SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-18-2008, 09:58 AM
73cuda 73cuda is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 72
Need some video card advice please

First, I'm sorry if this has been asked but...

I'm using an ATI Radion X1050 card and Catalyst to control it. Now, it works but, the image is "soft" and it's very hard to adjust to get the proper brightness to contrast ratio, infact, I haven't been able to get this ratio right.

I've spent allot of time making adjustments through Catalyst and the picture is still "soft". By soft I mean just not sharp, almost as if the screen is real dusty. I've checked this on several monitors and TV's, they work great and when not going through this card, the pictures from satellite and even cable are bright and sharp.

Is there another software control panel that will help or do I just need to get a much better card ?

I appreciate any advice on this, I just can't deal with it anymore like it is.

Thanks

73cuda
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-18-2008, 11:04 AM
CollinR CollinR is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 1,304
The extenders are usually better bang:buck, especially for SD content. If thats all you have get a media MVP and be happy.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-18-2008, 01:21 PM
73cuda 73cuda is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by CollinR View Post
The extenders are usually better bang:buck, especially for SD content. If thats all you have get a media MVP and be happy.
Well, I did ask for "any" advice and I thank you for yours.

However, I don't want an MVP.

I need a video card with S-Video out and a very good quality picture. At least better than what this current one does. Or if there is better software for this card.

73
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-18-2008, 01:30 PM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,202
Not a MVP. A HD Extender. $199 and probably better than any video card you'll pick up and less headache and adjusting and drivers and codecs and....you get the picture.

X1050 is probably not good enough. If you want to stick with ATI the 3400 series is getting good reviews (even playing HD) and the price is good. (In other words cheaper than my suggestion of the HD Extender.)

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-18-2008, 01:30 PM
CollinR CollinR is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 1,304
I like my MSI 8600GT with purevideo just fine, but the hardware decoder in the MVP is superior. My plasma (Dell) has a screwed up method for dealing with HDMI so I usually use VGA.

However that card was more $ then an MVP and the picture quality on SD is inferior. It's just the hardware decoder in the MVP, possibly a PVR350 and use it's decoder would have similar effect without an added box.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-18-2008, 03:52 PM
73cuda 73cuda is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 72
Thank you both for your replies and help.

I actually started out with a PVR-350 when I first got STV and it caused allot of problems with my PC and took it out.

Gerry, How do I know which 3400 series to get ? there are several here...

http://wheretobuy.amd.com/gpus.html#...51%3BS-Video=1

I have PCI slots and PCI express slots
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-19-2008, 04:46 AM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,202
I would definitely recommend PCI Express. Base it on your budget and get 512MB RAM if you can. But 256MB will siffuce. The 3800 series will of course have better performance. I originally recommended 3400 series for the price/performance bang.

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-19-2008, 12:53 PM
73cuda 73cuda is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 72
Okay, Thanks for all the advice and help.

Much appreciated !
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SageTV V6.3 is now available for Win/Linux! Narflex Announcements 1 03-07-2008 12:33 PM
Video Card Suggestions dbshelton Hardware Support 0 02-17-2008 02:27 PM
Video pixelization, lockups, BSODs, etc. Help! brianblank Hardware Support 5 01-31-2007 10:45 PM
MPEG Decoding & Video Card Suggestions? Necro Hardware Support 12 10-30-2006 07:04 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.