SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Clients Development

Notices

SageTV Clients Development This forum is for discussions relating to SageTV Open Source Clients Development.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #241  
Old 12-12-2016, 03:42 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
found this on ebay - anyone heard of it / use it / think it may work for Miniclient?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/252092081971...&ul_noapp=true
I don't think I'd even think of spending $40 on an android 4.4 box when I can get the Android TV 6 Mi Box for $70. The Android TV experience is really worth it.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #242  
Old 12-12-2016, 06:29 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,539
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
I don't think I'd even think of spending $40 on an android 4.4 box when I can get the Android TV 6 Mi Box for $70. The Android TV experience is really worth it.
+1

I bought a nexbox A95X for around the same price, to test on... I was ready to throw it across the room after 5 minutes of using it. Basically the miniclient might work on it... but the usability of the box, accessing play store, etc, really, really sucks. As fuzzy said, spend the extra $30 and get the Mi Box from Walmart.
Reply With Quote
  #243  
Old 12-12-2016, 09:22 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is online now
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,347
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
+1

I bought a nexbox A95X for around the same price, to test on... I was ready to throw it across the room after 5 minutes of using it. Basically the miniclient might work on it... but the usability of the box, accessing play store, etc, really, really sucks. As fuzzy said, spend the extra $30 and get the Mi Box from Walmart.
okay, good advice. but i'll have to wait until someone other than Walmart sells it. Personal hatred for that place
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #244  
Old 12-12-2016, 09:38 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,539
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
okay, good advice. but i'll have to wait until someone other than Walmart sells it. Personal hatred for that place
I think if I had to not buy from a company because of personal hatred... I think I'd be living off the grid in the wilderness somewhere
Reply With Quote
  #245  
Old 12-12-2016, 09:48 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is online now
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,347
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
I think if I had to not buy from a company because of personal hatred... I think I'd be living off the grid in the wilderness somewhere
I had to cross Carl's Jr. off the list this week over their massive support for Trumpy. Don't worry, there are lots of places to get a shi$&y burger
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #246  
Old 12-12-2016, 10:26 AM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,311
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
okay, good advice. but i'll have to wait until someone other than Walmart sells it. Personal hatred for that place
Here ya go.

Will it matter if that person bought it at walmart?
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #247  
Old 12-12-2016, 01:06 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is online now
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,347
Quote:
Originally Posted by panteragstk View Post
Here ya go.

Will it matter if that person bought it at walmart?
it might.
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #248  
Old 12-12-2016, 01:47 PM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,311
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
it might.
Aww come on.

It really is a nice device though.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #249  
Old 12-12-2016, 02:30 PM
samgreco samgreco is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Villa Park, IL (Outside Chicago)
Posts: 611
I'm with you tvmaster2. I haven't set foot in a Walmart in 10 years.

But I'm ][ this close.
Reply With Quote
  #250  
Old 12-12-2016, 02:33 PM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,311
Quote:
Originally Posted by samgreco View Post
I'm with you tvmaster2. I haven't set foot in a Walmart in 10 years.

But I'm ][ this close.
Funny thing is I'm the same way, but this little android box got me in there. Worth it.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #251  
Old 12-12-2016, 03:18 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is online now
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,347
Quote:
Originally Posted by samgreco View Post
I'm with you tvmaster2. I haven't set foot in a Walmart in 10 years.

But I'm ][ this close.
maybe I'll ask for one for xmas, then i'm not responsible (?)
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #252  
Old 12-12-2016, 04:17 PM
samgreco samgreco is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Villa Park, IL (Outside Chicago)
Posts: 611
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
maybe I'll ask for one for xmas, then i'm not responsible (?)
Reply With Quote
  #253  
Old 12-12-2016, 05:05 PM
mikejaner's Avatar
mikejaner mikejaner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chantilly VA
Posts: 2,087
Send a message via MSN to mikejaner Send a message via Skype™ to mikejaner
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
I don't think I'd even think of spending $40 on an android 4.4 box when I can get the Android TV 6 Mi Box for $70. The Android TV experience is really worth it.
Ok I went and used gift cards at Walmart, to get this sucka. Going to try it out tonight!
__________________
Mike Janer
SageTV HD300 Extender X2
Sage Server: AMD X4 620,2048MB RAM,SageTV 7.x ,2X HDHR Primes, 2x HDHomerun(original). 80GB OS Drive, Video Drives: Local 2TB Drive GB RAID5
Reply With Quote
  #254  
Old 12-13-2016, 06:17 AM
mikejaner's Avatar
mikejaner mikejaner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chantilly VA
Posts: 2,087
Send a message via MSN to mikejaner Send a message via Skype™ to mikejaner
Alright. I hooked up the Mi and played with it for over an hour last night, and here's my initial impressions.
This little box is impressive. The GUI is responsive, way better to navigate than the $30 boxes (they probably have a 5% WAF). The voice remote found SageTV in the google store for me, so that was pretty cool. The wireless connection to my router seemed to be plenty for playing back my HDHR Prime MPEG2 based recordings with no issues.

All this being said, the Mi Box is great. The minimalist remote buttons took a little while to figure out with the SageTV MiniClient. I appreciate the work put in by Stuckless, awesome job! I have two things that seem to eat at me a a little bit.

I got used to having a lot of buttons with the SageTV remote, so it's a little adjustment with the Mi's remote, but you did well mapping double presses, and long presses to the "d-pad/d-ring". The long press for bringing up the osd based buttons is definitely needed, but could we maybe have an option during playback at least, to have a slim horizontally arranged button set ala kodi, where there is only the basic controls, like (Rew2, rew, stop,play, pause, ff, ff2, options, home"?

The video playback is very stable from what I can see. The start of video playback and anytime after seeking the video introduces a kind of shuddering where the playback is catching up to match the audio. I am sure Stuckless, you are well aware of that. My question for that, is there any hope of that can be minimized?
__________________
Mike Janer
SageTV HD300 Extender X2
Sage Server: AMD X4 620,2048MB RAM,SageTV 7.x ,2X HDHR Primes, 2x HDHomerun(original). 80GB OS Drive, Video Drives: Local 2TB Drive GB RAID5
Reply With Quote
  #255  
Old 12-13-2016, 06:55 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,539
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikejaner View Post
I got used to having a lot of buttons with the SageTV remote, so it's a little adjustment with the Mi's remote, but you did well mapping double presses, and long presses to the "d-pad/d-ring". The long press for bringing up the osd based buttons is definitely needed, but could we maybe have an option during playback at least, to have a slim horizontally arranged button set ala kodi, where there is only the basic controls, like (Rew2, rew, stop,play, pause, ff, ff2, options, home"?

The video playback is very stable from what I can see. The start of video playback and anytime after seeking the video introduces a kind of shuddering where the playback is catching up to match the audio. I am sure Stuckless, you are well aware of that. My question for that, is there any hope of that can be minimized?
To be honest, the on screen buttons, is meant to be used as a last resort... The only time I actually go into the on screen buttons, myself, is to test something, or, to fully exit the client... other than that, I never use it.

The 5-6 key remote (along with changes to sagetv v9) allow for the most common interactions without an OSD.

In menu mode, up/down/left/right do what you want. Long press up/down will page up/down. Select will "select". If your remote has a voice button, that button will bring up options. Back is back.

If you are running v9 of sagetv... then the MiniClient can detect when video is playing and the remote changes to video playback.
Select is pause/play. Right/Left becomes skip fwd/back. Long press right/left sends right left (useful for skipping commerical block).

With the above functions mapped and the miniclient/v9 being somewhat intelligent... I rarely find the need to use the android OSD, and the OSD is just there for the rare case that I need to do something like change aspect, etc.

I don't see much development/evolution happening in the OSD part.

As for the video stuttering... I haven't seen it myself, but I use h264 recordings... sometimes when I start a new video I will see it... but I never see it after a seek. This is likely fixable... but not by me... Not that I wouldn't like to fix it... but I'm not much of a video person... I'm amazed that I have what I have in terms of getting video playback to work I'm hopeful that at some point we'll get some help with things like your issue (and other issues that people have found).
Reply With Quote
  #256  
Old 12-13-2016, 08:02 AM
mikejaner's Avatar
mikejaner mikejaner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chantilly VA
Posts: 2,087
Send a message via MSN to mikejaner Send a message via Skype™ to mikejaner
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
...If you are running v9 of sagetv... then the MiniClient can detect when video is playing and the remote changes to video playback.
Select is pause/play. Right/Left becomes skip fwd/back. Long press right/left sends right left (useful for skipping commerical block).....
Makes sense, thanks. For some reason it seemed that I had to double click for FF REW, and long press up/down was the FF2, REW2. I will go back and play tonight. Also I didn't know I was allowed to press the voice button for options, which is cool.

Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
..As for the video stuttering... I haven't seen it myself, but I use h264 recordings... sometimes when I start a new video I will see it... but I never see it after a seek......
This is only a minor annoyance, but it is noticeable for a few seconds until it syncs to the audio.
__________________
Mike Janer
SageTV HD300 Extender X2
Sage Server: AMD X4 620,2048MB RAM,SageTV 7.x ,2X HDHR Primes, 2x HDHomerun(original). 80GB OS Drive, Video Drives: Local 2TB Drive GB RAID5
Reply With Quote
  #257  
Old 12-13-2016, 09:27 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,539
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikejaner View Post
Makes sense, thanks. For some reason it seemed that I had to double click for FF REW, and long press up/down was the FF2, REW2. I will go back and play tonight. Also I didn't know I was allowed to press the voice button for options, which is cool.
Those key strokes don't seem familiar... but also keep in mind, that, if you are NOT running SageTV v9 the experience will differ, since, there is code in V9 to help the miniclient try to be smarter about how to interpret remote commands. You'll want to ensure that "smart remote" is enabled in the MiniClient preferences.

All of this is really just a hack until STVs are updated to work better with mini remotes. ie, the job of showing an OSD for playback navigation, or interpeting remote commands like using select for pause/play, is really something that the STV should be doing. The problem is that the STVs were designed for full remotes, but in the world of "dumb remotes", we need an updated STV (or a plugin) that can better manage the playback experience. Until that happens the miniclient will try to compensate, but, anything it does, is really just a hack
Reply With Quote
  #258  
Old 12-13-2016, 05:48 PM
mikejaner's Avatar
mikejaner mikejaner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chantilly VA
Posts: 2,087
Send a message via MSN to mikejaner Send a message via Skype™ to mikejaner
I see my confusion. I am running v9 on windows, but it must be an earlier build than what supported your simple remote layouts. Once I connected to a recent build of SageTV on a Linux vm, I was able to see the proper video playback button presses.
__________________
Mike Janer
SageTV HD300 Extender X2
Sage Server: AMD X4 620,2048MB RAM,SageTV 7.x ,2X HDHR Primes, 2x HDHomerun(original). 80GB OS Drive, Video Drives: Local 2TB Drive GB RAID5
Reply With Quote
  #259  
Old 12-13-2016, 07:52 PM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,311
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikejaner View Post
I see my confusion. I am running v9 on windows, but it must be an earlier build than what supported your simple remote layouts. Once I connected to a recent build of SageTV on a Linux vm, I was able to see the proper video playback button presses.
IIRC the windows installers are updated to reflect the same version as the Linux builds. One of the devs can confirm though.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #260  
Old 12-13-2016, 07:54 PM
mikejaner's Avatar
mikejaner mikejaner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chantilly VA
Posts: 2,087
Send a message via MSN to mikejaner Send a message via Skype™ to mikejaner
Quote:
Originally Posted by panteragstk View Post
IIRC the windows installers are updated to reflect the same version as the Linux builds. One of the devs can confirm though.
Probably, but I rarely touch my Windows server, and it's probably at a build from last year.
__________________
Mike Janer
SageTV HD300 Extender X2
Sage Server: AMD X4 620,2048MB RAM,SageTV 7.x ,2X HDHR Primes, 2x HDHomerun(original). 80GB OS Drive, Video Drives: Local 2TB Drive GB RAID5
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sage control via ios or android device profit Hardware Support 9 01-02-2012 05:18 PM
WD TV Live Observations and Other box comparisons? Cortopassi SageTV Media Extender 8 10-24-2011 02:56 PM
Poll for Android Device Users smoothtlk SageTV v7 Customizations 21 06-29-2011 08:50 AM
Digibox output comparisons planetc SageTV United Kingdom 4 01-30-2009 10:43 PM
Using Motorola Tuner device for capture device cyberfreak Hardware Support 4 02-22-2007 02:47 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.