SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV v9 Customizations

Notices

SageTV v9 Customizations This forums is for discussing and sharing user-created modifications for the SageTV version 9 application created by using the SageTV Studio or through the use of external plugins. Use this forum to discuss plugins for SageTV version 9 and newer.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-28-2018, 07:15 PM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,851
Weather

This thread is for users who want to use the beta version of a weather plugin that can be used in the default STV now that WeatherUnderground has ceased to function.

Attached to this post is the latest developer plugin manifest that will allow you to use the latest beta. You must unzip the file and place the .xml in the install directory (where the sage executable is located) of your server. Once you do that you should go to the plugin manager and install the UI Mod "Weather using NWS and Darksky".

Note. To have the Darksky data update you must get your own API key. To do that go here and create an account. https://darksky.net/dev/register

After obtaining a key you must make a file called "darksky.properties" and place it in the install directory of your sage server. The file should have a single line in it that reads: key=XXXX where XXXX is your unique key. If you don't do this the plugin will work, but the data obtained from Darksky will only be updated when you reboot your sage server.

Usage:


Go to the configuration menu just as you did before then enter either a US Zip Code or a city name. If you enter a US Zip Code the the US National Weather Service will be used to obtain the weather information. If you enter a city name then Darksky will be the weather provider.

To enter more than one locale simply enter another Zip Code or city name in the configuration menu. Once you do that you will see the option to cycle through the various locales.

Release Notes:

VERY IMPORTANT: After installing this version check your JARs directory for duplicate jackson JARs with different versions. If you see two version of the same JAR you must stop sage, delete the older version of the jar, and restart.

The minimum Java version supported is 1.8.

Changelog for Version 0.18:
  • Pressing "Right" on the main weather menu now cycles through configured locales.
  • "Rain" is now accumulation since midnight. (For both NWS and Darksky locales.)
  • If using a Darksky locale and there is snow accumulation since midnight the accumulation will be displayed instead of rain accumulation.
  • Fixed a bug that caused the weather info in the top menu to change if more than one locale was configured and the user cycled through them.
  • Fixed a bug in the System Information menu so it now reports the version of the NWS, OWM, and Darksky jars.
  • Fixed a bug that caused a NPE if getting snow accumulation in a Darksky locales.

FAQ:
  • Do I need a Darksky key if I only use US Zip Codes? - No.
Attached Files
File Type: zip SageTVPluginsDev.zip (1.5 KB, 306 views)
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.

Last edited by tmiranda; 01-26-2019 at 05:27 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-29-2018, 04:38 PM
Rob23 Rob23 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 101
Thank you!
__________________
Sage Server: Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83GHz, Windows 7 x64, Hauppauge WinTV-quadHD, AverMedia M780. HD200 Extender.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-29-2018, 06:33 PM
jeb0921 jeb0921 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Ogden, Utah
Posts: 9
Not there

I have restarted everything and when I go into the plugin setup the plugin isn't there.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-29-2018, 08:32 PM
ranger ranger is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Virginia
Posts: 256
I'm not seeing it listed under UI Mods. Are there any dependencies I might be missing? Running SageTV 9.10.783 with Java 8. I also have Gemstone installed and running.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-29-2018, 08:59 PM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Strathmore, AB
Posts: 2,198
Quote:
Originally Posted by ranger View Post
I'm not seeing it listed under UI Mods. Are there any dependencies I might be missing? Running SageTV 9.10.783 with Java 8. I also have Gemstone installed and running.
I cannot imagine it working well in Gemstone as i stripped out the default stv weather stuff long ago and built the weather around phoenix weather calls.

I will now need to add the NWS code to phoenix so gemstone will offer it...which tmiranda has offered the source so it should not be complex.

k
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-29-2018, 10:13 PM
Zogg Zogg is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 246
I'm running the basic UI and don't see it either.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-30-2018, 07:56 AM
kegler kegler is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Washington State
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zogg View Post
I'm running the basic UI and don't see it either.
I don't see it either. I am also running the basic UI.

I see that the installation files have been uploaded to bintray, but the manifest has not shown up in my SageTVPlugins.xml. Without that SageTV cannot not display it. It does not show up at http://download.sagetv.com/SageTVPlugins.xml either, so it did not get updated as expected.

The date on my SageTVPlugins.xml is 11/11/2018. When it gets updated we should see a more current date.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-02-2019, 08:54 AM
bigbill's Avatar
bigbill bigbill is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 431
I read thru most of the thread and noticed a post about the newest version being uploaded. I could only find 0.13 Beta, I installed it and it works. My quesion is that a post talked about version 0.18 The 0.13 version says its last modified on 12/11/18 Is there a newer plugin that i cannot find?

I didnt see the plugin name mentioned in the post. Might be good if it was posted on the first page. What I found and installed was Weather Using NWS API.

Thanks for all the work!!!!

-Bill
__________________
Home DVR: SageTV v9.2.2(64)
Dell T-40, xenon, 24GB RAM, Win10 Pro, 2 x 6TB WD Blue, QNAP TR004. 1 Quad HDHR, 2 Dual HDHR, (OTA Winegard HD8200U, CM4221HD), 2 @ STP-HD200's, 1 @ HD300, 1 @ Nvidia Shield 2017, 70", 55" & 40" Sony's - Playon/PlayLater, Blue Iris.

RV DVR: SageTV v9.2.2, NUC8i5BEK 16GB, SS980Pro NVMe, Nvidia Shield 2017, Mibox, 1 Dual HDHR 5TB Passport, Winegard BatWing, 40", 32", 28" Sony's, BlueIrisv5, Max Transit
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-03-2019, 07:19 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,851
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbill View Post
I read thru most of the thread and noticed a post about the newest version being uploaded. I could only find 0.13 Beta, I installed it and it works. My quesion is that a post talked about version 0.18 The 0.13 version says its last modified on 12/11/18 Is there a newer plugin that i cannot find?

I didnt see the plugin name mentioned in the post. Might be good if it was posted on the first page. What I found and installed was Weather Using NWS API.

Thanks for all the work!!!!

-Bill
The latest development version is in the first post of the thread. Download and unzip the attached zip file to the same directory as your SageTV executable. After doing that go to the Plugin Manager and you will see an "update available" message for "Weather using NWS".

I was hoping to release this directly to the Plugin Manager this weekend but alas life intervened again......
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Weird weather on Weather Underground sacrament055 Gemstone for v7 13 05-27-2013 10:13 AM
The Weather Channel eliminating free weather data feed iolaus SageTV Software 69 08-26-2012 11:17 AM
Downloaded Google Weather Update, No weather? symgryph SageTV v7 Customizations 3 11-18-2011 08:55 AM
Using Weather Network as a feed for Canadian Weather Fastrack SageTV Customizations 2 03-22-2009 09:47 PM
weather.com weather extractor for mlbdude2 1.8.7 (v1.0.1 / July 6) nielm SageTV Customizations 105 10-08-2004 06:54 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.