SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-29-2017, 07:19 PM
Aaroneous Aaroneous is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 8
Question v9 not working with WinTV-HVR-1265 capture card

Trying to move away from my Pentium 4 machine before it gives up or starts a fire.

The 1265 Card works in v7 on this new machine if the following registry entry is changed to 8100 from 8800:
(found this info in the forum)

\HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Frey Technologies\Common\AdditionalCaptureSetups\Hauppauge WinTV 885 Video

When upgrading to v9 this registry entry no longer works, SageTV closes when trying to capture video.
If the registry entry is left at 8100 then I get an error:
There was a capture error in playback.
ERROR (-6,0x80004005) There was a problem setting up hardware video compression. Please be sure latest drivers... blah blah blah.

I've tried this in both Win7 & Win10, both being x64 and Pro versions.


I'm using a Lenovo ThinkStation S20, Intel Xeon L5640; 16GB RAM; Quadro FX 3450 graphics
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-31-2017, 04:46 AM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,399
Installed the latest ver LAV Video Filters on your machine.

In Setup | Detailed Setup under Video / Audio
Set Video Renderer = EVR or VRM9
Set all Decoder Filter to = Default
Set Media Player for non-MPEG files = DirectShow.

If still not working the try changed the registry setting. EnableSageTVStreamDemux=1 to EnableSageTVStreamDemux=0 to force SageTV to use an external splitter (this may appeared twice in the registry so be sure change both).
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-01-2017, 09:56 AM
Aaroneous Aaroneous is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 8
Thank you for you response:

Quote:
Originally Posted by SHS View Post
Installed the latest ver LAV Video Filters on your machine.

In Setup | Detailed Setup under Video / Audio
Set Video Renderer = EVR or VRM9
Set all Decoder Filter to = Default
Set Media Player for non-MPEG files = DirectShow.

If still not working the try changed the registry setting. EnableSageTVStreamDemux=1 to EnableSageTVStreamDemux=0 to force SageTV to use an external splitter (this may appeared twice in the registry so be sure change both).
Unfortunately it hasn't helped. SageTV still gives the same error or crashes depending on whether \HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Frey Technologies\Common\AdditionalCaptureSetups\Hauppauge WinTV 885 Video is set to 8800 or 8100.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-01-2017, 01:53 PM
Aaroneous Aaroneous is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 8
Here's Log and property files if it helps.
sagetv_0.txt

hs_err_pid1532 - Copy.txt

Sage - Copy.properties.txt
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-08-2017, 11:37 AM
Aaroneous Aaroneous is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 8
Anybody?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-08-2017, 12:30 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,399
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aaroneous View Post
Anybody?
Have test the card under Hauppauge WinTV app to be sure that it working?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-08-2017, 12:42 PM
Aaroneous Aaroneous is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 8
Yes it works with the WinTV application. It also works in SageTV v7
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-09-2017, 03:48 AM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,399
So just assuming that you test both WinTV and SageTV 7 on the Lenovo ThinkStation S20 and it work with any problem there ?.
If you have not tested WinTV and SageTV 7 on the Lenovo ThinkStation S20 what slot do you this card install in a 1x or 16x slot ?.
I see that have 9.1.5.683 install try 9.1.6.747 what happing, Oh besure to restore 8800 back and report your back your findings.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-11-2017, 07:18 PM
Aaroneous Aaroneous is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 8
I've tried the card in both 16x and 1x slots with the same results.
I've upgraded to version 9.1.6.747 and still get the same ERROR (-6,0x80004005).
The Hauppage drivers are the latest from their website.
Attached Files
File Type: zip Sagetvfiles.zip (82.0 KB, 18 views)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-11-2017, 07:39 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,399
Will Aaroneous I'm out of idea but have you just try make a recording with out watch it ? used MediaInfo to see what container audio/video format is.
Maybe you may better off just sell that off and getting WinTV-quadHD in it places.
By the way your not using the Analog TV Tuner or Composite or S/Video Input are you ?.

Last edited by SHS; 09-11-2017 at 07:46 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-13-2017, 07:00 PM
Aaroneous Aaroneous is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 8
Yes I am trying to use the composite or S-Video inputs. I'm using a USBUIRT with my satellite receiver. (Bell Express Vu)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-13-2017, 08:01 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,399
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aaroneous View Post
Yes I am trying to use the composite or S-Video inputs. I'm using a USBUIRT with my satellite receiver. (Bell Express Vu)
Then there your problem right there v9 doesn't come with any software encoder codec
Try asking under SageTV Open Source if there any alternative, but if I recall right the ain't any so you have to move to hardware encoder like below.
If your set-top only has Composite or S-Video out then this Option: HVR 1800, 1850, 2250 or 2255 in PCIe, HVR 1950 for USB.
If set-top has Composite, S-Video, Component or HDMI out then this Option: HD-PVR, HD-PVR 2 for USB, Colossus or Colossus 2 for PCIe.
Note: HDMI may req a HDMI Splitter in order to get around HDCP look for a ViewHD model VHD-1X2MN3D or if your willing spend a bit more there always the HDFury

Last edited by SHS; 09-14-2017 at 05:10 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-17-2017, 07:46 PM
Aaroneous Aaroneous is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 8
Ok, Well thanks for you help though.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinTV HVR 1265 bigo93bronco Hardware Support 4 06-26-2017 05:36 PM
Comcast into Hauppauge WinTV capture card? cjbojrab SageTV EPG Service 12 10-02-2012 07:28 AM
Capture Card not working chazperx SageTV Software 2 11-02-2007 01:03 PM
Best or Easiest Working HD Capture Card/Encoder? alijiwani Hardware Support 9 11-05-2005 10:46 PM
Video Card - Capture card question Succorso Hardware Support 3 10-10-2003 06:02 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.