SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Customizations > SageMC Custom Interface

Notices

SageMC Custom Interface This forum is for discussing the user-created SageMC custom interface for SageTV.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-24-2008, 02:57 PM
-=Jeff=- -=Jeff=- is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bartlett, IL
Posts: 233
SageMC newbie install questions

I am a new SageTV User, just installed my HD-100 yesterday although my server has been running on an old TV for a month (trial first )

Anyway, I have read a lot about SageMC, have seen the screenshot thread and I am impressed. Now that said, I will mainly be using my HD-100 for viewing material. Since I am a Newbie to both SageTV and SageMC, is if recommended to use the Default Sage for a while first or is it safe to dive into SageMC?

My wife saw the Default menu system for SageTV for the first time yesterday but it seemed like she did not like it (probably because it is different then DishNet that we currently use). I was thinking maybe SageMC might change that for her? Also if I install SageMC how will I get that same display to appear on my HD-100?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-24-2008, 03:13 PM
Brent Brent is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KC, Missouri
Posts: 3,695
Quote:
Originally Posted by -=Jeff=- View Post
I am a new SageTV User, just installed my HD-100 yesterday although my server has been running on an old TV for a month (trial first )

Anyway, I have read a lot about SageMC, have seen the screenshot thread and I am impressed. Now that said, I will mainly be using my HD-100 for viewing material. Since I am a Newbie to both SageTV and SageMC, is if recommended to use the Default Sage for a while first or is it safe to dive into SageMC?
Well, I'd personally familiarize myself with SageTV and your extender first. Make sure you have your TV recordings and liveTV working like you want it to, make sure your videos are importing like they should, music should be working etc. Once you've done that, give SageMC a shot to see if you (and your wife) like it. You can always go back to the default STV if not.

Quote:
Also if I install SageMC how will I get that same display to appear on my HD-100?
It should show on your HD100 just like it does on your serverPC.

Read this for more info on setting SageMC up with screenprints etc.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-24-2008, 03:17 PM
-=Jeff=- -=Jeff=- is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bartlett, IL
Posts: 233
Brent,

Thanks that is what I was thinking get everything working first, then add it. I will also read the link you posted..

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-24-2008, 09:03 PM
-=Jeff=- -=Jeff=- is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bartlett, IL
Posts: 233
Brent.. nice write up and videos you have..

Make me want to install it for some of the features that are not there in the default. mainly the start over for recordings.. my kids liek to watch the same group of shows over and over again, it worked well tonight but you ned to uncheck the watched to start it at the beginning again. would be easier to select it and pick from the options in SageMC.. If time allows I may give it a try this weekend

SageMC just seems too cool not to try
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-24-2008, 09:26 PM
Brent Brent is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KC, Missouri
Posts: 3,695
Quote:
Originally Posted by -=Jeff=- View Post
Brent.. nice write up and videos you have........
SageMC just seems too cool not to try
Thanks. When you try out SageMC, be sure you follow the backup (step #2) of SageTV before you start so you can always get back your original SageTV if something goes wrong. I do this before making any change to SageTV just in case.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SageMC New User Questions smdl SageMC Custom Interface 3 01-13-2008 07:36 PM
Question for SageMC plugin devs dflachbart SageMC Custom Interface 4 09-19-2007 04:42 PM
Newbie questions bw23198 General Discussion 5 05-20-2006 12:48 PM
Newbie questions regarding which bundle to purchase (I have DirecTV). rusmo Hardware Support 0 05-15-2006 12:20 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.