SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-14-2020, 10:33 PM
mike1961 mike1961 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: California
Posts: 1,554
How Do You Backup Sage Recordings?

Suppose you have say Drive X:\videos with sage recordings and Z:\backup. Now suppose you have 2000 videos and they are all backed up to Z. The following day, if you do a simple XCOPY from the X drive to the Z backup drive and only backup changed files, it's going to backup very fast since there might only be a few files to copy. Then The Z drive will have the new videos recorded on the X drive. The problem is knowing what videos to delete off of the Z drive.

So if the following day 3 files are deleted and 7 files are added, there will be 2004 files on the X drive. Now, if you do an XCOPY you can tell it to quickly copy the 7 new files so that's going to be much faster than trying to recopy everything from scratch. But, how can you tell it to delete the 3 files or in other words, mirror image the folder but copy the changed files and delete the ones off the backup that are no longer on the original?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-15-2020, 01:46 AM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,454
https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/win...mands/robocopy

Check out the /purge option or maybe just /mir.
__________________
Windows Installer
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-15-2020, 05:13 AM
graywolf's Avatar
graywolf graywolf is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 1,337
Rsync would be another option
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-15-2020, 08:20 AM
RonBoyd's Avatar
RonBoyd RonBoyd is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 402
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike1961 View Post
But, how can you tell it to delete the 3 files or in other words, mirror image the folder but copy the changed files and delete the ones off the backup that are no longer on the original?
There are quite a number of software programs that can do that. I, for instance, have my (100,000+) images backed up on 4 different hard drives (yeah, paranoia). I use Compare Advance because as part of the "comparison" stage, I get a list of those files that are missing (and, of course, those that have changed) so I can determine what specific action to take on any or all.

https://www.bauerapps.com/compare-fo...mpare-advance/
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-15-2020, 01:39 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,215
I use Robocopy between two systems in my house. Occasionally I get a large external hard drive and copy all media files to that and leave it at my office as an offsite backup. But that is onerous to do on a regular basis as you have to remember to bring it home every six months or whatever. The other problem is that pretty much every time you do this you need a larger external drive!

I used to also backup to Backblaze as a cloud backup. But I stopped that a few months ago.

This isn't really what you asked, but since we are talking about backup options, for non-media files I use Microsoft OneDrive. I don't know how Dropbox is going to survive as it is cheaper to buy Microsoft's 365 subscription and get Office, for PCs and mobile, plus other stuff, plus 1TB/family member for C$109/yr. Dropbox charges C$156/yr for 2TB of storage and nothing else.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-15-2020, 01:59 PM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,238
I have a weekly Rsync job to backup only my family home videos from my unRAID SageTV system to my NAS drive. My full NAS drive is backed up weekly internally, and monthly externally, with a copy sent to offsite storage (safety deposit box) quarterly.

I don't bother backing up any other video files. Everything else can be re-recorded, or re-imported.
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i7-7700T CPU, 32GB Memory, unRAID 6.9.2, SageTV (java11) & OpenDCT Dockers
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, SiliconDust HDHomeRun CONNECT 4K OTA Tuner
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders, Multiple Fire TV Stick 4K Max w/MiniClient
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-15-2020, 03:12 PM
phelme's Avatar
phelme phelme is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,093
GoodSync for Windows & a (cheap) Synology, nightly. It takes care of the deletions too.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-15-2020, 05:19 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,552
An oldie but a goodie, SyncToy

https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/down....aspx?id=15155
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-15-2020, 08:58 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,645
I created a batch file that uses robocopy..... to backup SageTV on Windows .. you just need to make sure you have robocopy.


Code:
CD /d "%~dp0"

set SageDIR=C:\Program Files\SageTV
set DaysToKeep=365
set NUMBKUPS=2
set backup1="\\MYCLOUDPR4100\Public\SageBackups\%COMPUTERNAME%"
set backup2="\\EDSYNOLOGY\Public\SageBackups\%COMPUTERNAME%"
set backup3="\\xxxxxxxxxxxx\Public\SageBackups\%COMPUTERNAME%"
set backup4="xxxxxxxxxx\%COMPUTERNAME%"

set folderin="%~dp0"
for /f "useback tokens=*" %%a in ('%folderin%') do set folderin=%%~a
set folderin=%folderin:~0,-1%
forfiles /p "%folderin%\%COMPUTERNAME%" /m SAGEBACKUP*.zip /c "cmd /c Del @path" /d -%DaysToKeep%
if exist  "%~dp0\%COMPUTERNAME%\SageTV" robocopy "%~dp0\%COMPUTERNAME%\SageTV" "%~dp0\%COMPUTERNAME%\SageTV_BKUP" /E /COPY:DT /MT /MIR /R:3
robocopy "%SageDIR%" "%~dp0\%COMPUTERNAME%\SageTV" /E /MT /MIR /R:3
rem robocopy "%SageDIR%" "%~dp0\%COMPUTERNAME%\SageTV" /E /MT /MIR /R:3
if exist  "%~dp0\%COMPUTERNAME%\SageTV_BKUP" zip.exe -r "%~dp0%COMPUTERNAME%\SAGEBACKUP_%date:~-4,4%%date:~-10,2%%date:~-7,2%_%time:~0,2%%time:~3,2%%time:~6,2%.zip" "%~dp0\%COMPUTERNAME%\SageTV_BKUP" 
rem if exist  "%~dp0\%COMPUTERNAME%\SageTV_BKUP" zip.exe -r "%COMPUTERNAME%.SAGEBACKUP_%date:~-4,4%%date:~-10,2%%date:~-7,2%_%time:~0,2%%time:~3,2%%time:~6,2%.zip" "%~dp0\%COMPUTERNAME%\SageTV_BKUP" 
if %NUMBKUPS% GEQ 1 robocopy "%folderin%\%COMPUTERNAME%" %backup1% /E /COPY:DT /MT /MIR /R:3
if %NUMBKUPS% GEQ 2 robocopy "%folderin%\%COMPUTERNAME%" %backup2% /E /COPY:DT /MT /MIR /R:3
if %NUMBKUPS% GEQ 3 robocopy "%folderin%\%COMPUTERNAME%" %backup3% /E /COPY:DT /MT /MIR /R:3
if %NUMBKUPS% GEQ 4 robocopy "%folderin%\%COMPUTERNAME%" %backup4% /E /COPY:DT /MT /MIR /R:3
Attached Files
File Type: zip backupsagezip.zip (73.1 KB, 134 views)
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.

Last edited by nyplayer; 06-15-2020 at 09:09 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-16-2020, 02:06 AM
VCRUser VCRUser is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 404
I've been using Karen's Replicator for several years now. Its functionality is similar to some of the others described.
__________________
Server: Windows 8.1 4gb RAM; 4TB SATA + others. Homebrew quad core AMD. Inputs: Haup. 980, 850 & 950Q on ATSC; Haup 1600 on ATSC & Comcast 2 DTAs with USBUIRT for NTSC. Haup 1800 on ATSC. HDHR Dual (ATSC). Sage 9.22 64 bit.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-16-2020, 08:29 AM
RonBoyd's Avatar
RonBoyd RonBoyd is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 402
Quote:
Originally Posted by VCRUser View Post
I've been using Karen's Replicator for several years now. Its functionality is similar to some of the others described.
Aw, yes, Karen Kenworthy... taken from us much too soon. It is amazing how well her programs have held up over the years (15?). She was so ahead of her times.

https://www.karenware.com/
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-27-2020, 06:11 AM
Slack's Avatar
Slack Slack is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 244
I use AllwaySync. Creates a windows scheduled task I set for the wee hours.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-12-2020, 01:48 PM
AlbuQuirky AlbuQuirky is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by RonBoyd View Post
Aw, yes, Karen Kenworthy... taken from us much too soon. It is amazing how well her programs have held up over the years (15?). She was so ahead of her times.

https://www.karenware.com/
Three cheers for Karen. Great tools. Joe Winett has picked up support and released an update, 3.7.6, to Replicator a couple of months, ago. I been using it for over a decade.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-12-2020, 04:29 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,038
Quote:
Originally Posted by VCRUser View Post
I've been using Karen's Replicator for several years now. Its functionality is similar to some of the others described.
Having never used it (or heard of it until just now) does it skip programs which have already been backed up, aka only backs up new things?
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-12-2020, 07:08 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,645
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlbuQuirky View Post
Three cheers for Karen. Great tools. Joe Winett has picked up support and released an update, 3.7.6, to Replicator a couple of months, ago. I been using it for over a decade.
Can you set it up to keep X amount of days or does it just override with the new updated files.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 07-12-2020, 08:22 PM
VCRUser VCRUser is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 404
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
Having never used it (or heard of it until just now) does it skip programs which have already been backed up, aka only backs up new things?
Yes, you can check off "copy files only if changed or added," which includes additional options for comparison.
__________________
Server: Windows 8.1 4gb RAM; 4TB SATA + others. Homebrew quad core AMD. Inputs: Haup. 980, 850 & 950Q on ATSC; Haup 1600 on ATSC & Comcast 2 DTAs with USBUIRT for NTSC. Haup 1800 on ATSC. HDHR Dual (ATSC). Sage 9.22 64 bit.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 07-12-2020, 08:24 PM
VCRUser VCRUser is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 404
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
Can you set it up to keep X amount of days or does it just override with the new updated files.
I don't think there's a way to specify number of days; if you check "copy files only if changed or added" it will overwrite with new updates. RoboCopy might have a way to select based on number of days - not something I've tried.
__________________
Server: Windows 8.1 4gb RAM; 4TB SATA + others. Homebrew quad core AMD. Inputs: Haup. 980, 850 & 950Q on ATSC; Haup 1600 on ATSC & Comcast 2 DTAs with USBUIRT for NTSC. Haup 1800 on ATSC. HDHR Dual (ATSC). Sage 9.22 64 bit.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 07-12-2020, 08:31 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,645
Quote:
Originally Posted by VCRUser View Post
I don't think there's a way to specify number of days; if you check "copy files only if changed or added" it will overwrite with new updates. RoboCopy might have a way to select based on number of days - not something I've tried.
So it has he Potential to replace a good DB with one that might have been recently corrupted so not really a safe backup.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 07-12-2020, 10:44 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,038
Quote:
Originally Posted by VCRUser View Post
Yes, you can check off "copy files only if changed or added," which includes additional options for comparison.
thanks
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 07-13-2020, 09:22 AM
AlbuQuirky AlbuQuirky is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
Can you set it up to keep X amount of days or does it just override with the new updated files.
The main intention of Karen's Replicator is to be replication tool; I use it every night for my media drives and working data drives. Whatever the changes made by the server or me to the SageTV's video directories are made to the replication directories.

A simple replication is essentially an up to date copy of the source target. So, at execution, any changes in the source folders (file or folder deletions, replacements, or additions) are replicated in the destination folders.

I had one of my SageTV video drives fail, this spring. I pointed SageTV at the replication drive and operation continued as before. After installing a replacement for the failed drive, i then directed Karen's Replicator to use it as the destination and a new replication was generated as I slept that night.

That said, Karen made the tool very flexible. While not fully universally flexible for all imagined cases, she provided utility for the vast majority of my file & folder copy operations. Jobs can be setup for manual execution or for scheduled and repetitive operations. The GUI dashboard and setting forms are thoughtful and natural.

See attachments.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg General Replication.jpg (149.6 KB, 129 views)
File Type: jpg General Copy.jpg (145.2 KB, 128 views)
File Type: jpg Replicator Dashboard.jpg (258.6 KB, 128 views)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backup unwatched recordings mgkicer SageTV Customizations 5 10-29-2008 09:47 AM
what should I backup and not backup to reinstall a fresh copy of SageTV mistergq SageTV Software 1 05-11-2008 09:00 PM
Wiz.bin and Sage.Properties Backup Using WinXP Backup Util. mayamaniac SageTV Software 28 05-03-2008 06:34 PM
Backup Sage for complete windows/sage install djseto SageTV Software 2 04-16-2008 09:16 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.