SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Clients Development

Notices

SageTV Clients Development This forum is for discussions relating to SageTV Open Source Clients Development.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-05-2017, 05:36 PM
WillCS WillCS is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 6
Android Mini Client on Oreo

Don't know if anyone else has experienced this but since updating to Android 8 SageTV MiniClient has been unuseable. When going to all recordings only one item is displayed even though there should be multiple. After finding what you want to watch, the video is very distorted. Images to show what is happening are attached. Everything worked fine before the upgrade for me. Is this a Google bug or does something need to change in SageTV?

https://imgur.com/a/x7ssV
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-05-2017, 07:08 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,539
Quote:
Originally Posted by WillCS View Post
Don't know if anyone else has experienced this but since updating to Android 8 SageTV MiniClient has been unuseable. When going to all recordings only one item is displayed even though there should be multiple. After finding what you want to watch, the video is very distorted. Images to show what is happening are attached. Everything worked fine before the upgrade for me. Is this a Google bug or does something need to change in SageTV?

https://imgur.com/a/x7ssV
I haven't played with oreo, yet, but I suspect that google has changed some things and now this isn't working

Have you tried clearing app cache?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-05-2017, 08:23 PM
WillCS WillCS is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 6
Yeah, cleared all data hoping that would fix it but no change.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-06-2017, 03:08 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
with the UI being composited on the server, I'm curious what sort of android change could cause just a single item to be displayed in the list.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-06-2017, 05:11 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,539
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
with the UI being composited on the server, I'm curious what sort of android change could cause just a single item to be displayed in the list.
i agree, it's unlike Oreo changes the content of what is being shown, but, there may be glitches in the GL layer (combined with bugs in the code) where it's showing the wrong artifacts.

interestingly enough google pushed Oreo to me last night, so, I'll see if I can get some time this weekend to validate things.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-19-2017, 05:33 AM
gclayto's Avatar
gclayto gclayto is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: US
Posts: 50
Oreo definitely breaks the miniclient I wish I would have seen this post before allowing the update. Now I need to figure out how to downgrade my Nexus. Curiously, my Firestick with the latest updates works better with the miniclient.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-19-2017, 09:01 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,539
Quote:
Originally Posted by gclayto View Post
Oreo definitely breaks the miniclient I wish I would have seen this post before allowing the update. Now I need to figure out how to downgrade my Nexus. Curiously, my Firestick with the latest updates works better with the miniclient.
Any information on "breaks". I can't work with "breaks" and attempt to fix it, unless I can understand what you are thinking is broken. Certainly the original post, looked like an issue on the server... but not sure that was ever determined.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-19-2017, 08:09 PM
gclayto's Avatar
gclayto gclayto is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: US
Posts: 50
Sorry, for the cryptic bug report. As old as this thread is I thought you had had time to experiment with it. The Program Guide displays very erratically showing nothing at first then displaying different bits and pieces of the guide as you scroll up and down. The recordings menu is the same way showing nothing on the screen when first selected then displaying different pieces of the page when you scroll around the menu. I will try to get some pictures posted this weekend showing this. This bug is the same whether using sageTVv9 or Gemstone. Pheonix is worse it will not display anything in the menus at all.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-20-2017, 06:55 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,539
Quote:
Originally Posted by gclayto View Post
Sorry, for the cryptic bug report. As old as this thread is I thought you had had time to experiment with it. The Program Guide displays very erratically showing nothing at first then displaying different bits and pieces of the guide as you scroll up and down. The recordings menu is the same way showing nothing on the screen when first selected then displaying different pieces of the page when you scroll around the menu. I will try to get some pictures posted this weekend showing this. This bug is the same whether using sageTVv9 or Gemstone. Pheonix is worse it will not display anything in the menus at all.
To be honest, I do have Oreo on my phone, right now, but I've never actually opened the miniclient on my phone

I may have some time this weekend to look at the miniclient... I've been wanting to get a build out with a newer ExoPlayer, IJKPlayer, and compiled again newer android libraries, etc. Hopefully I can find time to do this, and test why Oreo may be causing display issues.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-26-2017, 09:30 PM
bisch bisch is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 8
Did anyone find a resolution or workaround to the oreo issues? It's still a problem on my nexus players.

Thank you for the excellent work and support.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-26-2018, 08:26 PM
bisch bisch is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 8
With Nvidia Shield and MiBox both receiving Oreo updates recently, does this issue still exist?

I'm expecting it will
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-27-2018, 02:38 PM
crarbo1 crarbo1 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 465
I would like to know this as well. My Nvidia ShieldTV just got pushed the Andriod 8.0 update. I declined it until I know if this issue is fixed. It wouldn't be good for the wife to have to deal with those issues.

Thanks for any update!
__________________
OS: Windows 10 Pro (64 bit)
Motherboard/CPU/RAM: Gigabyte EP43-UD3/Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 2.83 GHz/8 GB RAM
System Drive : Samsung 850 Pro SSD (256 GB)
Recording Drive's: 2 x WD WD4001FAEX (4 TB)
Tuner's: 2 x Ceton InfiniTV 4's
Clients: 3 x Nvidia Shield TV's; Spares: 2 x HD300's
SageTV v9.1.2.662 with OpenDCT v0.5.28
Java 1.8.0_111-b14 (32bit)
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-27-2018, 07:01 PM
cat6man's Avatar
cat6man cat6man is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: West of NYC, East of SF
Posts: 860
well, here is some good news with Oreo on the shield.

first, after installation it asked me to choose a wifi connection but failed at each attempt to connect.............so i hit the back button a few times, and when i went forward ("continue") again,
the problem was gone.

also, after installation of Oreo and upgrade of remote, i was able to open sage client and see all my files. however, when i played a tv program recorded with sage, i could not fast forward at all.
the pointer moved forward, then went back to where it had been.
when i played torrented files, the fast forward worked as expected........strange, went back and forth and it was consistent.

then i did a restart (twice) on the shield and the problem went away

so my suggestion is to do a couple of shield restarts and see if your problem(s) go(es) away.

the other thing i can suggest is to uninstall and re-install sagetv client, but i'd go with the restarts first.
good luck!
__________________
Q: dad, when will you stop changing all the electronics?
A: never, so you might as well get used to it.

Last edited by cat6man; 06-27-2018 at 07:04 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-27-2018, 07:23 PM
bisch bisch is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 8
Thanks Cat6man,
what STV are you using that worked? I was playing around with Nexus Player Oreo tonight . Did a factory reset and still the same issues.
The sage7 standard stv works was my discovery but Gemstone and Diamond still have the issues. Didn't test Phoenix this time but believe it has the same issues.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-27-2018, 08:06 PM
texneus texneus is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: DFW
Posts: 269
Shield updated tonight, and I can confirm behaviour is quirky. It seems that anything involving a list of items (Recorded TV, favorites, etc.) does not display...I just get a blank grey screen . Menu navigation works fine though. This is with Gemstone.
__________________
Server: Asrock C236WSI, Xeon E3-1225, 32GB RAM, NAS4Free (FreeBSD) 11.1 w/Ubuntu VM for SageTV
Tuners: HD Homerun Quatro (OTA), Hauppauge Colossus HDMI capture (CATV)
Clients: SageTV client on Windows 7 HTPC, NVidia Sheild
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06-27-2018, 08:31 PM
cat6man's Avatar
cat6man cat6man is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: West of NYC, East of SF
Posts: 860
Quote:
Originally Posted by bisch View Post
Thanks Cat6man,
what STV are you using that worked? I was playing around with Nexus Player Oreo tonight . Did a factory reset and still the same issues.
The sage7 standard stv works was my discovery but Gemstone and Diamond still have the issues. Didn't test Phoenix this time but believe it has the same issues.
i only use standard STV and am having no issues now.

by the way, if i don't care about fancy images, only basic functionality, do the other STV have any advantages i'm missing out on? never have even looked at them............
__________________
Q: dad, when will you stop changing all the electronics?
A: never, so you might as well get used to it.

Last edited by cat6man; 06-27-2018 at 08:34 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-27-2018, 08:44 PM
cat6man's Avatar
cat6man cat6man is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: West of NYC, East of SF
Posts: 860
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post

I may have some time this weekend to look at the miniclient... I've been wanting to get a build out with a newer ExoPlayer, IJKPlayer, and compiled again newer android libraries, etc. Hopefully I can find time to do this
bless you sir!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
__________________
Q: dad, when will you stop changing all the electronics?
A: never, so you might as well get used to it.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-28-2018, 07:15 AM
DarkWolf77 DarkWolf77 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 115
So I got some screenshots. I have gemstone running on mine. I tried to get logs but even though I had it to log to a file, no log materialized anywhere so I'm not sure what I did wrong there.

Also, apparently, Google in their infinite wisdom killed the screenshot tool, so I had to take pictures with my phone. The screenshots are mostly self explanatory, with the exception that the only item visible is usually the last item selected, except in the menus. Note in the first that the toolbars at top and bottom are missing. Also, I fortunately, haven't had issues with video playback itself (ironically, it seems to actually be a bit better than it used to be)

main screen

TV menu

options menu

Last edited by DarkWolf77; 06-28-2018 at 09:48 AM. Reason: fixed image links
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-28-2018, 05:52 PM
MrD MrD is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 387
Images though not as pretty are consistent with my obervations after upgrade.
__________________
[size=1]-MrD
=============
Linux Server 7.1.9 (1)HD300 (1) HD200 (1) HD100 (2) PC Clients
Intel Xeon L? 32Gb
CetonTV cable card /FIOS
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 06-28-2018, 06:54 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,539
Well, I finally got the Android 8 update (Shield)... and I have to say, this is not good. Android appears to throw errors loading the various images from the server (and everything is an image in sagetv). Not sure what to make of this, to be honest. I've spent some time researching but I've come up wtih nothing. In the mean time, I have to move to Plex for my viewing, and I hate to say it, but it might be the end of road for me with SageTV

I don't know what would change from android 7 to 8 that would cause this. I found one thread saying that 16bit pngs were failing to load since upgrading.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Android TV Mini-client observations panteragstk SageTV Clients Development 29 10-29-2017 04:07 PM
Android Mini Client Transcoding KarylFStein SageTV Clients Development 16 08-26-2017 09:57 PM
Android TV Mini Client With VPN Cannot Connect To Server Tweeker SageTV Clients Development 7 08-17-2017 02:43 PM
Android Mini-Client UI Freeze KarylFStein SageTV Clients Development 5 07-06-2017 12:38 PM
[Android Mini Client] Integrate with Android TV 'Live Channels' dinki SageTV Clients Development 11 01-31-2016 09:43 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.