SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-24-2014, 05:52 PM
SteveW's Avatar
SteveW SteveW is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Fall River, Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 336
Wow - It's been 3 years...

I just realized we passed the 3 year mark last week. I know Jeff made comments about "staying tuned" and it sounded like there was hope for the future, but after 3 years I guess that is unlikely. Maybe Google didn't allow him to go in the direction with still providing SageTV to the general population like he had hoped? Hard to say I guess...
__________________
Server: Win 10 Pro 64 Bit, Intel i5, 8 GB, Samsung EVO 850 500 GB for OS, WD Black 4 TB + WD Black 1 TB for Recordings, WD Green 2 TB x 1 and WD Red 6 TB x 2 for DVD/Bluray Rips, Music, Home Movies, etc., Sage 9.1.8.770, HDPVR x 2, BellTV 6131 Receiver x 2, USB-UIRT with 56 KHz Receiver

Clients: PC Client x 2, HD-300 x 4 (1 Using Netgear MoCA Coax Bridges), Placeshifter x 1
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-24-2014, 06:00 PM
pjpjpjpj pjpjpjpj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,065
I just upgraded my server to a new SSD OS drive and to Win 8.1. I've bought a handful of spare extenders (still might buy more). I'm not going anywhere soon.

Still the best out there.
__________________
Server: AMD Athlon II x4 635 2.9GHz, 8 Gb RAM, Win 8.1 x64, Java 8, Gigabit network
Drives: Several TB of internal SATA and external USB drives, no NAS or RAID or such...
Software: SageTV v9, stock STV with ADM.
Tuners: 4 tuners via (2) HDHomeruns (100% OTA, DIY antennas in the attic).
Clients: Several HD300s, HD200s, even an old HD100, all on wired LAN. Latest firmware for each.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-24-2014, 11:09 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,341
Agreed...had hoped for something more, but at least the EPG still works. Seeing that Google owns both Sage AND Youtube, it would be nice if they would allow for better integration and updates between the two.
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-25-2014, 05:50 AM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
I think we all, including Jeff were hoping for something more, but I don't think anyone should really be surprised that Google has no interest in supporting the old SageTV community.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-25-2014, 11:17 AM
nycjoe's Avatar
nycjoe nycjoe is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 104
Happy anniversary, everyone!
__________________
{"HW": "NUC",
"CPU": "i7-5557U",
"RAM": "16GB",
"Recordings": "2TB SATA",
"Imports": "2x 4TB USB",
"Clients": ["HD300", "HD200", "SageTVClient"]}

Last edited by nycjoe; 06-25-2014 at 11:33 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-25-2014, 04:10 PM
jarredduq's Avatar
jarredduq jarredduq is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Stockton, CA - Most miserable city in the USA, SageTV makes it bearable
Posts: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
I think we all, including Jeff were hoping for something more, but I don't think anyone should really be surprised that Google has no interest in supporting the old SageTV community.
Actually, I feel they do still support us to a great extent by still providing the EPG and this forum. They could have shut it down and left us totally in the dust.

I'm not hopeful though for anything beyond this at this point. The future of TV is changing and it is not in the HTPCs/home brew DVR's favor, but where it lands ultimately, nobody really knows. For now I'm just going to enjoy what I have. SageTV is still my primary way of watching content, but as a "hobby," I dabble in appletv, roku, XBMC, and chromecast.
__________________
Server: Home-built i3-4170 3.7GHZ, 500GB SSD, 8GB DDR3, Win 10 64-bit, 4TB of drives for recording
SageTV: 9.2 - 64-Bit
Capture Devices: 2xHD Homerun Prime and HD-PVR (Comcast Premium/Music Channels)
Client 1, 2, 3, and 4: HD200.
NAS: Synology DS211 4TB (Movie Storage)
Sage Add-ons: Jetty, Neilms Webserver (Jetty), Mobile Web, Play-On Plug-in, Comskip Plug-in
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-25-2014, 09:36 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,341
Agreed...the forums and EPG are the lifeblood of the continued existence. And it's still the greatest, all-purpose TV/media manipulation system I've ever come across....
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-26-2014, 05:48 AM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
I'm guessing we still have EPG data only because GoogleTV needs it and they probably haven't fundamentally changed the system so it's essentially "free" to provide it to us to.

And running the forum is probably pocket change to google, if they're actually paying for the hosting.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-26-2014, 10:54 AM
pjpjpjpj pjpjpjpj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,065
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
I'm guessing we still have EPG data only because GoogleTV needs it and they probably haven't fundamentally changed the system so it's essentially "free" to provide it to us to.

And running the forum is probably pocket change to google, if they're actually paying for the hosting.
Hey, man.... whatever the reason.... it's all good to me....
__________________
Server: AMD Athlon II x4 635 2.9GHz, 8 Gb RAM, Win 8.1 x64, Java 8, Gigabit network
Drives: Several TB of internal SATA and external USB drives, no NAS or RAID or such...
Software: SageTV v9, stock STV with ADM.
Tuners: 4 tuners via (2) HDHomeruns (100% OTA, DIY antennas in the attic).
Clients: Several HD300s, HD200s, even an old HD100, all on wired LAN. Latest firmware for each.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-26-2014, 01:10 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,341
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
I'm guessing we still have EPG data only because GoogleTV needs it and they probably haven't fundamentally changed the system so it's essentially "free" to provide it to us to.

And running the forum is probably pocket change to google, if they're actually paying for the hosting.
I'd feel soooo much better if the forum was transferred to independent hands, you know?
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-26-2014, 01:13 PM
Brent Brent is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KC, Missouri
Posts: 3,695
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
I'd feel soooo much better if the forum was transferred to independent hands, you know?
You may not realize it. But what you have now is much better than what you think you want. Jeff makes sure the forums live on and the EPG is still there, FREE to us even though it costs money to run. I imagine the EPG does in fact tie into the EPG used in Google Fiber TV as well so if that's true it won't go away anytime soon to say the least.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-26-2014, 02:36 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,341
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brent View Post
You may not realize it. But what you have now is much better than what you think you want. Jeff makes sure the forums live on and the EPG is still there, FREE to us even though it costs money to run. I imagine the EPG does in fact tie into the EPG used in Google Fiber TV as well so if that's true it won't go away anytime soon to say the least.
well, as long as you have insider knowledge that I don't, then that's good news. Those two things keep Sage viable. Without one or the other, eeek
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-27-2014, 08:07 AM
Skybolt's Avatar
Skybolt Skybolt is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,027
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
... And running the forum is probably pocket change to google, if they're actually paying for the hosting.
Right and a trace route does go back to forums.freytechnologies.com, so who says Jeff isn't footing the bill himself for the server it's running on ...
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-27-2014, 03:40 PM
lobosrul's Avatar
lobosrul lobosrul is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 573
If they really cared, and they're really not going to do anything else with SageTV, why not open source it?? To me its really asinine of Google not to.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-27-2014, 03:51 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,043
Quote:
Originally Posted by lobosrul View Post
If they really cared, and they're really not going to do anything else with SageTV, why not open source it?? To me its really asinine of Google not to.
Why would they open source it when they are probably using the Code in google fiber or Google TV?
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06-27-2014, 07:54 PM
phelme's Avatar
phelme phelme is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,025
Quote:
Originally Posted by lobosrul View Post
If they really cared, and they're really not going to do anything else with SageTV, why not open source it?? To me its really asinine of Google not to.
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
Why would they open source it when they are probably using the Code in google fiber or Google TV?
yep, just because the majority of us aren't using the current incarnation of it, SageTV is still alive and well in the guise of Google Fiber.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-28-2014, 09:47 AM
mayamaniac's Avatar
mayamaniac mayamaniac is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,177
Quote:
Originally Posted by phelme View Post
yep, just because the majority of us aren't using the current incarnation of it, SageTV is still alive and well in the guise of Google Fiber.
I remember Jeff saying that on the back of the Google TV box, there's a label that says SageTV 8.xx on it. It is very much alive as a Google product.

And the real reason why EPG is still alive is because Jeff fought to keep it.
__________________
Mayamaniac

- SageTV 7.1.9 Server. Win7 32bit in VMWare Fusion. HDHR (FiOS Coax). HDHR Prime 3 Tuners (FiOS Cable Card). Gemstone theme.
- SageTV HD300 - HDMI 1080p Samsung 75" LED.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-29-2014, 12:08 PM
Brent Brent is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KC, Missouri
Posts: 3,695
SageTV IS Google Fiber TV's DVR engine. That is why it won't be open sourced.

This is a screenshot from my Google Fiber TV system info page I snapped today during Mexico's exciting finish in the World Cup. Note the DVR Java Version info: SageTV V8.3.4.3

Last edited by Brent; 06-29-2014 at 12:18 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-29-2014, 12:16 PM
phelme's Avatar
phelme phelme is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,025
Brent, you should have put up a World Cup spoiler alert on your post. You know that SageTV can act as a DVR.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brent View Post
SageTV IS Google Fiber TV's DVR engine. That is why it won't be open sourced.

This is a screenshot from my Google Fiber TV system info page I snapped today ... World Cup. Note the DVR Java Version info: SageTV V8.3.4.3

Last edited by phelme; 06-29-2014 at 12:20 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 06-29-2014, 12:19 PM
Brent Brent is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KC, Missouri
Posts: 3,695
Good point. Updated to remove the spoiler...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Who will still be using SageTV in five years? briankeys The SageTV Community 48 07-10-2013 02:19 PM
Sage Accomplishments over the years OldPCGUY General Discussion 12 03-12-2012 01:08 PM
After 7 years with SageTV, It may just be over mightyt SageTV Software 51 06-19-2011 05:49 PM
2 Movies - same title - different years jusjoken Batch Metadata Tools 3 03-01-2011 07:56 PM
SageTV - 2 years - 4 versions - better off? michaeldjcox SageTV Software 53 04-27-2009 12:17 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.