SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Placeshifter

Notices

SageTV Placeshifter Discussion related to the SageTV Placeshifter application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV Placeshifter software application should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-09-2012, 06:53 AM
gabrielcab gabrielcab is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 287
Change Locator Id?

It is possible to change the Locator ID for placeshifter?
__________________
Waiting for Sage 8.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-09-2012, 09:20 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,851
Not that I am aware. They are decided by Sage to ensure that each locator ID is unique.
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-09-2012, 09:49 AM
gabrielcab gabrielcab is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 287
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmiranda View Post
Not that I am aware. They are decided by Sage to ensure that each locator ID is unique.
Have any idea if the locator id is directly linked to the placeshifting license? I'm asking because as we can now trade our licenses, how the locator ID is generated? if i pass a placeshifting license, am I passing my locator ID with it?
__________________
Waiting for Sage 8.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-09-2012, 11:53 AM
david1234 david1234 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Beaverton, OR
Posts: 312
I would assume that the locator ID is tied to the server, since you use the same ID for all of your placeshifter clients, and it's used to "locate" the server.

Hopefully Andy or Jeff can chime in with something authoritative.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-09-2012, 02:13 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
That's how that works. When you connect with Placeshifter, you either tell it the IP address of your server or give it your locator id.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-12-2012, 10:11 AM
tomatodave's Avatar
tomatodave tomatodave is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Central, Illinois
Posts: 43
just my experience

A while back I was on the road and my previously working locator ID would not connect. On further investigation i found out that my ISP had changed my IP address and that Sage was now reporting a different locator ID. The new locator would connect successfully. This doesn't really make any sense but that is what happened. This makes it seem like the locator ID is generated by the IP address. So if you are away from home and using placeshifter and your ISP randomly changes your IP at your house, placeshifter is hosed.

I have always been curious about this.

At that time DynDns was free and I have been using that since then and therefore do not need the locator ID.
__________________
8 gig ram windows 10 64 bit, sage V9.2.0.441 64 bit running in a VM on a ESXI 6.0 host - Xeon 1246 E3 - 32 GB ram, 2 TB recording drive with the controller passed through and 5 TB recording drive spave in a Freenas server, 1 silicon dust HDHR DUO and 1 Quatro for 6 OTA tuners, 1 HDHR Prime for 3 cable tuners, 2 BM1000-HDMI network encoders for cableboxes, 2 Placeshifters, 3 extenders, 1client
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Placeshifting Locator OttoNP SageTV Placeshifter 3 12-05-2006 01:26 PM
Locator server did not have an IP address registered for this locator ID kelleyga SageTV Media Extender 6 11-12-2006 10:13 PM
Connecting using locator over VPN tangfj SageTV Placeshifter 9 07-02-2006 07:49 PM
Locator ID over LAN mgalpin SageTV Placeshifter 1 05-12-2006 05:59 AM
No locator ID edgley SageTV Beta Test Software 2 03-19-2006 04:29 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.