
Second:
I replaced all LAV Filter use in the Video/Audio settings: see the jpg of the settings menu screenshoot. Again the result seems to be the same except there is no mention of the LAV code: please see the attached error log and sagetvclient file. From this result, I think that the LAV Filters may have nothing to do with the JRE Exception. And, indeed, given the similar results for the EVR and MS decoder, they may suggest that the fault may lie outside or below the renderers and decoders.
Third:
I uninstalled the JRE version 241 (32 & 64 bit) and ran a repair install of SageTV64bit and let it install it's older version of the 64bit JRE. Again the crash appearred to be the same. Following that, I upgraded the JRE to version 251 (32 & 64bit) and again the same crash behavior was the result.
Looking forward your thoughts. Am I off track with this?
Many thanks for the time you and any others put into it.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 2020-04-23 143323.jpg (253.4 KB, 83 views)
Attached Files
File Type: txt hs_err_pid9804.log.txt (39.8 KB, 114 views)
File Type: txt sagetvclient_0.txt (316.3 KB, 87 views)
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-23-2020, 06:54 PM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,454
Code:
IPin* CPlayerData::GetSourceVideoPin()
{
	return FindPin(m_pDeMux, PINDIR_OUTPUT, &MEDIATYPE_Video, NULL);
}

**********************************

HRESULT CPlayerData::RenderVideo()
{
	if (!m_pDeMux) return E_POINTER;
	slog(("NATIVE RenderVideo called\r\n"));
	IPin* videoSource = GetSourceVideoPin();
	if (!videoSource) return E_FAIL;

	HRESULT hr = S_OK;

	// Check for a video filter to connect to
	slog(("NATIVE RenderVideo step 1\r\n"));
	hr = RenderNextInChain(&videoSource, m_pVideoDecoder, &MEDIATYPE_Video);
	if (FAILED(hr))
		elog(("Unable to use the specified video decoder filter\r\n"));
	// Check for a video postprocessing filter to connect to
	slog(("NATIVE RenderVideo step 2\r\n"));
Since it gets to "RenderVideo step 1" but not step 2, it's crashing when trying to connect the demux (the filter that splits video & audio) output pin to the video decoder input pin. Apparently it doesn't matter what video decoder you choose. One interesting thing I noticed was the audio was 2 tracks on the working file and 6 on the failing which may explain the difference but maybe not.

For MPEG2 format, it is using the MpegDeMux.ax filter which is complied from SageTV source. The thing is, that demux has been in use for quite some time but there is code in there that parses the stream. I wonder if something new in the format is uncovering a bug there?

If you can share a manageable sized recording (a couple minutes is fine) from one of these bad channels I may be able to find time to try to crash it here where I can add some debug code. I'm pretty green when it comes to filter/demux code but could maybe hack some debug logging in.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-23-2020, 07:13 PM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,454
Another thing you can try: Does the 32-bit version crash the same way? You can install the 32-bit client on the same machine and it should be able to talk to the 64-bit server.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-23-2020, 10:20 PM
AlbuQuirky AlbuQuirky is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by wnjj View Post
If you can share a manageable sized recording (a couple minutes is fine) from one of these bad channels I may be able to find time to try to crash it here where I can add some debug code. I'm pretty green when it comes to filter/demux code but could maybe hack some debug logging in.
wnjj,
I have a couple of snippets at 3 minutes each. Even reduced to 1 minute, they are too big for the attachment limits (750 KB). How do I get them to you? Will replying to the email notifications with attachments make it to you?
They are labeled PASS and FAIL and will load when scanned into the Videos category (not TV). I have confirmed that they behave as expected.

BTW: Also correlating with the channel count, the files that fail are marked 'HD' and the ones that work are not.

I will play with the 32-bit client install tomorrow.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 04-24-2020, 07:54 AM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,585
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlbuQuirky View Post
wnjj,
I have a couple of snippets at 3 minutes each. Even reduced to 1 minute, they are too big for the attachment limits (750 KB). How do I get them to you? Will replying to the email notifications with attachments make it to you?
They are labeled PASS and FAIL and will load when scanned into the Videos category (not TV). I have confirmed that they behave as expected.

BTW: Also correlating with the channel count, the files that fail are marked 'HD' and the ones that work are not.

I will play with the 32-bit client install tomorrow.
if have google use drive and set to pubic link and post it here or used wetransfer use my email address shspvrAThotmailDOTcom and post wetransfer link


Run registry editor and search for EnableSageTVStreamDemux what is it value data 0 or 1
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 04-24-2020, 10:37 AM
AlbuQuirky AlbuQuirky is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by SHS View Post
Run registry editor and search for EnableSageTVStreamDemux what is it value data 0 or 1
SHS, I have attached jpgs of the results from the Registry search.

I will send the snippet files by email for both you and wnjj.

Thanks again for the help.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Registry 2020-04-24 081025.jpg (45.6 KB, 88 views)
File Type: jpg Registry 2020-04-24 081136.jpg (46.4 KB, 81 views)
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 04-24-2020, 11:04 AM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,454
Quote:
Originally Posted by SHS View Post
if have google use drive and set to pubic link and post it here or used wetransfer use my email address shspvrAThotmailDOTcom and post wetransfer link


Run registry editor and search for EnableSageTVStreamDemux what is it value data 0 or 1
StreamDemux isnít used for MPEG2 anyway. Itís using MpegDeMux.ax.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Linux 64bit MiniClient (issues with JTux on 64bit) stuckless SageTV Github Development 23 08-19-2015 12:54 PM
Hauppauge 2250 no channels in Win7 64bit dvd_maniac Hardware Support 2 03-28-2010 09:34 AM
H.264 Playback Crashes on ClientPC Brent SageTV Beta Test Software 2 11-22-2008 02:44 PM
Server crashes after adding channels to A180 harrijay SageTV Linux 0 12-17-2007 08:59 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.