SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-01-2015, 06:42 PM
craigap craigap is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Monroe, WI
Posts: 346
Google Drive Folders as import directories

I was trying to set my photos folder in google drive as an import directory for sagetv to pull pics from, but it comes up with an invalid directory once I get into the actual Google Drive folder on my PC. Is this expected behavior? I don't know much about how Google drive works, but it seems to keep a local copy of everything on my PC that I would presume be accessible like any other folder from Sagetv import directories.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-02-2015, 10:53 AM
Naylia's Avatar
Naylia Naylia is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 754
The default location for google drive is: C:\Users\<user>\Google Drive
__________________
You can find me at Missing Remote. Or playing FF XIV. For XLobby users: XLobby MC
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-02-2015, 12:03 PM
craigap craigap is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Monroe, WI
Posts: 346
I know that much. I've also tried moving it to other locations without success. Anyone here use Google Drive and successfully able to get Sage to see it as an import folder? Sage seems to see the directory up to "C:\Users\<user>\Google Drive" but nothing beyond that.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-02-2015, 02:49 PM
Tiki's Avatar
Tiki Tiki is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southwest Florida, USA
Posts: 1,965
Quote:
Originally Posted by craigap View Post
I know that much. I've also tried moving it to other locations without success. Anyone here use Google Drive and successfully able to get Sage to see it as an import folder? Sage seems to see the directory up to "C:\Users\<user>\Google Drive" but nothing beyond that.
I haven't tried, so no idea if it an/should work, however...

Are you running Sage in stand-alone mode or service mode?
If service mode, have you configured it to log in with a real user account?
Does that user account have access to read/write that file location?
__________________
Server: Ryzen 2400G with integrated graphics, ASRock X470 Taichi Motherboard, HDMI output to Vizio 1080p LCD, Win10-64Bit (Professional), 16GB RAM
Capture Devices (7 tuners): Colossus (x1), HDHR Prime (x2)
,USBUIRT (multi-zone)
Source:
Comcast/Xfinity X1 Cable
Primary Client: Server Other Clients: (1) HD200, (1) HD300
Retired Equipment: MediaMVP, PVR150 (x2), PVR150MCE,
HDHR, HVR-2250, HD-PVR
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-02-2015, 05:46 PM
craigap craigap is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Monroe, WI
Posts: 346
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tiki View Post
Are you running Sage in stand-alone mode or service mode?
If service mode, have you configured it to log in with a real user account?
Does that user account have access to read/write that file location?
I am running in service mode. Could you expand upon what you mean by the log in with a real user account. I don't think I know what that means.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-02-2015, 08:22 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by craigap View Post
I am running in service mode. Could you expand upon what you mean by the log in with a real user account. I don't think I know what that means.
From the SageTVServiceControl.exe program, there is an option to choose who the service is run as. By default, it is run as LocalSystem, which likely doesn't have access to the Google Drive folder. From there, you can change it to run as your actual user account, which likely will solve the problem.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-25-2016, 02:18 PM
craigap craigap is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Monroe, WI
Posts: 346
I've been successful at getting sagetv to see my google drive folders by changing the user account from "Localsystem" to my user account name, but I'm wondering if this caused a new issue for me. My server was inadvertently restarted without knowing it, and I noticed that my HD300's could not locate the server. My server is set up with a password and I'm thinking that because I wasn't logged in due to the restart that the service maybe never started, thus the HD300s could not locate the server? Is this an accurate assumption? If so, is there a way to get the google drive folders setup, so that they can be read by sagetv with the service logged in with the default "Localsystem"?-assuming that having the service logged in as "Localsystem" would fix the issue of the server being restarted inadvertantly and not being logged into windows using my user account.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-27-2016, 05:07 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by craigap View Post
I've been successful at getting sagetv to see my google drive folders by changing the user account from "Localsystem" to my user account name, but I'm wondering if this caused a new issue for me. My server was inadvertently restarted without knowing it, and I noticed that my HD300's could not locate the server. My server is set up with a password and I'm thinking that because I wasn't logged in due to the restart that the service maybe never started, thus the HD300s could not locate the server? Is this an accurate assumption? If so, is there a way to get the google drive folders setup, so that they can be read by sagetv with the service logged in with the default "Localsystem"?-assuming that having the service logged in as "Localsystem" would fix the issue of the server being restarted inadvertantly and not being logged into windows using my user account.

Thanks.
The service will start up just fine whether the user is logged in to the console or not, as long as the username and password are set properly.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-27-2016, 09:58 PM
tjchuck tjchuck is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Arizona
Posts: 17
craigap,

When I installed google drive I changed the default location to something that was easier to find. in my case I put the location on a D:\google drive. From there Sagetv finds all the pictures and video files easily.
hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cant import dvd directories jkhouw1 SageTV HD Theater - Media Player 31 12-21-2009 09:26 PM
Import directories viperdiablo SageTV Software 0 12-13-2008 06:13 PM
Trouble with network drive in import directories CatsLab SageTV Software 2 11-24-2008 07:59 AM
How do you add card reader drive letters in import directories? TechBill SageTV Software 11 11-13-2007 10:49 AM
Import Directories Francois Parent SageTV Software 1 02-26-2006 07:52 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.