SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 06-05-2015, 08:24 AM
pjpjpjpj pjpjpjpj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,065
I'm all for getting it working, even if it requires download. Most of what we use youtube for is short video clips (Sesame Street stuff for the kids, etc.) and much of that we end up saving/recording anyway (let it all buffer, pause, hit the record button in Sage). Most of the non-kid stuff we watch on youtube through Sage is stuff we already know we want - i.e., I'll see something hilarious at work, and want to show my wife when I get home. We have a folder on the Sage server for stuff like that, which we keep/save as well.

So if we had to download it and then just choose to delete it if we didn't want it, it really wouldn't change our use habits much at all.
__________________
Server: AMD Athlon II x4 635 2.9GHz, 8 Gb RAM, Win 8.1 x64, Java 8, Gigabit network
Drives: Several TB of internal SATA and external USB drives, no NAS or RAID or such...
Software: SageTV v9, stock STV with ADM.
Tuners: 4 tuners via (2) HDHomeruns (100% OTA, DIY antennas in the attic).
Clients: Several HD300s, HD200s, even an old HD100, all on wired LAN. Latest firmware for each.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 06-05-2015, 09:30 AM
Skirge01's Avatar
Skirge01 Skirge01 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,599
With most of the internet speeds available today, waiting for the video to complete shouldn't take very long. Let's face it, if your download speed is so slow that you don't want to wait, you probably don't watch many videos online anyway.

I'm all for this. I'd love to see movie trailers return to Sage. I also like the cinema option in Kodi, where it plays a bunch of videos like at a theater. It's pretty cool to sit down to watch a modern movie like Guardians of the Galaxy and get a trailer for something like the first Die Hard.
__________________
Server: XP, SuperMicro X9SAE-V, i7 3770T, Thermalright Archon SB-E, 32GB Corsair DDR3, 2 x IBM M1015, Corsair HX1000W PSU, CoolerMaster CM Storm Stryker case
Storage: 2 x Addonics 5-in-3 3.5" bays, 1 x Addonics 4-in-1 2.5" bay, 24TB
Client: Windows 7 64-bit, Foxconn G9657MA-8EKRS2H, Core2Duo E6600, Zalman CNPS7500, 2GB Corsair, 320GB, HIS ATI 4650, Antec Fusion
Tuners: 2 x HD-PVR (HTTP tuning), 2 x HDHR, USB-UIRT
Software: SageTV 7
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 06-05-2015, 03:05 PM
Boolah's Avatar
Boolah Boolah is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob23 View Post
Have you tried using Boolah's fix in this thread? It is working well for me. It doesn't allow one to search for videos, but it is helpful if there are youtube channels to which you subscribe.
Adding search to my fix shouldn't be that difficult if there is some way to redirect the search query from SageTV's YouTube search to point to my web site. (I don't know how easy this would be, or even if it's possible.)

Don't get me wrong, I think tmiranda's approach is definitely the way to go about permanently solving the YouTube issue in Sage, but if the search terms could easily be redirected to an outside web site, I could probably have a working solution in 15 minutes or so.

tmiranda's approach of using YouTube's API should work no matter how YouTube presents its content. My approach on the other hand (scraping) will break whenever YouTube changes the structure of their site.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 06-07-2015, 04:38 PM
Boolah's Avatar
Boolah Boolah is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 133
Well that was easy... I just took a look at the OnlineVideoLinks.properties file and the YouTube search queries the [old] YouTube API URLs directly. This means that we can use this to redirect YouTube searches to an external web site to get YouTube searches working again in SageTV.

See this post for instructions.

Last edited by Boolah; 06-07-2015 at 04:43 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 06-08-2015, 09:58 AM
pjpjpjpj pjpjpjpj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,065
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boolah View Post
Well that was easy... I just took a look at the OnlineVideoLinks.properties file and the YouTube search queries the [old] YouTube API URLs directly. This means that we can use this to redirect YouTube searches to an external web site to get YouTube searches working again in SageTV.

See this post for instructions.
That post is for setting up links to your channels in youtube, isn't it? Were you just referencing it as the way someone can fix the youtube search function? Or does that fix the actual search function in Sage?
__________________
Server: AMD Athlon II x4 635 2.9GHz, 8 Gb RAM, Win 8.1 x64, Java 8, Gigabit network
Drives: Several TB of internal SATA and external USB drives, no NAS or RAID or such...
Software: SageTV v9, stock STV with ADM.
Tuners: 4 tuners via (2) HDHomeruns (100% OTA, DIY antennas in the attic).
Clients: Several HD300s, HD200s, even an old HD100, all on wired LAN. Latest firmware for each.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 06-08-2015, 10:58 AM
Boolah's Avatar
Boolah Boolah is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by pjpjpjpj View Post
That post is for setting up links to your channels in youtube, isn't it? Were you just referencing it as the way someone can fix the youtube search function? Or does that fix the actual search function in Sage?
Actually, the linked post (post #7 from the thread) is instructions for setting up the actual YouTube search function in Sage. The initial post (post #1) in the linked thread was for setting up YouTube channels.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 06-09-2015, 12:02 PM
brianrent brianrent is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: KY
Posts: 77
Thumbs up

Thanks for this. I was missing the youtube movie trailers and now they work again.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 06-10-2015, 08:31 AM
sacrament055 sacrament055 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 431
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boolah View Post
Well that was easy... I just took a look at the OnlineVideoLinks.properties file and the YouTube search queries the [old] YouTube API URLs directly. This means that we can use this to redirect YouTube searches to an external web site to get YouTube searches working again in SageTV.

See this post for instructions.
Well done!
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 06-15-2015, 06:59 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,800
Teaser - I can now do all kinds of searches and display all kinds of different information using the V3 API. I'm still exploring the API to see how to get some of the useful things displayed on the main YouTube.com page.

I can also play most content progressively but that wil take a little more time to implement.

I still haven't been able to do requests on behalf of a user. That's a WIP.

So while I am working on this does anybody have any special requests? Here is what I think I can already do and plan on getting into the first release:

- Browse channels (like on the YouTube main page)
- Search for videos and channels.
- Create playlists (NOT integrated with the playlists you create on YouTube.com, I'll hopefully get to that later.)
- Add favorite videos and channels (Ditto comment above.)
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 06-15-2015, 07:46 AM
dinki's Avatar
dinki dinki is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 643
With Kodi/XBMC and the Yatse remote app I can send youtube video links from my phone to Kodi and have it open on my tv. I know this is a stretch, but can you think of any way to accomplish this with Sage? Allow for a remote machine/phone to send a Youtube URL to Sage and have it open that link in the Sage Youtube addon you're working on?
__________________
Intel Q6600 Quad 2.4GHZ, 8GB RAM, Win7 Pro SP1 64bit, 1 TB of Data
SageTV 9, Silicondust HDHomeRun x2 OTA
HD200
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 06-15-2015, 08:25 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by dinki View Post
With Kodi/XBMC and the Yatse remote app I can send youtube video links from my phone to Kodi and have it open on my tv. I know this is a stretch, but can you think of any way to accomplish this with Sage? Allow for a remote machine/phone to send a Youtube URL to Sage and have it open that link in the Sage Youtube addon you're working on?
That, ideally, would be a part of a much bigger project that would require making an app for said mobile device(s), of which there isn't really one for sage. There are a few 'partial' apps, we'll say, but that's about it.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 06-15-2015, 09:09 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,800
Quote:
Originally Posted by dinki View Post
With Kodi/XBMC and the Yatse remote app I can send youtube video links from my phone to Kodi and have it open on my tv. I know this is a stretch, but can you think of any way to accomplish this with Sage? Allow for a remote machine/phone to send a Youtube URL to Sage and have it open that link in the Sage Youtube addon you're working on?
That's beyond my pay grade. The best chance of getting this to happen is to get stuckless excited enough about it to update his SageTV android app.
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 06-15-2015, 09:23 AM
dinki's Avatar
dinki dinki is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 643
Understood on both counts. Can't blame me for trying.

I have two Kodi settop boxes. One in the living room and one in the bedroom. The bedroom one provides cheap extender like functionality for watching live tv (nPVR backend) and Sage recordings (Sage addon). To be honest, the living room one pretty much only serves as a Youtube/Airplay device for my phone and the wife's iPad. Having this functionality in Sage would eliminate the flipping between sources. Perhaps some day.
__________________
Intel Q6600 Quad 2.4GHZ, 8GB RAM, Win7 Pro SP1 64bit, 1 TB of Data
SageTV 9, Silicondust HDHomeRun x2 OTA
HD200
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 06-15-2015, 11:29 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,800
Quote:
Originally Posted by dinki View Post
Understood on both counts. Can't blame me for trying.

I have two Kodi settop boxes. One in the living room and one in the bedroom. The bedroom one provides cheap extender like functionality for watching live tv (nPVR backend) and Sage recordings (Sage addon). To be honest, the living room one pretty much only serves as a Youtube/Airplay device for my phone and the wife's iPad. Having this functionality in Sage would eliminate the flipping between sources. Perhaps some day.
I must be getting old because I just don't understand the paradigm of using the phone or iPad to "send things" to the TV. Why not just pick up the TV (or Sage) remote to play the video on the TV? What's the advantage of using a phone or iPad as a remote control for the TV?
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 06-15-2015, 12:12 PM
Skirge01's Avatar
Skirge01 Skirge01 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,599
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmiranda View Post
I must be getting old because I just don't understand the paradigm of using the phone or iPad to "send things" to the TV. Why not just pick up the TV (or Sage) remote to play the video on the TV? What's the advantage of using a phone or iPad as a remote control for the TV?
I don't know what the OP was referring to and this could be totally unrelated, but my wife and I would love the ability to move a video we were watching (NOT a recording or movie) on our phone to the TV so that we don't have to crowd around the tiny screen or listen to a crappy speaker. It might be a funny or die thing, maybe a movie trailer, etc. If it's already on one screen, it's a bit of an annoyance to search for the clip on another computer.
__________________
Server: XP, SuperMicro X9SAE-V, i7 3770T, Thermalright Archon SB-E, 32GB Corsair DDR3, 2 x IBM M1015, Corsair HX1000W PSU, CoolerMaster CM Storm Stryker case
Storage: 2 x Addonics 5-in-3 3.5" bays, 1 x Addonics 4-in-1 2.5" bay, 24TB
Client: Windows 7 64-bit, Foxconn G9657MA-8EKRS2H, Core2Duo E6600, Zalman CNPS7500, 2GB Corsair, 320GB, HIS ATI 4650, Antec Fusion
Tuners: 2 x HD-PVR (HTTP tuning), 2 x HDHR, USB-UIRT
Software: SageTV 7
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 06-15-2015, 12:35 PM
dinki's Avatar
dinki dinki is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 643
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skirge01 View Post
I don't know what the OP was referring to and this could be totally unrelated, but my wife and I would love the ability to move a video we were watching (NOT a recording or movie) on our phone to the TV so that we don't have to crowd around the tiny screen or listen to a crappy speaker. It might be a funny or die thing, maybe a movie trailer, etc. If it's already on one screen, it's a bit of an annoyance to search for the clip on another computer.
Yes. Very similar circumstances for us. My wife does cake decorating and she'll find a video showing how to do a new technique and will then want to show me so she'll cast it to the tv. I might come across a video posted that I want to show the kids or someone might come over and I can easily show them a funny video with a few clicks on my phone.

Not sure what your set up is like, but it is much easier to search on my phone than it is through the remote.
__________________
Intel Q6600 Quad 2.4GHZ, 8GB RAM, Win7 Pro SP1 64bit, 1 TB of Data
SageTV 9, Silicondust HDHomeRun x2 OTA
HD200
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 06-16-2015, 01:49 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
I've almost always had a wireless keyboard floating around the livingroom. Much easier to type on than my phone.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 06-16-2015, 12:54 PM
Skirge01's Avatar
Skirge01 Skirge01 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,599
Quote:
Originally Posted by dinki View Post
Yes. Very similar circumstances for us. My wife does cake decorating and she'll find a video showing how to do a new technique and will then want to show me so she'll cast it to the tv. I might come across a video posted that I want to show the kids or someone might come over and I can easily show them a funny video with a few clicks on my phone.

Not sure what your set up is like, but it is much easier to search on my phone than it is through the remote.
I hear you there. Our situation is very similar.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
I've almost always had a wireless keyboard floating around the livingroom. Much easier to type on than my phone.
We have a keyboard by the TV and I agree that's definitely easier than searching with the remote or typing on the phone. But, the stuff we frequently want to share with someone else is found initially on our phones, not the TV.
__________________
Server: XP, SuperMicro X9SAE-V, i7 3770T, Thermalright Archon SB-E, 32GB Corsair DDR3, 2 x IBM M1015, Corsair HX1000W PSU, CoolerMaster CM Storm Stryker case
Storage: 2 x Addonics 5-in-3 3.5" bays, 1 x Addonics 4-in-1 2.5" bay, 24TB
Client: Windows 7 64-bit, Foxconn G9657MA-8EKRS2H, Core2Duo E6600, Zalman CNPS7500, 2GB Corsair, 320GB, HIS ATI 4650, Antec Fusion
Tuners: 2 x HD-PVR (HTTP tuning), 2 x HDHR, USB-UIRT
Software: SageTV 7
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 06-18-2015, 08:42 AM
pjpjpjpj pjpjpjpj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,065
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boolah View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by pjpjpjpj View Post
That post is for setting up links to your channels in youtube, isn't it? Were you just referencing it as the way someone can fix the youtube search function? Or does that fix the actual search function in Sage?
Actually, the linked post (post #7 from the thread) is instructions for setting up the actual YouTube search function in Sage. The initial post (post #1) in the linked thread was for setting up YouTube channels.
Does this fix work with the PlayOn plugin enabled, or do we still have to disable that plugin to get youtube to work?
__________________
Server: AMD Athlon II x4 635 2.9GHz, 8 Gb RAM, Win 8.1 x64, Java 8, Gigabit network
Drives: Several TB of internal SATA and external USB drives, no NAS or RAID or such...
Software: SageTV v9, stock STV with ADM.
Tuners: 4 tuners via (2) HDHomeruns (100% OTA, DIY antennas in the attic).
Clients: Several HD300s, HD200s, even an old HD100, all on wired LAN. Latest firmware for each.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 06-18-2015, 03:35 PM
Boolah's Avatar
Boolah Boolah is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 133
Don't have the PlayOn plugin, so can't comment on that.

However, it looks like YouTube made a change on their site within the last 24 hours which redirects all HTTP traffic to HTTPS. My fix would return an HTTP link to SageTV even if an HTTPS link was passed to it since Sage cannot handle HTTPS links. What this means is even with this fix in place, you'll get an RSS feed which Sage can read, but the resulting links will not play as YouTube will redirect the video link from HTTP to HTTPS which Sage can't play.

The only workaround that I can readily see to fix this (short of directly using the v3 API, which tmiranda is working on) is to proxy all video traffic and re-stream it in HTTP. Needless to say, I can't really do that. So, it looks like we're YouTube-less again until tmiranda can bail us out.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
youtube


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I need a YouTube primer Skiier__Dude SageTV Customizations 0 05-30-2012 10:51 AM
YouTube electron SageTV Software 1 02-16-2012 06:31 PM
Youtube and 6.6 bmac.to SageTV Software 4 12-02-2011 08:02 AM
YouTube fix for v6.6? Rezolution SageTV Software 4 07-29-2011 06:35 AM
Where is YouTube? robk SageTV Beta Test Software 6 03-08-2007 04:53 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.