SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #161  
Old 07-24-2005, 09:07 PM
sleonard's Avatar
sleonard sleonard is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,506
I am not 100% sure but can't he run SageTV in Service mode and then run 4 instances of the psuedo-client for the MVP's? That way he need buy only 1 license for SageTV and no clients licenses.
  #162  
Old 07-24-2005, 09:09 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
I'm not sure either, but for some reason I think you can only run 1 instance of the psuedo-client (ie SageTV), so you'd need SageClient for the rest.
  #163  
Old 07-24-2005, 09:26 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,595
As far as I know, you cannot use the "-multi" parameter when using "-client" with SageTV, so you need SageTVClient in order to be able to run multiple instances. (I believe I asked about this a long time ago & I tested it just now to confirm: using "-client -multi" just resulted in waking the instance already running.)

In terms of licensing, I haven't heard of any plans to change how that works, so it is still possible to run multiple instances of SageTVClient on a single PC. I do not know how it might affect any possible future extenders, though.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
  #164  
Old 07-25-2005, 04:11 AM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
If you run 1 Sage client on 1 machine you can run as many MVPs as your PC processor can support. They need to connect to a server so 1 Sage TV license. But a Sage client license is required for each PC you run the client on.

Gerry

EDITED: Oops-initial post was incorrect-but it is now fixed.
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.

Last edited by gplasky; 07-25-2005 at 10:42 AM.
  #165  
Old 07-25-2005, 05:20 AM
JasonJoel JasonJoel is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 1,043
Correct. TODAY (2.x version) with Matt's MVP client, you need ONE client license.

With that ONE client license you can run as many MVP clients as you want.

Now, does that meet the intent of the licensing? Probably not. But it works.

I do not know how it will work in the future (later releases of v3.x).

Jason

Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89
One license per machine, that's all you need.



If you mean Matt's MVP client/plugin, then it uses a SageClient installation (license) on a PC, and you run 4 instances of it (1 license).
  #166  
Old 07-25-2005, 05:40 AM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by JasonJoel
Correct. TODAY (2.x version) with Matt's MVP client, you need ONE client license.

With that ONE client license you can run as many MVP clients as you want.
Just to clarify, that assumes you're running it on 1 PC. If you run SageClient on more than one PC (maybe you've got a bunch of extenders and 1 PC can't handle it) you need a license for each PC.

Quote:
Now, does that meet the intent of the licensing? Probably not. But it works.

I do not know how it will work in the future (later releases of v3.x).

Jason
This is just my assumption/guess. But I'd guess that the licensing will remain the same for SageClient in the future, however my guess is also that future official extenders will actually run SageClient on the hardware and not via the terminal server thingy Matt did, hence each extender will be a different "PC" and you'll need a license for each.
  #167  
Old 07-25-2005, 09:33 AM
JasonJoel JasonJoel is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 1,043
Good point.


Well, Frey's MVP Extender implelentation will be a remote screen (aka not running in hardware), similar to Matt's (as that is just how the MVP works)... So it will be intereting to see how they change Client itself. Because if they start charging for a client license per MVP (as I would think they will), then what would stop people from just sticking with Matt's client - thereby not having to purchase more client licenses at all?

Anyway, we'll see.

Jason


Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89
Just to clarify, that assumes you're running it on 1 PC. If you run SageClient on more than one PC (maybe you've got a bunch of extenders and 1 PC can't handle it) you need a license for each PC.



This is just my assumption/guess. But I'd guess that the licensing will remain the same for SageClient in the future, however my guess is also that future official extenders will actually run SageClient on the hardware and not via the terminal server thingy Matt did, hence each extender will be a different "PC" and you'll need a license for each.
  #168  
Old 07-25-2005, 10:09 AM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
We're well into stuff that either hasn't been announced yet, or I've forgotten

Quote:
Originally Posted by JasonJoel
Good point.


Well, Frey's MVP Extender implelentation will be a remote screen (aka not running in hardware), similar to Matt's (as that is just how the MVP works)...
Are you sure about that? I know they used Matt's client at CES, but I've thought (just my guess) that they'll be running custom software on the extenders.

Quote:
So it will be intereting to see how they change Client itself. Because if they start charging for a client license per MVP (as I would think they will), then what would stop people from just sticking with Matt's client - thereby not having to purchase more client licenses at all?
They announced $99/extender in one of the CES press releases. How you choose to look at it is up to you. The client "license" sounds to be rolled into the hardware purchase price. I'd be really surprised if you have to buy extender, and a client license. Although it remains to be seen how they deal with current MVP owners that want the official client.
  #169  
Old 07-25-2005, 10:48 AM
Crashless's Avatar
Crashless Crashless is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,224
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89
They announced $99/extender in one of the CES press releases. How you choose to look at it is up to you. The client "license" sounds to be rolled into the hardware purchase price. I'd be really surprised if you have to buy extender, and a client license. Although it remains to be seen how they deal with current MVP owners that want the official client.
I believe they annouced at one point that you would be able to convert client licenses to extender licenses. I can't remember specifically, but I think there wasn't going to be a charge for such a conversion.
__________________
Give the Meekell STV a try!
  #170  
Old 07-25-2005, 11:11 AM
Alwayslearnin Alwayslearnin is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 47
Original announcement

Quote:
Media Extender:
- Media Extender support for SageTV allows TVs throughout the home to connect to the SageTV Media Center without the need for a local PC. Media Extender support pricing will be available beginning at $99 this spring.
- The initial support for Media Extenders will be through the Media MVP. We will announce support for additional devices as the year progresses.
- The licensing structure will allow a certain number of extender connections to the server. These licenses will be available with the sale of the MVP from us or as an add-on license if you already own an MVP.
From this announcement, I was trying to determine if they were saying each MVP would require a seperate license at $99 each. If the original meaning is when you purchase a $99 MVP through Sage, it will come with a sage client license, that is not a big deal. But if the original intent is you have to buy an MVP plus a client license, that is going to make sage quite a bit more expensive than some of the other PVR combo packages.
  #171  
Old 07-25-2005, 11:25 AM
JUC's Avatar
JUC JUC is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Vermont, USA
Posts: 1,399
I believe if/when the sage branded MVP comes out the price will include a client license.
JUC
Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.