SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Clients Development

Notices

SageTV Clients Development This forum is for discussions relating to SageTV Open Source Clients Development.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-28-2018, 01:56 PM
benjamintm benjamintm is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 161
Andorid Miniclient 1.3.4 Issues

Hi All,
I'm running into a problem with 1.3.4 android miniclient on my 2015 Nvidia Shield. The first time I start the client up and try to play back a recorded (from HDHomeRun) the miniclient locks up and then exits to the Nvidia home screen. If I start the miniclient back up and try to play back the same recording it works w/out issue. I'm using the stock setting for the miniclient. I've also tried removing and re-installing the software. My HD300 works w/o issue.

It might be related to this thread, but there doesn't seem to be a solution other then downgrade to 1.2.8 which I haven't done yet.

Ben

Last edited by benjamintm; 10-28-2018 at 01:58 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-28-2018, 04:51 PM
samgreco samgreco is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Villa Park, IL (Outside Chicago)
Posts: 611
Well, that's weird. I was about to post the exact same issue.

I can say that i see this EXACTLY.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-29-2018, 03:39 PM
sacrament055 sacrament055 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 431
1.3.0 seems to work on my Amazon FireTV but 1.3.4 on Shield locks up immediately. I'm thinking I may try replacing the 1.3.4 version from my shield with the 1.3.0 version.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-29-2018, 03:49 PM
Blista Blista is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: 'Merica
Posts: 4
I sideloaded 1.2.8 last week, but it updated itself shortly after. Is there a way to prevent it from updating on the gen2 Shield?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-03-2018, 05:02 PM
benjamintm benjamintm is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 161
I side-loaded 1.2.8 and it seemed to solve most of my issues.

You can't (as far as I know) disable updates for any given app but you can disable for all apps in the app store. That's what I did and it's stayed at 1.2.8.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-05-2018, 07:46 PM
Denali Denali is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 157
Having similar lockups on Amazon FireHD with 1.3.4 trying to launch video. Reverted to 1.3.0 from Amazon and no longer locks up.
__________________
HTPC: Gigabyte GA-Z170XP-SLI, I7-6700, 16GB, Windows 10 Pro x64, Hauppauge HVR-1600, WinTV-dualHD, Colossus 2, Samsung 850 EVO 120GB, Seagate 3TB, WD 3TB, 3TB, 5TB, Java v1.8.0_201, SageTVx64 v9.2.1.826, Samsung UN60EH6003F, Dish ViP222K, ViewHD 1x2 HDMI Splitter.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-06-2018, 06:53 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,539
Hey guys, I've been travelling for a few weeks. I just looked in the Play Console (where errors are reported) and I can see a couple of troubling things.

1. I'm seeing crashes in the low level ffmpeg code for ijkplayer
2. I'm seeing some out of memory errors

These are both troubling, and I'll try to take a look this weekend. ijkplayer hasn't been updated in about 9 months now, and I'm not sure if it will be. I may need to find an alternate player at some point, especially if ExoPlayer doesn't get to the point where it's more usable. I've used exoplayer for a few months, but, since the last couple of releases, it's gotten worse for me, and I had to go back to ijkplayer.

The out of memory errors are even more troubling
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-06-2018, 09:36 AM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,035
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
Hey guys, I've been travelling for a few weeks. I just looked in the Play Console (where errors are reported) and I can see a couple of troubling things.

1. I'm seeing crashes in the low level ffmpeg code for ijkplayer
2. I'm seeing some out of memory errors

These are both troubling, and I'll try to take a look this weekend. ijkplayer hasn't been updated in about 9 months now, and I'm not sure if it will be. I may need to find an alternate player at some point, especially if ExoPlayer doesn't get to the point where it's more usable. I've used exoplayer for a few months, but, since the last couple of releases, it's gotten worse for me, and I had to go back to ijkplayer.

The out of memory errors are even more troubling
I’m in the process of getting the 64-bit Windows stuff running but if you can send me the crash details I can always see if there’s something that can be fixed easily. It may just push the error somewhere else and ultimately it all may be a memory issue anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-06-2018, 12:55 PM
btrcp2000 btrcp2000 is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 857
Not much new to add other than another confirmation that rolling back to 1.3 and shutting off auto updates in the play store fixed it for me on both a mi and shield. I did have to find it out on the interwebz though. Couldn't do 1.28 for fear of impact to WAF because I need remote buttons
__________________
[size=1]Current Server:V9 UNRAID Docker, SuperMicro x9dri-LNF4+, 32 GB ECC, 2x Xeon e5-2660v2, storage array 6TB, 2 Dish r5000HD tuners, 1 HDHomerun Quatro, 1 HDHomerun Extend
4 Nvidia Shield TVs with Miniclient
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-15-2018, 02:52 PM
bigbill's Avatar
bigbill bigbill is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 366
Wow, I use the v2017 Shield in my RV and I started having the exact same issue as the first reporter. Click on a show it locks up and in a bit returns to the main screen where I try again and it works fine as if nothing is actually wrong with the show.

It happens every time. Wont work, then try again and it works.

That sort of makes me think the player is working correctly -Bill
__________________
Sage Server: SageTV v9.1.8
Hardware Dell T20 Mini Tower, 4th Gen Pentium, 8GB RAM, Win10 Pro 64 bit, 3 x 4TB WD Green, 128GB SSD boot drive. Capture: 2 Dual HDHR, (OTA Winegard HD8200U, CM4221HD), 3 @ STP-HD200's fw=v20100909 TV's: 70", 55" & 40" Sony's - Playon/PlayLater, Blue Iris. FFMPEG script converting MPEG2 to MP4 long term storage.

Motorhome Sage Server: SageTV v9.1.8 Intel NUC6CAYH, HD300, Nvidia Shield 2017, 1 Dual HDHR 4TB Passport storage, Winegard BatWing RV antenna.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 11-16-2018, 10:58 PM
waylo waylo is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 205
I just purchased a Shield as there's an excellent sale on Amazon currently.

I can't say I had any of the issues listed here. Maybe because it was a new install, there were no carry-over issues from earlier versions.

I did run into the issue of having garbled script showing up in my menus. On a whim, I downgraded to 1.3.0 and though that issue is still there, it's far less common.

Also I'm using a keyboard, and oddly the miniclient doesn't quite recognize many buttons. Insert and delete are not recognized. Maybe that's an Android issue rather than a miniclient issue.
__________________

Server: SageTV 9.2.1x86 on Windows 7 x64 Home Premium, Core 2 Quad Q6600, 4gb RAM, OpenDCT, Java 1.7u80
Display: EVGA 1030 GT to Sony LED TV via DVI-HDMI
Capture Devices: HDHR Prime for Comcast, HDHR Dual for OTA
Clients: Nvidia Shield Android miniclient, 2 PCs
Retired: ATI HDTV Wonder for OTA HD, VBox DTA-150 for OTA HD, Conexant 2388x (Blackbird) analog capture to Comcast DTA cable box with USBUirt, ATI Remote Wonder Plus, Fanless Radeon HD 6450
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-16-2018, 11:32 PM
btrcp2000 btrcp2000 is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 857
I discovered that the mini client recognizes key presses but they have to be manually recorded and assigned within the client itself inside detailed setup->commands (not the app settings). When I use my harmony remote as a Bluetooth keyboard and hit Ctrl X for example while in the “Show Sagetv commands linked...” section, it registers as Meta-X. No idea what that is, but all I had to do was link Meta X command to the guide command, and I can now use the harmony remote to execute keyboard commands directly.
__________________
[size=1]Current Server:V9 UNRAID Docker, SuperMicro x9dri-LNF4+, 32 GB ECC, 2x Xeon e5-2660v2, storage array 6TB, 2 Dish r5000HD tuners, 1 HDHomerun Quatro, 1 HDHomerun Extend
4 Nvidia Shield TVs with Miniclient
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-17-2018, 01:22 PM
waylo waylo is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 205
Thanks, I had seen some previous older thread about getting the keypresses assigned. My issue is that the miniclient sees the keypresses, but is unable to assign them to any commands. I'll start a new thread with all the issues I've run into using the last 3 versions.

EDIT: New thread here https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=65749
__________________

Server: SageTV 9.2.1x86 on Windows 7 x64 Home Premium, Core 2 Quad Q6600, 4gb RAM, OpenDCT, Java 1.7u80
Display: EVGA 1030 GT to Sony LED TV via DVI-HDMI
Capture Devices: HDHR Prime for Comcast, HDHR Dual for OTA
Clients: Nvidia Shield Android miniclient, 2 PCs
Retired: ATI HDTV Wonder for OTA HD, VBox DTA-150 for OTA HD, Conexant 2388x (Blackbird) analog capture to Comcast DTA cable box with USBUirt, ATI Remote Wonder Plus, Fanless Radeon HD 6450

Last edited by waylo; 11-17-2018 at 02:58 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-14-2018, 11:16 PM
DigiDAD DigiDAD is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 30
Received a new MiBox S today and installed miniclient from Play Store. I too am experiencing constant app lockups when trying to playback recorded MPEG2 ATSC/OTA files. Same behavior on my S912 based generic box as well. 1.3.4 is basically unusable. I uninstalled and reinstalled 1.3.0 from APK. No problems for now. Seems in Android TV auto-update apps is a global setting however, rather than per app, so I am hesitant to leave it off. Has anyone found another solution for 1.3.4? Is there a new version in the works?

Update: Turned on the TV this morning and had the garbled menu text issue as well. Had to exit and restart.

Last edited by DigiDAD; 12-15-2018 at 06:01 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-15-2018, 07:21 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,539
I spent some time this morning looking back through the MiniClient releases, to try and see where the 1.3.x started to become unstable.

Unfortunately, I've done a piss poor job of actually tracking the releases in git (I disappoint myself so many times ). But at least i did keep an informal change log, and from that i recreated branches for each release, so that I can better see what changed.

On Bintray, I kept 1.2.8 and the latest 1.3.4. I went to 1.2.8, because from the reports that seemed to be the last stable, but, I think people can use 1.3.0 as well and not experience some of these issues (based on reports here). I assumed that the instability came in 1.2.9 because it was there I updated the video player libraries, but, if 1.3.0 seems to play ok, then, likely it's not the video player updates that are causing an issue.

1.3.0 was significant since it was the first release that added support for cusomized key mappings in the client. (ie, support for you to configure keyboard/mouse key mappings). And I think this was for the most part, stable. I do recall fixing one bug around this.

1.3.1 is where we added support for changing/selecting audio tracks. I'm wondering if maybe this is where much of the video crashing is happening. ie, a timing issue of when the audio track is being selected. 1.3.2, then next day, fixed a crashing issue, but, I wondering if there are more that we haven't caught.

1.3.3 was a lot of small changes for catching some issues that were showing up in the google play console. 1.3.4 was a small fix in the show help dialog.

I'm going to prepare a 1.3.5 release where I'll upgrade to the latest exoplayer (2.9.2 vs the 2.8.4 that we have now), and I'm going to review the audio track code, and I might see about wrapping that in a preference, so that it can be turned off, and that might help identify whether or not the problems are there. In the google play console, I see no reports of failures in this code, so, either people are not reporting it, or, it's crashing and the problems are being swallowed, such that they can't be reported.


I've rebuilt and republished the v1.3.0 release to BinTray
https://bintray.com/opensagetv/saget...niClient/1.3.0

I don't recommend getting the APK from any other site, site, since, I can't be sure it hasn't been tampered with.

Code:
**1.3.4 (2018-10-08)**
- sls: Fixed crash when showing Help

**1.3.3 (2018-10-05)**
- sls: Fixed issues listed in crash reports
- sls: removed logging on startup that can cause App to hang on some hardware
- sls: removed code that was designed for pre android 21 devices
- sls: Fixed NPE bug in the key listener
- sls: Upgraded ExoPlayer to 2.8.4

**1.3.2 (2018-09-24)**
- jvl711: Fixed bug in Audio Track selection that would cause player to crash (sometimes)

**1.3.1 (2018-09-23)**
- jvl711: Add support for SageTV server to signal Subtitle track changes.
- jvl711: Added audio track change support to ExoPlayer.
- jvl711: Added the ability to switch audio tracks.
- jvl711: Allowed unmapped keys to allow system actions to occur.

**1.3.0 (2018-08-04)**
- jvl711: Added configurable remote mapping ability from within the application 

**1.2.13 (2018-07-01)**
- Upgraded ExoPlayer and IJKPlaer
- Work Around for Shield (and other 8.x versions) where UI gets completely messed up.


**1.2.12 (2017-11-11)**
- Fixes to Skip ahead for ExoPlayer
- Fixed Paused Issue (ie, timeline changes when paused)
- Fixed issue where pause/play would be intercepted by background app


**1.2.9 (2017-11-01)**
- updated IJKPlayer to 0.8.4
- updated ExoPlayer to r2.5.4
- Enhanced ExoPlayer (Seeking in .ts files seems OK for everyday use)
- Build Tools to 26.0.2
- Fixed lots of NullPointerExceptions

**1.2.8 (2017-05-28)**
- Upgraded to IJKPlayer 0.8.0
- Upgraded to ExoPlayer r2.4.0
- Upgraded to LibGDX 1.9.6
- Add "Duplicate" connection action
- Each connection have a different client id
- Each connection can set stateful remote on/off (useful for testing Phoenix)
- Aspect Ratio update for larger non 16/9 screens
- Added support for GUIDE and INFO keys
- Added support for F1-F12 keys
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-15-2018, 08:20 AM
DigiDAD DigiDAD is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 30
Thanks for your work on this, and for reposting 1.3.0. I will uninstall the one I downloaded from a random site and reinstall with the apk from bintray. Feel free to PM me if you need someone to test 1.3.5 - I have a MiBox running Oreo, a generic box running Nougat and various phones and tablets...

Thanks again
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-15-2018, 04:09 PM
Blista Blista is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: 'Merica
Posts: 4
+1 for offering to help test / troubleshoot.

In case it helps you figure out where the issue might be, I'm getting the crashing at the start of playback for TV recordings (via HD Homerun), but am able to play Videos (DVD Rips, etc.).
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 12-15-2018, 05:19 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,539
So, I've looked at the code for the audio track selection... and it seems ok, but I did add more checking around the timing of setting the audio track, etc.

I did not upgrade exoplayer, since, it appeared to work worse on my system

There is a 1.3.5-dev build posted if people want to try it out.
https://bintray.com/opensagetv/saget...ient/1.3.5-dev

It's important to note if you are using ExoPlayer or IJKPlayer or both when you have issues.

Sadly the best way to troubleshoot this is via logs, but, getting logs from the MiniClient is extremely hard.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 12-15-2018, 08:34 PM
DigiDAD DigiDAD is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 30
Thanks stuckless,

I installed 1.3.5-dev. Behavior is the same. First try fails to play video - just the spinning wait indicator. Close & restart - second try plays successfully. I am using default settings - so IJK player.

I just PMed you a box link with a coupe 1 minute recording samples. Both exhibit the behavior.

I also took a picture of the garbled menu text. This appears to happen when you have the app running but switch apps and go back to it after some time.



Thanks again

Last edited by DigiDAD; 12-15-2018 at 09:45 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 12-16-2018, 05:04 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,539
Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiDAD View Post
Thanks stuckless,

I installed 1.3.5-dev. Behavior is the same. First try fails to play video - just the spinning wait indicator. Close & restart - second try plays successfully. I am using default settings - so IJK player.

I just PMed you a box link with a coupe 1 minute recording samples. Both exhibit the behavior.

I also took a picture of the garbled menu text. This appears to happen when you have the app running but switch apps and go back to it after some time.



Thanks again
So, if you leave the app running, then switch apps, and then later go back, then yeah, the garbled menus will happen. I guess, I really should just enforce and kill the app when you switch out of it. My typical usage is to enable that setting, but also, I always use the long press and exit when I leave to shut it down. SageTV is not really meant to be running in the background.

Thx for the vidoes, I'll see if i can reproduce.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Miniclient 101 smdl SageTV Clients Development 5 11-28-2017 02:47 AM
Android MiniClient - Amazon Fire TV - Installation Issues/Questions Daweeze SageTV Clients Development 49 10-24-2017 11:53 AM
Linux 64bit MiniClient (issues with mplayer) stuckless SageTV Github Development 53 10-06-2015 05:16 PM
Miniclient? BobbyDing General Discussion 3 09-08-2015 11:53 AM
Linux 64bit MiniClient (issues with JTux on 64bit) stuckless SageTV Github Development 23 08-19-2015 12:54 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.