SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-09-2003, 12:38 PM
Succorso Succorso is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 8
Video Card - Capture card question

Thanks in advance for the help. My head is going to explode soon if I don't get this figured out.


Assuming I am going to use Sage what cards do I need ?

Standard tv - Video card ? Haupage Wintv card ?

Hidef - Video Card ? Wintv Card ? and Hd card ? I realize the support for hidef is coming soon.

Basically, do I need a video card and a wintv card for standard tv (satellite) and then in the future a hidef card ? 3 cards ? Full house ?

Please help.

Succorso
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-09-2003, 03:23 PM
dkardatzke's Avatar
dkardatzke dkardatzke is offline
SageTV Co-Founder
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,220
That could be ugly *visualizes someone's head exploding* so let's see if we can help..

1. You'll need a compatible TV Tuner/MPEG-2 Encoding card or USB Device. A list of the compatible cards/devices is at http://www.sage.tv/requirements.html

The consensus card of our users is the PVR-250 from Hauppauge and it's the card we bundle our software with through our Online Store. We do also offer a bundle with Hauppauge's latest PVR-usb2 device.

2. HD card, I can't say because we don't officially support any cards yet. A number of our customers have been able to get SageTV to work with the HiPix and AccessDTV cards through a patch we released on the forum somewhere.

3. Graphics card - depends on the display you will be connecting your PC to. Most people get by with a $50 Nvidia card with a TV-out. But it depends on if you need DVI or component connections as well.

Can you elaborate on what you will connecting to?
__________________
Dan Kardatzke, Co-Founder
SageTV, LLC
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-10-2003, 05:44 AM
Succorso Succorso is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 8
It will be connected to a Mitsu wide screen using component inputs.

I really appreciate your help and look forward to bugging you some more when I you get the haupage cards in stock and I get this built

Succorso
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-10-2003, 06:02 AM
mlbdude's Avatar
mlbdude mlbdude is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Melbourne, Florida
Posts: 4,174
You may want to look at an ATI then video output since it supports many custom resolutions and overscan.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.