SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-17-2021, 11:36 AM
archibael archibael is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 2
Win10 Client fails to connect to Server-- WIZ.BIN size?

Hey.

This is not my first install, but I'm not exactly an old pro. My server has been running decently for months (ver 9.2.2) with an HD300 extender. In the process of starting up a setup in a vacation home, though, I tried putting a SageTV client on an older PC.

The client detects the server machine okay, and it starts up... but then crashes for heap size. Upping the heap size to 2048 can make that problem go away... but then the thing essentially hangs forever in a loop, apparently trying to free up memory or something (splash screen says "SageTV Connection is Initializing", logs say infinite variations on "Sage done waiting for GC to free up some memory usage%=0.9986201").

I tried it on other client-side machines to see if any of them had better luck, but it's happening on all of them and by an unfortunate coincidence they're all Win10 machines with 4GB of memory, so it's not like I can check whether that's a variable.

I reduced the machine's resident programs as much as I could without much success, but in digging around on these forums and elsewhere, I'm getting the suspicion it's on the server side: my WIZ.BIN file is 750MB, and while I have a decent number of recordings, I don't think it's THAT much.

My GUESS is that when the Client makes contact it's getting some amount of that data pushed on it, and this is causing it to choke and die.

How to rectify this? Reconstructing WIZ.BIN from scratch is apparently frowned upon, but I am uncertain how to proceed. It doesn't seem like it should be that large, but maybe that has no effect and I'm barking up the wrong tree.

Any thoughts to help me out? I could go to Linux, which I understand has better heap size controls than Windows, but if this is a server side issue, particularly around Wiz.bin, that won't help me.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-17-2021, 04:42 PM
Tiki's Avatar
Tiki Tiki is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southwest Florida, USA
Posts: 1,969
Before you spend a lot of time troubleshooting, did you make sure the client and server have the same version number?
__________________
Server: Ryzen 2400G with integrated graphics, ASRock X470 Taichi Motherboard, HDMI output to Vizio 1080p LCD, Win10-64Bit (Professional), 16GB RAM
Capture Devices (7 tuners): Colossus (x1), HDHR Prime (x2)
,USBUIRT (multi-zone)
Source:
Comcast/Xfinity X1 Cable
Primary Client: Server Other Clients: (1) HD200, (1) HD300
Retired Equipment: MediaMVP, PVR150 (x2), PVR150MCE,
HDHR, HVR-2250, HD-PVR
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-17-2021, 11:26 PM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,415
Now that there is a 64-bit Windows option, it has the same "heap options" as Linux.

750MB does sound rather large. Narflex recently made a change and described a method that can clean/reduce Wiz.bin in this post: https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/sho...7&postcount=39

It will be available in version 9.2.4. I already provided the updated .jar for a few people via pm. I've actually already released 9.2.4 installers but am waiting on confirmation of a modification before updating the main installer post.
__________________
Windows Installer
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-18-2021, 02:13 PM
Tiki's Avatar
Tiki Tiki is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southwest Florida, USA
Posts: 1,969
If you really think the wiz.bin size is the problem, itís really easy to test:
1. Shut down Sage completely.
2. Rename, move, or delete your wiz.bin and wiz.bak files (temporarily).
3. Restart Sage. A blank wiz.bin will be created automatically.
4. Try connecting with your client.

If the client connects properly, it would suggest wiz.bin was the culprit. If it still doesnít work, you know thatís not the problem.

After your test, remember to shut down Sage again and restore the original wiz.bin.
__________________
Server: Ryzen 2400G with integrated graphics, ASRock X470 Taichi Motherboard, HDMI output to Vizio 1080p LCD, Win10-64Bit (Professional), 16GB RAM
Capture Devices (7 tuners): Colossus (x1), HDHR Prime (x2)
,USBUIRT (multi-zone)
Source:
Comcast/Xfinity X1 Cable
Primary Client: Server Other Clients: (1) HD200, (1) HD300
Retired Equipment: MediaMVP, PVR150 (x2), PVR150MCE,
HDHR, HVR-2250, HD-PVR
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-23-2021, 08:40 PM
waynedunham waynedunham is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,448
That Wiz.Bin is massive IMHO. I have 2 SageTV servers running. One Win8.1, and one Win10. Both 32 bit with 32 bit SageTV.

The Wiz.Bin files on both of my servers are over 10 years old and still only come in around 105-110Mb. Just for comparison I have over 2TB of recordings (38 days worth of watching)

Even though I have all that content I typically don't keep things around once I watch them. Watch and delete is usually the order of the day for me. I do have some things I've kept around, a few classic episodes of TV shows and a few burned DVDs that I re-watch.

Both of my machines have 8GB of memory and since I'm running 32 bit OS and Windows SageTV I'm limited to the old Java Heap limits meaning that I typically have to restart SageTV at least once a day to clear the Java heap warnings.

I would test out Tiki's suggestion. I'd rename/move your existing Wiz.bin/bak files with SageTV and SageTV service shut down. Let SageTV create a brand new Wiz.bin and see what happens.
__________________
Wayne Dunham
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connect v9 client (windows) to v7 server fails jptheripper SageTV Github Development 6 09-06-2016 07:13 AM
SSD Drive size for Client/Server panteragstk Hardware Support 28 05-10-2011 03:22 PM
7.0.20 MKV Server/Client playback fails sacrament055 SageTV Beta Test Software 17 10-17-2010 09:15 AM
Client fails to find server, 4.1 or service mode problem? Todd33 SageTV Software 2 12-23-2005 09:38 AM
sage client fails with server in service mode folly12345 SageTV Software 2 05-22-2005 05:04 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.