SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-25-2019, 04:49 AM
something fishy something fishy is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 227
Sat>IP

Hi
is there a way to get SageTV to use a sat>IP server as a network tuner either directly or via OpenDCT?

If it helps here is the sat>ip protocol:
http://www.satip.info/sites/satip/fi...sion_1_2_2.pdf

Thanks
Eric
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-29-2019, 05:58 PM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,800
Quote:
Originally Posted by something fishy View Post
Hi
is there a way to get SageTV to use a sat>IP server as a network tuner either directly or via OpenDCT?

If it helps here is the sat>ip protocol:
http://www.satip.info/sites/satip/fi...sion_1_2_2.pdf

Thanks
Eric
What server devices are supported?
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-01-2019, 02:36 AM
something fishy something fishy is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 227
In my specific case I am using a megasat sat>ip server 3 (they thought long and hard about that name).

https://www.megasat.tv/en/produkt/sat-ip-server-3/

This provides eight tuners from 4x satellite connections from either a quad or a quattro LNB.

One complication is that the megasat is not setup with the frequencies for the astra 28.2 satellite (which is what the dish is pointed at). However it is recognised as eight tuners by NextPVR which is able to scan for a full bouquet of channels successfully.

Similarly TVHeadend will discover the tuners and scan for channels successfully. I think Sage user @rickgillyon uses TVHeadend as a bridge to re-serve sat>ip streams that OpenDCT can request using its command line syntax (or perhaps TVHeadend will emulate an HDHomerun? This is the route that I'm trying to follow ATM, but I'm a novice with TVHeadend and my Sage install is on Windows not linux, so far its a slow process).

My understanding is that the sat>ip protocol is common to all sat>ip servers and that it will take frequency, polarisation etc switches from either an RTSP or an HTTP request (the protocol booklet I linked has details and examples and I've manually used them successfully in VLC player). Unfortunately my ability to use this knowledge is zero.

OpenDCT alone cannot see the sat>ip server on my network.

Thanks for any guidance.

Cheers

Eric
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.