SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-29-2017, 11:56 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,568
Alternatives for Remote Desktop for Windows

For years I have used stuff like RDP Wrapper to be able to initiate RDP sessions even if the Windows OS version did not support RDP server. But this has stopped working with the Win 10 Creators Edition and it seems to be taking a long time to fix it.

Anyone have any options on what is the best alternative? TeamViewer? VNC?
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-29-2017, 12:04 PM
btrcp2000 btrcp2000 is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 857
Chrome browser with chrome remote desktop enabled. Been using it for years, works great.
__________________
[size=1]Current Server:V9 UNRAID Docker, SuperMicro x9dri-LNF4+, 32 GB ECC, 2x Xeon e5-2660v2, storage array 6TB, 2 Dish r5000HD tuners, 1 HDHomerun Quatro, 1 HDHomerun Extend
4 Nvidia Shield TVs with Miniclient
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-29-2017, 12:13 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,568
I saw Chrome RDP but I thought that this is just an RDP client in a browser window. Does Chrome RDP allows Windows 10 Home to act as an RDP server - ie. accept incoming RDP connections? That is what I am looking for.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-29-2017, 12:36 PM
btrcp2000 btrcp2000 is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 857
Not sure exactly what your use case is, but I use it to remote into sage server and now to use VMs in Unraid. Every computer you have chrome on (and logged into your Google acct) will have the option to be the server or the client with pin number. It now passes audio though as well, and there is an android app that is easier to use than I expected it would be given that you are emulating a traditional desktop/mouse/keyboard. You can adjust the screen resolution just the same as always to make it a full screen desktop on a client (subject to what the video card can do). Makes a decent places hitter in a jam too
__________________
[size=1]Current Server:V9 UNRAID Docker, SuperMicro x9dri-LNF4+, 32 GB ECC, 2x Xeon e5-2660v2, storage array 6TB, 2 Dish r5000HD tuners, 1 HDHomerun Quatro, 1 HDHomerun Extend
4 Nvidia Shield TVs with Miniclient
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-29-2017, 01:00 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,568
The use case would be to do stuff like SageTV configuration, even system config, upgrades, software installation, etc on HTPC clients where the room is set up for a 10 ft UI rather than a 2 ft UI.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-29-2017, 01:20 PM
btrcp2000 btrcp2000 is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 857
that's pretty much what i do with it. I would say give it a shot, doesn't cost anything anyway, and everything I've read online seems to indicate it's pretty secure. On a fast remote connection it's not much different than being directly on the desktop. On the same LAN it's unnoticeable, especially at fullscreen.
__________________
[size=1]Current Server:V9 UNRAID Docker, SuperMicro x9dri-LNF4+, 32 GB ECC, 2x Xeon e5-2660v2, storage array 6TB, 2 Dish r5000HD tuners, 1 HDHomerun Quatro, 1 HDHomerun Extend
4 Nvidia Shield TVs with Miniclient
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-29-2017, 01:23 PM
btrcp2000 btrcp2000 is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 857
per your question about it being an RDP client within a browser, it all runs from within chrome whether the particular computer is acting as a server or client, except it runs as an "app" so you can't really tell it's the browser. It will install along with all your other chrome extensions every time you install chrome somewhere, then it's just a couple steps to activate it on a new computer.
__________________
[size=1]Current Server:V9 UNRAID Docker, SuperMicro x9dri-LNF4+, 32 GB ECC, 2x Xeon e5-2660v2, storage array 6TB, 2 Dish r5000HD tuners, 1 HDHomerun Quatro, 1 HDHomerun Extend
4 Nvidia Shield TVs with Miniclient
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-29-2017, 01:54 PM
SteveW's Avatar
SteveW SteveW is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Fall River, Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 336
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
For years I have used stuff like RDP Wrapper to be able to initiate RDP sessions even if the Windows OS version did not support RDP server. But this has stopped working with the Win 10 Creators Edition and it seems to be taking a long time to fix it.

Anyone have any options on what is the best alternative? TeamViewer? VNC?

I've been using Teamviewer for years with all my PCs including my Sage server (Win 10 64 bit). Works great. I can fire up the portable executable for Teamviewer on a PC anywhere and get into the server.
__________________
Server: Win 10 Pro 64 Bit, Intel i5, 8 GB, Samsung EVO 850 500 GB for OS, WD Black 4 TB + WD Black 1 TB for Recordings, WD Green 2 TB x 1 and WD Red 6 TB x 2 for DVD/Bluray Rips, Music, Home Movies, etc., Sage 9.1.8.770, HDPVR x 2, BellTV 6131 Receiver x 2, USB-UIRT with 56 KHz Receiver

Clients: PC Client x 2, HD-300 x 4 (1 Using Netgear MoCA Coax Bridges), Placeshifter x 1
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-29-2017, 06:19 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,568
Thanks for the suggestions - Chrome Remote Desktop works very well. That will do the trick.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-21-2017, 01:36 AM
pukka pukka is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Leicestershire, UK
Posts: 83
We use a self hosted version of screenconnect server at work. but they have released a free version hosted by them, we used a paid version of logmein for years before the massive price hike at which point we moved to screenconnect and have never looked back

https://www.connectwise.com/resource...e-control-free
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10-21-2017, 07:53 PM
Dargason Dargason is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 516
I've been using Splashtop for a really long time. It's free on the local network, and $17 per year if you need access from anywhere.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Utility: Windows Sidebar/Desktop Gadget cncb SageTV v7 Customizations 97 04-17-2017 07:11 AM
Windows Experts - Location in registry for Desktop working area? cncb The SageTV Community 6 06-05-2011 08:32 AM
Remote Desktop BigAl SageTV Recorder Software 6 02-28-2008 03:44 PM
Display Windows desktop via SageTV? Torrox SageTV Software 3 11-05-2007 02:28 PM
Remote Desktop BergoniaC General Discussion 11 08-02-2004 08:58 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.