SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-01-2015, 01:56 PM
SteveW's Avatar
SteveW SteveW is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Fall River, Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 336
HD300s for Sale Announcement From Andy

Please tell me that's not an April Fools Joke....
__________________
Server: Win 10 Pro 64 Bit, Intel i5, 8 GB, Samsung EVO 850 500 GB for OS, WD Black 4 TB + WD Black 1 TB for Recordings, WD Green 2 TB x 1 and WD Red 6 TB x 2 for DVD/Bluray Rips, Music, Home Movies, etc., Sage 9.1.8.770, HDPVR x 2, BellTV 6131 Receiver x 2, USB-UIRT with 56 KHz Receiver

Clients: PC Client x 2, HD-300 x 4 (1 Using Netgear MoCA Coax Bridges), Placeshifter x 1
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-01-2015, 02:15 PM
jt4242 jt4242 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveW View Post
Please tell me that's not an April Fools Joke....
Never even thought of that!!
ha-ha

very exciting - I guess I'll be spending my days and nights updating my email and the forum! Hope the day comes quickly and good luck to everyone!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-01-2015, 02:53 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,049
Is This an April Fool???

http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/show...716#post570716
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-01-2015, 04:02 PM
Carlton Bale Carlton Bale is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Posts: 95
I'm always suspicious of "news release April 1" announcements.

If I really needed another one, I would have gotten one off of ebay already.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-01-2015, 08:56 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,595
An April Fool's joke? I may have a twisted sense of humor at times, but I wouldn't go that far!

Should I say that it never even occurred to me that someone might think it was an April Fool's joke? Nah, I'll have to admit that posting it on April 1 was the joke, knowing that someone would think it was all just a joke.

Just to be clear: there really is a last set of HD300 extenders that will be sold, so subscribe to my announcement topic if you are interested.

Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-02-2015, 06:03 AM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by Opus4 View Post
An April Fool's joke? I may have a twisted sense of humor at times, but I wouldn't go that far!
Yeah, for an April Fools joke you'd have announced an HD1000, with every streaming service and wireless Google Fiber.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-02-2015, 07:09 AM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,595
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
Yeah, for an April Fools joke you'd have announced an HD1000, with every streaming service and wireless Google Fiber.
No, that would be FREE wireless Google Fiber, but in exchange you have to agree to scan the bar code for or take a picture of everything you buy or bring into your house, then agree to receive targeted ads on all connected devices. An April Fool's joke has to be somewhat believable...

Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-02-2015, 08:02 AM
TimmyToo TimmyToo is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 37
Will there be a limit on the number a person will be able to purchase? My concern would be folks buying them to flip on eBay vs actually buying them to use.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-02-2015, 08:20 AM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,595
I will have a system that tries to spread the sales to as many people as possible.

Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-02-2015, 10:16 AM
Sparhawk6 Sparhawk6 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 323
Trying to figure out how to get my phone to set off a 100% volume alarm, overriding all silences and mutes, when I get an "Announcements" email from webmaster@sagetv.com .....

"I'm sorry for the interruption, your honor, but the last batch of HD300s just went on sale. Give me a minute."
__________________
Server: Gigabyte EP43-UD3L; Intel Core2Duo E5200; 4 GB DDR2 RAM; NVidia GeForce 9400GT; 6 tuners: Hauppauge HVR-1600 NTSC/ATSC/QAM combo, Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 Dual Hybrid QAM, HD Homerun Prime (using SageDCT); 3.06TB total space: Seagate 160 GB, Maxtor 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 400GB, Hitachi 2 TB
Extender: HD200
Netgear MCAB1001 MoCA Coax-Ethernet Adapter Kit
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-02-2015, 10:34 AM
trk2 trk2 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 340
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sparhawk6 View Post
Trying to figure out how to get my phone to set off a 100% volume alarm, overriding all silences and mutes, when I get an "Announcements" email from webmaster@sagetv.com .....

"I'm sorry for the interruption, your honor, but the last batch of HD300s just went on sale. Give me a minute."
I made the decision to give up my cell phone recently which was quite liberating. Now I'm having second thoughts because everyone with phones is going to get the jump on the final batch of HD300s...
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-02-2015, 10:49 AM
pjpjpjpj pjpjpjpj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,067
Andy, if I tell you that I am a big fan of The Clash (and I am), do I get early purchase options like fan club members do for bands?

P.S. You might like this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dS-TpidgOZ0
__________________
Server: AMD Athlon II x4 635 2.9GHz, 8 Gb RAM, Win 8.1 x64, Java 8, Gigabit network
Drives: Several TB of internal SATA and external USB drives, no NAS or RAID or such...
Software: SageTV v9, stock STV with ADM.
Tuners: 4 tuners via (2) HDHomeruns (100% OTA, DIY antennas in the attic).
Clients: Several HD300s, HD200s, even an old HD100, all on wired LAN. Latest firmware for each.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-02-2015, 01:09 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,595
Quote:
Originally Posted by pjpjpjpj View Post
Andy, if I tell you that I am a big fan of The Clash (and I am), do I get early purchase options like fan club members do for bands?

Are you suffering from Cool Confusion!? Now Look Here & Listen: if Music Could Talk, The Main in Me says that may be Groovy Times and a Shepherd's Delight to some people, but Up in Heaven (Not Only Here) that would be a Cheat and the Wrong 'Em Boyo! While Rudie Can't Fail at that, I would feel like a Bankrobber and I don't want the Police on My Back or see Guns on the Roof , so I think I'll have to Stay Free and Deny doing such a thing or the Gates of the West might open and people might believe that it would Give 'Em Enough Rope to think that action was Hateful towards them, at which point things may turn to Hate & War, and then that would be just One Emotion: oh Lonesome Me! So One More Time: I don't Walk Evil Talk! There'll be Justice Tonight and I won't be working for the Clampdown! When Time is Tight and you hear The Call Up, just make sure you Know Your Rights to get on the list with The Right Profile and you may be able to do The Magnificent Dance or even the Rebel Waltz with your Remote Control in your hand, if you aren't in Complete Control and Overpowered by Funk! In the meantime, just Kill Time and keep Working and Waiting until the time is right.

For anyone not familiar with The Clash, those are all song titles. (or an album title)

Quote:
P.S. You might like this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dS-TpidgOZ0
I ran into that one the last time we talked about The Clash and you mentioned Cowboy Mouth... I'm not a big fan of their music, but the song was funny.

Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-02-2015, 01:15 PM
pjpjpjpj pjpjpjpj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,067
Quote:
Originally Posted by Opus4 View Post
I ran into that one the last time we talked about The Clash and you mentioned Cowboy Mouth...
Dang. The memory is the first thing to go, right? See, I spent a few too many years in New Orleans, hence the deceased brain cells...
__________________
Server: AMD Athlon II x4 635 2.9GHz, 8 Gb RAM, Win 8.1 x64, Java 8, Gigabit network
Drives: Several TB of internal SATA and external USB drives, no NAS or RAID or such...
Software: SageTV v9, stock STV with ADM.
Tuners: 4 tuners via (2) HDHomeruns (100% OTA, DIY antennas in the attic).
Clients: Several HD300s, HD200s, even an old HD100, all on wired LAN. Latest firmware for each.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-02-2015, 03:31 PM
jarredduq's Avatar
jarredduq jarredduq is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Stockton, CA - Most miserable city in the USA, SageTV makes it bearable
Posts: 198
Firmware update for HD300

I would like to purchase another HD300, but was curious if there will be another firmware update after Sage has gone open source? The HD300 firmware never felt "finished" compared with HD200.

I do miss the HD audio output and the DTS decoding that the HD300 has.
__________________
Server: Home-built i3-4170 3.7GHZ, 500GB SSD, 8GB DDR3, Win 10 64-bit, 4TB of drives for recording
SageTV: 9.2 - 64-Bit
Capture Devices: 2xHD Homerun Prime and HD-PVR (Comcast Premium/Music Channels)
Client 1, 2, 3, and 4: HD200.
NAS: Synology DS211 4TB (Movie Storage)
Sage Add-ons: Jetty, Neilms Webserver (Jetty), Mobile Web, Play-On Plug-in, Comskip Plug-in
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-02-2015, 03:42 PM
pjpjpjpj pjpjpjpj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,067
So I have friends who want to jump into Sage. Can they buy hd300s in this sale and then when Sage goes OS, download and install it and it will work with the extenders just like a purchased copy would?
__________________
Server: AMD Athlon II x4 635 2.9GHz, 8 Gb RAM, Win 8.1 x64, Java 8, Gigabit network
Drives: Several TB of internal SATA and external USB drives, no NAS or RAID or such...
Software: SageTV v9, stock STV with ADM.
Tuners: 4 tuners via (2) HDHomeruns (100% OTA, DIY antennas in the attic).
Clients: Several HD300s, HD200s, even an old HD100, all on wired LAN. Latest firmware for each.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-02-2015, 04:12 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,595
While I don't know if anything will ever happen with the firmware, I don't see why these extenders wouldn't work for new users with the open source version of SageTV later. They should work just fine.

Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 04-02-2015, 06:57 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by jarredduq View Post
I would like to purchase another HD300, but was curious if there will be another firmware update after Sage has gone open source?
I would buy one, assuming there won't be. Any firmware update would be up to the community, and may not even be possible depending on what happens with the Sigma drivers/licensing.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 04-02-2015, 07:58 PM
7up 7up is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 171
I'm happy to see these become available but just curious how a batch of HD300's were found after all this time?
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 04-03-2015, 06:08 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,800
Quote:
Originally Posted by 7up View Post
I'm happy to see these become available but just curious how a batch of HD300's were found after all this time?
I doubt they were ever "lost". They were probably simply not for sale. No way to tell why they weren't selling them.
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Two HD300s For Sale - Canada jorton SageTV Marketplace 1 01-22-2014 11:26 AM
Two HD300s and one HD200 for sale onlydarksets SageTV Marketplace 4 01-15-2014 04:45 PM
Two HD300s for sale soulprops77 SageTV Marketplace 3 01-14-2014 11:50 PM
2 HD300s for sale HuntHunt SageTV Marketplace 1 10-13-2012 01:56 PM
Will have 6 HD300s for sale in a few weeks akoker SageTV Marketplace 8 10-04-2012 03:53 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.