SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV HD Theater - Media Player

Notices

SageTV HD Theater - Media Player Discussion related to using the SageTV HD Theater as a Media Player, i.e.: in use while not connected to a SageTV server. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to using a SageTV HD Theater as a Media Player should be posted here. Use the SageTV Media Extender forum for issues related to using it while connected to a SageTV server.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-08-2010, 12:15 PM
arialmt arialmt is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 15
Question HD200 internet question

First things first, I rent in a "bachelor pad" type situation with 4 non-networked PC's, a wii, and a ps3 sharing an internet connection.

I will be buying an HD200 soon and intend on using a wired router between it and the Sage server. However The server machine connects to the internet via USB 802.11g (thus the need to wire the HD200). It is not conducive to wire through the internet router. Can I have a LAN connection and a wireless connection on the Sage server machine? (sure seems possible) And if I can get the HD200 to play from the server will I be able to get internet function?

That it enough questions to start with, please advise.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-08-2010, 12:35 PM
GKusnick's Avatar
GKusnick GKusnick is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5,083
I'm confused. If your PCs have no networking, how do they manage to share an internet connection? Is it just the Wii and the PS3 that connect to the internet? Or are you saying that each PC connects separately to your building's Wifi network, with no local network in your unit?

I'm also confused about why you want to put a router between the HD200 and your Sage server if the router will have no internet access. Why not use a simple crossover cable in that case?

Either way, you should be able to set up Internet Connection Sharing on the server to route traffic from the HD200 to the internet.
__________________
-- Greg
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-08-2010, 01:22 PM
arialmt arialmt is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 15
Greg, my apologies for any confusion. Correct "each PC connects separately to your building's (house's) Wifi network, with no local network in your unit?"

I am pretty good with using PCs but not great at networking, I've never really had a budget for lots of toys. The router between idea is listed on the HD200 information page. I am just now learning about the simple crossover cable that sounds (in theory) the best way to go. If I understand correctly I will not need to install a DHCP server program or use a router with a crossover cable I will just have to use static IP mode for the HD200 to play from the Sage server?

Internet Connection Sharing is also a new topic for me. I think I can research that before blindly asking too many questions in these forums.

Thanks for a quick and quite helpful response.

Last edited by arialmt; 02-10-2010 at 03:54 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-08-2010, 02:01 PM
arialmt arialmt is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 15
internet connection sharing

I should enable sharing for the Sage server wireless connection not the crossover connection (LAN)? seems logical anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-08-2010, 02:58 PM
GKusnick's Avatar
GKusnick GKusnick is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5,083
Just to be completely clear: you're renting a room in a house shared with other renters, with Wifi access provided by your landlord? In that case ICS with a crossover cable is probably your best bet. And yes, the wireless connection is the one you want to share. ICS provides DHCP to the downstream clients, so you shouldn't need to resort to a static LAN IP for the HD200.

Or do you rent the whole house, and provide your own Wifi? In this case, you should be able to set up wired LAN connections from the HD200 and the Sage server PC to your existing Wifi router. Then you don't need ICS or a crossover cable, and the HD200 will be able to access the internet directly through your existing router. This would be the preferable way to go, assuming you have control over your existing Wifi infrastructure.
__________________
-- Greg
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-08-2010, 04:26 PM
arialmt arialmt is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 15
I rent a room in a house with included wifi. If I wanted, I could easily take control (absentee landlord) and replace the current 802.11g router with an "n", or add a wireless "n" access point but that is an expense, not to mention hassle, I'm not willing to deal with. Also I don't want to use any shared wireless bandwidth for streaming recorded HDTV.

Really I only care about playing recorded TV and stored files therefore any internet functionality is a bonus. I understand it makes firmware upgrades much simpler.

I'm pretty sure I've used ICS in the past (as a client) but had forgotten about it until after I went ahead and enabled it earlier today. The information you have provided has been most helpful during this "pre-purchase process". It feels like all the ducks are in a row now.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-08-2010, 06:41 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
This may be a down the road thing, but if I were you I'd get a Wireless Access Point/Bridge and a router, then connect to your WiFi via the bridge and the feed the rest of your stuff wired via the router.

This would give you much better transfer performance between your machines, plus it would be more secure for you, keeping your machines hidden from your neighbors.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-11-2010, 10:13 PM
arialmt arialmt is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 15
Down the road, yes I agree.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mediatomb, Internet Radio and HD200 sbherculano SageTV HD Theater - Media Player 6 11-20-2009 01:13 PM
Question about getting media to the HD200 SolidSnake745 SageTV HD Theater - Media Player 5 08-15-2009 01:17 PM
Streaming Internet video using SageTV / HD200 topperdude SageTV Media Extender 7 05-22-2009 06:19 PM
HD200 Placeshifting via Internet dranockcir SageTV Beta Test Software 1 01-08-2009 02:36 PM
Question about moving from Lan to Internet Mortanis SageTV Placeshifter 2 07-26-2006 12:06 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.