SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-01-2007, 10:13 PM
joe123 joe123 is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 954
SageTV 6.2 Pauses During Playback

Hello.

I have had this problem since 6.x and I just upgraded to 6.2 thinking that it would fix the problem, but it is still there.

Every once in a while, like every 20-30 minutes or so while watching a recording, the image/sound freezes for about 8-10 seconds and then resumes.

I am using wired MVP, all of my 8 drives are 64k formatted and I run defrag every month or so.

The pauses happen when nothing else is running on my SageTV. Farily fast system - dual Intel CPU, 1GB of memory.

Any guesses what is causing the pauses?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-02-2007, 04:34 PM
rfutscher rfutscher is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 141
I had a problem where playback on my two clients would pause every so often. They would pause at different times while watching the same show.

I ran Task Manager and discovered that network activity would stop when there was a pause.

I reformatted my record drive, just to make sure it was formatted correctly.
I found the write catch for the drive turned off. I turned it back on.
I downloaded and installed the latest network drivers.
I added a second drive.
I installed the newest drivers for my video card.

I only have slight problems now when there are three recordings and a live playback going at the same time. I don't think it was any one thing that was the total cure.

With four tuners going and a client, fragmentation should not be a problem. The drive heads have to move anyways to service all five buffers.


Quote:
Originally Posted by joe123 View Post
Hello.

I have had this problem since 6.x and I just upgraded to 6.2 thinking that it would fix the problem, but it is still there.

Every once in a while, like every 20-30 minutes or so while watching a recording, the image/sound freezes for about 8-10 seconds and then resumes.

I am using wired MVP, all of my 8 drives are 64k formatted and I run defrag every month or so.

The pauses happen when nothing else is running on my SageTV. Farily fast system - dual Intel CPU, 1GB of memory.

Any guesses what is causing the pauses?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-05-2007, 11:58 AM
joe123 joe123 is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 954
Quote:
Originally Posted by rfutscher View Post
I had a problem where playback on my two clients would pause every so often. They would pause at different times while watching the same show.

I ran Task Manager and discovered that network activity would stop when there was a pause.

I reformatted my record drive, just to make sure it was formatted correctly.
I found the write catch for the drive turned off. I turned it back on.
I downloaded and installed the latest network drivers.
I added a second drive.
I installed the newest drivers for my video card.
I have done all of those steps except for the using the latest network driver from Windows update, so I will do that and see.

Do you have your disks to spin down after x minutes? I have 8 drives and I have them spin down after 15 minutes of non-use. If I leave them all on, the systems builds up too much heat.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-05-2007, 12:12 PM
joe123 joe123 is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 954
A couple more questions if anyone knows with regards to the Network parameters:

On my Win XP VIa Rhine Fast Ehternet Adapter Properties, I have the following options set:

Receive Buffers: 64k
Transmit Buffers: 64k
Flow Control: DISABLED

Shouldn't the flow coltrol be Enabled? Other option is "Hardware Default"

What about the Receive / Transmitt buffers sizes ok?

Thanks,
Joe
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-05-2007, 07:55 PM
rfutscher rfutscher is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by joe123 View Post
I have done all of those steps except for the using the latest network driver from Windows update, so I will do that and see.

Do you have your disks to spin down after x minutes? I have 8 drives and I have them spin down after 15 minutes of non-use. If I leave them all on, the systems builds up too much heat.
I used the drivers from the Realtek site for my NIC. The windows download drivers made the problem worse.

No, I do not spin down the drives.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Playback Stutters, Pauses, Speeds up, then it's fine? tangfj SageTV Software 23 03-22-2006 10:54 AM
Playback Error Capture Error in playback: TheraEdge Hardware Support 2 02-07-2006 04:36 PM
Stuttering playback or pauses in playback kny3twalker SageTV Beta Test Software 2 05-06-2004 08:10 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.