SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-07-2013, 10:53 PM
pingmustard pingmustard is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 52
SageTV / Netflix ... moving on?

My SageTV client just went down. Short of rebuilding things, one of the thing I wish had better integration was Netflix support and youtube support.

Is there any plugin that would enable either of this to work? I used to go through Playon plugin, but it's a bit disappointing -- UI was slow, search was non-existent. Also, Youtube doesn't seem to work, and it wouldn't be a problem if things just auto update, but I don't recall this feature being supported ? :T

I was contemplating of switching PVR setups... SageTV is a great piece of software, but I don't see a future with it, and what Google has shown thus far doesn't look very promising to wait for.

Thoughts?
__________________
QuadCore Windows 7 64bit, 6GB RAM, ATI HD Radeon 5570, HDHR
SageTV 7 + Playon, Diamond, ComSkip/Playback, Shark007
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-08-2013, 07:41 AM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,311
I use sagetv to launch the WMC netflix interface with a batch file. I had to create a menu item of my own, but if you run Gemstone, you can easily add the menu item to your menu. I'll post the batch file if you want. Pretty easy to set up.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-08-2013, 08:24 AM
pjpjpjpj pjpjpjpj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,065
With regards to youtube, this is the longest that Sage has probably ever gone without issuing a fix to get youtube working again. I'm sure they'll fix it when they get a chance....

Add to that the fact that evilpenguin's last PlayOn plugin update broke youtube compatibility (before it broke in native Sage)... though I have to wonder if he's waiting for Sage to fix the native function before he fixes the PlayOn plugin... I didn't think we used youtube in Sage much but this "outage" has shown that we use it in our house more than I thought....
__________________
Server: AMD Athlon II x4 635 2.9GHz, 8 Gb RAM, Win 8.1 x64, Java 8, Gigabit network
Drives: Several TB of internal SATA and external USB drives, no NAS or RAID or such...
Software: SageTV v9, stock STV with ADM.
Tuners: 4 tuners via (2) HDHomeruns (100% OTA, DIY antennas in the attic).
Clients: Several HD300s, HD200s, even an old HD100, all on wired LAN. Latest firmware for each.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-08-2013, 09:53 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
For the short term, the answer to the first may be the answer to the second. You might be able to do the same thing we do with netflix, launch WMC directly to the netflix plugin, with the WMC Youtube plugin... Never used it though, so I'm not sure how well/if it works.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-08-2013, 12:51 PM
jnmfox jnmfox is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Utah
Posts: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by panteragstk View Post
I use sagetv to launch the WMC netflix interface with a batch file. I had to create a menu item of my own, but if you run Gemstone, you can easily add the menu item to your menu. I'll post the batch file if you want. Pretty easy to set up.
If you don't mind I would a copy of you batch file. Does your remote work with Netflix?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-08-2013, 02:32 PM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,311
Quote:
Originally Posted by jnmfox View Post
If you don't mind I would a copy of you batch file. Does your remote work with Netflix?
It's a WMC remote, so yes it does. If you use eventghost you can use the keyboard shortcuts and map them to your remote. Very simple.
Attached Files
File Type: txt netflix.bat.txt (127 Bytes, 148 views)
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.

Last edited by panteragstk; 01-08-2013 at 02:35 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-08-2013, 03:11 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,566
I believe I saw that Opus4 released a Youtube fix today.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-09-2013, 08:55 AM
will will is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 797
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
I believe I saw that Opus4 released a Youtube fix today.
Do we know why it keeps breaking? What is YouTube doing (or Sage not doing) that causes these regular outages?

I would love to find out what so we can fix our own STVs in the event SageTV goes dark.
__________________
Will

OS: Windows 7
Hardware: Intel Core i7-920 with 12GB RAM & an Adaptec 5805 with a Chenbro 36-port SAS Expander
Case: Antec 1200 with 4 iStarUSA trayless hot-swap cages (20 drives max)
Drives: 8 Toshiba/Hitachi 2TB drives in a RAID 6 & 7 Toshiba 3TB drives in a RAID 6
Capture Cards: HDHomeRun Connect Quatro 4, Hauppauge 60 HD-PVR
Players: 5 HD300s, 2 HD200s, 1 Client, 1 MiniClient
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-09-2013, 08:57 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,566
Well what we really need is for Sage and Youtube to be owned by the same company, then this wouldn't happen
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-09-2013, 09:05 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
Well what we really need is for Sage and Youtube to be owned by the same company, then this wouldn't happen
It likely doesn't in SageTV v8... of course, netflix is built in as well...
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-09-2013, 11:48 AM
Skybolt's Avatar
Skybolt Skybolt is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,027
Quote:
Originally Posted by panteragstk View Post
I use sagetv to launch the WMC netflix interface with a batch file. ...
How do you launch the Netflix interface only? I could use that info! Do tell.

EDIT: Never mind, my browser did fully load the page ...

Last edited by Skybolt; 01-09-2013 at 11:51 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-09-2013, 11:56 AM
Skybolt's Avatar
Skybolt Skybolt is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,027
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
It likely doesn't in SageTV v8... of course, netflix is built in as well...
That would certainly be nice, too bad thats so far off, if at all for the GP.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-09-2013, 11:58 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,538
Quote:
Originally Posted by will View Post
Do we know why it keeps breaking? What is YouTube doing (or Sage not doing) that causes these regular outages?
Keep in mind that YouTube has no API for getting access to videos and having them played outside of the official youtube players created by Google. You can get access to the feed apis, but that just returns URLs that can be played by the YouTube web/flash player.

So, for a product like SageTV to play YouTube videos without using the official Flash Player... you have to parse a fair bit of javascript/html to pull out the direct links for videos. If YouTube updates their site and changes the player html/javascript, then programs the parse the javascript/html may break. Given that sites like YouTube are fairly dynamic, this happens quite a bit... and then the developer has to reverse engineer again how the parse out the direct video links, which usually just takes some time.

I created a Java version of this some time ago, because I wanted to be able to directly play the youtube videos in Phoenix without needing to use the stock online videos player. I basically abandoned this after I realized how volatile the process really is... and I didn't want the wrath of the users coming down on me when YouTube no longer worked

On a side note, I've been playing around with GoogleTV (Sony's latest product) and I'm fairly impressed so far. My goal was to run SageTV as a pass through to the GoogleTV box, and then pull up Netflix or Youtube by hitting the home button... which shows a menu overlay on top of the existing SageTV UI... it gives the appearance of things being integrated, yet they are completely different.... and I get a native netflix experience and a native youttube experience that I don't have worry about breaking. I'll probably post more about my Netflix/SageTV/GoogleTV experience as I use it more, but initial impressions are pretty good.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-11-2013, 06:10 AM
GbrNole GbrNole is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Fort Myers, FL
Posts: 844
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
Keep in mind that YouTube has no API for getting access to videos and having them played outside of the official youtube players created by Google. You can get access to the feed apis, but that just returns URLs that can be played by the YouTube web/flash player.

So, for a product like SageTV to play YouTube videos without using the official Flash Player... you have to parse a fair bit of javascript/html to pull out the direct links for videos. If YouTube updates their site and changes the player html/javascript, then programs the parse the javascript/html may break. Given that sites like YouTube are fairly dynamic, this happens quite a bit... and then the developer has to reverse engineer again how the parse out the direct video links, which usually just takes some time.

I created a Java version of this some time ago, because I wanted to be able to directly play the youtube videos in Phoenix without needing to use the stock online videos player. I basically abandoned this after I realized how volatile the process really is... and I didn't want the wrath of the users coming down on me when YouTube no longer worked

On a side note, I've been playing around with GoogleTV (Sony's latest product) and I'm fairly impressed so far. My goal was to run SageTV as a pass through to the GoogleTV box, and then pull up Netflix or Youtube by hitting the home button... which shows a menu overlay on top of the existing SageTV UI... it gives the appearance of things being integrated, yet they are completely different.... and I get a native netflix experience and a native youttube experience that I don't have worry about breaking. I'll probably post more about my Netflix/SageTV/GoogleTV experience as I use it more, but initial impressions are pretty good.
awesome! i was kinda waiting on someone to go the sage/goog tv passthrough route. as one simple question, were you able to control both devices with a single remote?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-11-2013, 08:10 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,538
Quote:
Originally Posted by GbrNole View Post
awesome! i was kinda waiting on someone to go the sage/goog tv passthrough route. as one simple question, were you able to control both devices with a single remote?
Yeah, the gtv remote can control the sagetv ui as well (no extra ir blasters required there), but the gtv remove it limited in that I don't think all the sagetv buttons are mapped. When you setup the pass through unit, SageTV is not listed in the devices... so I used a type of Network Streamer, and then selected Hauppage MVP (which is a compatible remote to HD300, etc), and that appears to work.

I'm still playing around with the stuff... but so far the hdmi passthrough solution is fairly decent for my needs.

I haven't tried to see if my logitech remote can control the gtv unit, which would be more ideal for me.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-11-2013, 11:45 AM
will will is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 797
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
So, for a product like SageTV to play YouTube videos without using the official Flash Player... you have to parse a fair bit of javascript/html to pull out the direct links for videos. If YouTube updates their site and changes the player html/javascript, then programs the parse the javascript/html may break. Given that sites like YouTube are fairly dynamic, this happens quite a bit... and then the developer has to reverse engineer again how the parse out the direct video links, which usually just takes some time.
So when Opus releases a YouTube fix is he updating the STV XML file or a compiled program? If it is in the XML file then this, in theory, would be something we could fix on our own, right?
__________________
Will

OS: Windows 7
Hardware: Intel Core i7-920 with 12GB RAM & an Adaptec 5805 with a Chenbro 36-port SAS Expander
Case: Antec 1200 with 4 iStarUSA trayless hot-swap cages (20 drives max)
Drives: 8 Toshiba/Hitachi 2TB drives in a RAID 6 & 7 Toshiba 3TB drives in a RAID 6
Capture Cards: HDHomeRun Connect Quatro 4, Hauppauge 60 HD-PVR
Players: 5 HD300s, 2 HD200s, 1 Client, 1 MiniClient
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-11-2013, 11:48 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,538
Quote:
Originally Posted by will View Post
So when Opus releases a YouTube fix is he updating the STV XML file or a compiled program? If it is in the XML file then this, in theory, would be something we could fix on our own, right?
My understanding is that the "code" is in the xml.... and yeah, someone with the right skills could fix this as well.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-11-2013, 12:09 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,595
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
My understanding is that the "code" is in the xml.... and yeah, someone with the right skills could fix this as well.
The YouTube video-finding logic is a combination of the online properties file and the STV. So, yes, anyone who knew how to edit those could fix it. However, finding the YouTube video links is a bit convoluted since they keep changing how the links are stored in the web page & thus my only advantage is that I wrote the convoluted code to find the links, so I'm in a better position to update it. Plus, it checks all the resolutions the video has & removes any not allowed and/or those the user wants to skip. Someone else could learn how to do it, though.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 01-11-2013, 02:09 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,538
Quote:
Originally Posted by Opus4 View Post
The YouTube video-finding logic is a combination of the online properties file and the STV. So, yes, anyone who knew how to edit those could fix it. However, finding the YouTube video links is a bit convoluted since they keep changing how the links are stored in the web page & thus my only advantage is that I wrote the convoluted code to find the links, so I'm in a better position to update it. Plus, it checks all the resolutions the video has & removes any not allowed and/or those the user wants to skip. Someone else could learn how to do it, though.

- Andy
Yeah, I forgot about the properties... I did look at this once to recreate it in Java so that I could play the videos using a different player... What you did is really good... but I didn't want to be stuck maintaining it later, since after reviewing what has to be done, it a little fragile You are certainly the best person to maintain it (but what happens when Andy goes on vacation for a month -- and youtube changes )
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 01-11-2013, 04:36 PM
chiledog chiledog is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post

On a side note, I've been playing around with GoogleTV (Sony's latest product) and I'm fairly impressed so far. My goal was to run SageTV as a pass through to the GoogleTV box, and then pull up Netflix or Youtube by hitting the home button... which shows a menu overlay on top of the existing SageTV UI... it gives the appearance of things being integrated, yet they are completely different.... and I get a native netflix experience and a native youttube experience that I don't have worry about breaking. I'll probably post more about my Netflix/SageTV/GoogleTV experience as I use it more, but initial impressions are pretty good.
I would suggest using the Logitech Revue for pass through. It uses the Harmony remote DB so it has complete SageTV support. (when you switch over to pass all the keys on the remote control sagetv). It is really a nice solution (plus you can remap keys to anything, just like Harmony remotes).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
google, netflix, youtube


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Netflix on SageTV? snoopy SageTV v7 Customizations 5 11-27-2011 12:41 AM
sagetv on on w7 and netflix blwegrzyn SageTV Software 2 09-06-2010 03:08 PM
Help with SageTV and netflix please! Tzerial SageTV Customizations 5 02-01-2009 11:25 AM
SageTV + Netflix Watch Now Possible? Brent General Discussion 37 02-08-2008 07:54 PM
NetFlix Plugin for SageTV v4 DwarF SageTV Customizations 60 03-02-2006 07:46 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.